© fotolia.com/peshkova

Initial meeting and personal consultation for students at the WWU

In our initial meeting, we clarify what your counselling needs are. In most cases, it involves addressing a current problematic situation. We try to help you understand your problems more clearly, develop possible paths to resolving them and discuss how you can implement these in your everyday (academic) life.

The topics addressed can range from academically related problems to other personal difficulties, e.g.:

  • difficulties with learning and working
  • exam preparation and exam anxiety
  • decision-making conflicts
  • academic motivation
  • stress symptoms
  • problems with self-esteem
  • difficulties making contacts
  • fears/anxieties
  • depressive states
  • addictions
  • eating disorders

  • Arranging an appointment for psychological counselling

    Psychological counselling takes place in person at the Student Advice and Counselling Centre (ZSB) and by appointment only. You may arrange a meeting with our counsellors during online office hours, open office hours, by phone or email: Our office hours. When arranging an appointment, please specify your wish for an “initial meeting” with our psychological counsellors. Also please provide your full name, a telephone number and email address, and specify whether you prefer to have a female or male counsellor assist you.
    Normally we can offer you an initial meeting within two weeks. Please read the information in our hygiene concept for recipients of on-site psychological counselling. Also take into account that for legal reasons counselling can only be offered if you have granted your prior consent to having your personal data collected and processed. For more information, please read the section on confidentiality, data protection and documentation.

  • Our psychological counsellors (l-r): Lilly Hunold (currently on parental leave), Martin Droste, Volker Koscielny, Bernadett Greiwe (not shown in this picture: Sabine Fischer)
    © WWU/ZSB

    Our psychological counsellors

    The psychological counselling service of the ZSB is offered by psychologists with relevant counselling credentials or special psychotherapeutic qualifications and years of experience advising students. The members of our psychological counselling team are Martin Droste, Volker Koscielny, Sabine Fischer, Lilly Hunold (currently on maternity/parental leave) and Bernadett Greiwe.

    All our psychological counsellors offer general academic advising as many students who seek counselling deal with psychological problems which are inextricably tied to study-related matters.

  • What happens in psychological counselling?

    In an initial meeting, we discuss what the focus and purpose of counselling should be and agree to further steps which can include follow-up counselling sessions. At the initial meeting, we begin by discussing possible paths toward resolving your problems. In some cases, it can make sense to agree to further consultation, e.g. if there are multiple topics which need addressing or if the matter concerns a process that we can accompany along the way. We usually set aside between 45 and 60 minutes for our meetings.

    Psychological counselling is not psychotherapy. If we determine during our meeting that you would benefit from psychotherapy, we will advise you on how to get in contact with an external therapeutic facility or registered therapist in Münster.

  • Confidentiality, data protection and documentation

    As psychologists and psychological psychotherapists, we are obliged by law to maintain confidentiality (§ 203 StGB). This means that we are prohibited from sharing any information gained or concerning our counselling sessions to third parties – unless you grant us your explicit consent. The obligation to maintain confidentiality naturally extends to all parties at the University. The only exception to the rule is if there exists an acute risk of self or third-party endangerment.

    During consultation, we collect personal data which we process and store in accordance with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). Before psychological counselling can even take place, you must grant us your written consent to the data protection policy of the psychological counselling service. You can do this at the start of the initial meeting at our office. The counsellor will give you a copy of the consent form to sign.

    In order to optimally conduct the consultation process, we draft protocols of the counselling sessions. These serve as orientation for preparing and following up the counselling sessions and ensuring quality control. The protocols are pseudonymised to make it impossible to determine your identity based on the content of the protocol. More information is provided in the data protection policy of the psychological counselling service.

  • I’m not sure whether psychological counselling is right for me. How can I find out?

    Even if you’re unsure whether psychological counselling is right for you, we encourage you to get in contact with us. We can give you our initial impression by email or phone. In case of doubt, we will arrange an appointment for an initial meeting. These meetings are open-ended regarding their outcome and may well lead to the conclusion that you have no need for further psychological support.

  • What is the difference between psychological counselling and psychotherapy?

    Psychotherapy is a medical treatment which is regulated by the Code of Social Law V. The prerequisite for treatment is the existence of a psychological illness which is normally diagnosed at the start of therapy. Because such treatment addresses both the causes and symptoms of the illness, psychotherapy usually lasts longer and involves in-depth exploration of various areas of life. Psychotherapy may only be administered by persons with additional professional qualification. These include medical psychotherapists, psychological psychotherapists, and child and adolescent psychotherapists.

    Psychological counselling, on the other hand, does not aspire to treat psychological illnesses. The purpose of counselling is to address and discuss everyday troubles and problems which are not classified as illnesses. In contrast to psychotherapy, psychological counselling aims to provide thematically defined support to deal with specific burdens.

  • How do I know if I need psychological counselling or psychotherapy?

    If you are unsure whether you require psychological counselling or psychotherapy, we encourage you to arrange an appointment for an initial meeting. Our psychologists are trained to recognise signs of psychological illness and are therefore well-qualified to advise for or against psychotherapy.

  • Will psychological counselling affect my chances of becoming a civil servant?

    Civil service candidates are obliged to submit documentation of medical treatment for the required civil service medical examination. Because psychological counselling is not a medical treatment, you are not required to disclose this information for the medical examination.

  • Is it possible that third parties might find out that I received psychological counselling?

    Without your explicit consent, we usually share no information with third parties about your appointment with us. For more information, please read the section on confidentiality, data protection and documentation.

  • Do I have to pay a fee for counselling?

    No. Psychological counselling – as with all services provided by the ZSB – are free of charge.

  • I’m very worried about a fellow student. Can I receive psychological counselling?

    If you are worried about someone close to you, you can arrange an appointment with our psychological counsellors. We will assess the situation and help you get a clearer view of the matter. If you wish, we can also discuss possible steps you can take to help the afflicted person.

  • I think I need psychotherapy. Can the ZSB help me with that?

    Psychological counselling is not the same as nor can it be a substitute for psychotherapy. If you feel you need psychotherapy, we can arrange a meeting to give you information on further steps you can take. For example, we can provide you with information on how to contact potential psychotherapists, or secure a therapy place, the general procedure and content of psychotherapeutic treatment, and the differences between various psychotherapeutic methods. You can also come to us with any other questions you have regarding psychotherapy.

  • I’m already in psychotherapy. May I still receive psychological counselling through the ZSB?

    The services provided by the ZSB are available to all students at the University of Münster. It can be useful to supplement psychotherapy with psychological counselling if you are struggling by university-related problems and cannot sufficiently address these during your psychotherapeutic sessions. In this case, our supplementary counselling focuses solely on helping you deal with study-related problems.

We are also the contact office for students seeking assistance after experiencing sexualised discrimination, harassment or violence.

Based on your personal situation, your needs and possibilities, we offer individual support and information on specialised counselling services, therapeutic options and links to other support offices in Münster (e.g. for psychosocial legal counselling). To arrange an appointment for psychological counselling, please contact us (anonymously if you wish) by email or phone (see above).

The Violence against women support Hotline – Support and counselling for women

08000 116 016

Available round the clock, 365 days a year and free of charge: the Violence against women support hotline offers victims a way of receiving competent advice securely, anonymously and regardless of disability whenever they need. Our counsellors provide women with confidential support and if needed can help them find appropriate local support options in their area. This new support service thus caters to a concrete social need and plays an important role in directing victims, relatives of victims, friends and professionals to appropriate support resources.

© fotolia.com/peshkova

Erstgespräch und Einzelberatung für Studierende an der WWU

Im Erstgespräch geht es zunächst darum Ihr Beratungsanliegen zu klären. Oft geht es dabei um die Bewältigung einer aktuellen Problemlage. Wir unterstützen Sie darin, die Probleme genauer zu verstehen, erarbeiten mit Ihnen schrittweise Lösungswege und besprechen die Umsetzung in den (Uni-)Alltag.

Mögliche Themen einer Beratung bei uns sind Probleme während des Studiums oder andere persönliche Schwierigkeiten, wie z.B.:

  • Lern- und Arbeitsstörungen
  • Prüfungsvorbereitung und Prüfungsängste
  • Entscheidungskonflikte
  • Studienmotivation
  • Stresssymptome
  • Selbstwertprobleme
  • Kontaktschwierigkeiten
  • Ängste
  • Depressive Verstimmungen
  • Suchtprobleme
  • Essprobleme
  • Terminvereinbarung für die Psychologische Beratung

    Psychologische Beratung findet ausschließlich nach vorheriger Terminvereinbarung persönlich vor Ort statt. Gesprächstermine können in der Virtuellen und Offenen Sprechstunde, in der Telefonischen Kurzberatung oder mit Hilfe des Kontaktformulars vereinbart werden. Bitte beachten Sie: Die Psychologische Beratung der ZSB ist ausschließlich ein Angebot für Studierende und Promovierende der WWU.

    In der Regel schaffen wir es, Ihnen innerhalb von zwei Wochen ein Erstgespräch anzubieten. Bitte nehmen Sie unser Hygienekonzept für die Einzelberatung vor Ort zur Kenntnis. Bitte berücksichtigen Sie, dass Beratungsgespräche von Rechts wegen nur dann stattfinden können, wenn Sie im Vorfeld in die Erhebung und Verarbeitung von personenbezogenen Daten einwilligen. Näheres dazu finden Sie unter dem Abschnitt "Schweigepflicht, Datenschutz und Dokumentation".

  • Foto von den Psychologischen Berater*innen der ZSB
    Unsere Psychologischen Berater*innen (v.l.n.r.): Bernadett Greiwe, Volker Koscielny, Viola Bauermann, Martin Droste, Lilly Hunold, Jonatan Buhl u. Mascha Fantuzzi
    © WWU - ZSB

    Unsere Psychologischen Berater*innen

    Die Psychologische Beratung in der ZSB wird von Psycholog*innen angeboten, die jeweils über einschlägige beraterische oder psychotherapeutische Zusatzqualifikationen und langjährige Erfahrung in der Beratung von Studierenden verfügen. Das Team der Psychologischen Beratung besteht aus: Bernadett Greiwe, Volker Koscielny, Viola Bauermann, Martin Droste, Lilly Hunold, Jonatan Buhl und Mascha Fantuzzi.

    Alle Psychologischen Berater*innen bieten darüber hinaus auch allgemeine Studienberatung an, da das psychische Wohlbefinden in der Regel untrennbar mit studienbezogenen Fragestellungen verbunden ist.

  • Ablauf der Psychologischen Beratung

    In einem ersten Gespräch wird das Beratungsanliegen geklärt und das weitere Vorgehen, zu dem auch weitere Beratungsgespräche gehören können, vereinbart. Im Rahmen des Erstgespräches beginnen wir Lösungsmöglichkeiten mit Ihnen zu erarbeiten. In einigen Fällen gibt es erste Dinge, die wir Ihnen direkt mit auf den Weg geben können. In manchen Fällen ist es sinnvoll, weitere Beratungstermine zu vereinbaren, etwa wenn es verschiedene zu besprechende Themen gibt oder es sich um einen Prozess handelt, den wir begleiten. Für unsere Gespräche nehmen wir uns in der Regel 45-60 Minuten Zeit für Sie.

    Bei der Psychologischen Beratung handelt es sich nicht um eine Psychotherapie. Sollte sich im Gespräch herausstellen, dass eine solche für Sie sinnvoll ist, erfolgt nach dem Erstgespräch eine Beratung bezüglich der Suche nach externen Therapieeinrichtungen oder niedergelassenen Psychotherapeut*innen in Münster.

  • Schweigepflicht, Datenschutz und Dokumentation

    Als Psycholog*innen und psychologische Psychotherapeut*innen unterstehen wir der gesetzlichen Schweigepflicht (§ 203 StGB). Das bedeutet, dass Informationen aus oder über unsere Beratungsgespräche nicht an Dritte weitergegeben werden dürfen – außer Sie erklären Ihr Einverständnis. Die Schweigepflicht gilt selbstverständlich auch innerhalb der Universität. Ausnahmen ergeben sich bei akuter Selbst- oder Fremdgefährdung.

    Im Laufe eines Beratungsprozesses erheben wir personenbezogene Daten, die wir gemäß DsGVo verarbeiten und aufbewahren. Bevor eine Psychologische Beratung stattfinden kann, müssen Sie schriftlich der Datenschutzerklärung der Psychologischen Beratung zustimmen. Dies können Sie vor Beginn des Erstgesprächs bei uns vor Ort tun. Die Beraterin/der Berater wird Ihnen die Erklärung vorlegen.

    Um einen Beratungsprozess optimal gestalten zu können, fertigen wir Gesprächsprotokolle an. Diese dienen u.a. der Vor- und Nachbereitung der Beratungsgespräche und zur Qualitätssicherung. Die Protokolle werden pseudonymisiert verfasst, sodass innerhalb des Protokolls kein Rückschluss auf Ihre Person möglich ist. Weitere Informationen finden Sie ebenfalls in der Datenschutzerklärung der Psychologischen Beratung.

  • Ich bin mir nicht sicher, ob die Psychologische Beratung das Richtige für mich ist. Was kann ich tun?

    Sollten Sie unsicher sein, ob die Psychologische Beratung das Richtige für Sie sein könnte, sprechen Sie uns an. Per E-Mail oder telefonisch können wir erste Überlegungen dazu anstellen. Im Zweifelsfall werden wir einen Termin für ein Erstgespräch mit Ihnen vereinbaren. Unsere Gespräche sind ergebnisoffen und können somit auch das Ergebnis haben, dass eine weitere psychologische Unterstützung nicht notwendig ist.

  • Was ist der Unterschied zwischen einer Beratung und einer Psychotherapie?

    Bei einer Psychotherapie handelt es sich um eine heilkundliche Behandlung, die über das Fünfte Sozialgesetzbuch geregelt ist. Voraussetzung dafür ist das Vorliegen einer psychischen Erkrankung, die in der Regel zu Beginn einer solchen Therapie diagnostiziert wird. Da eine solche Behandlung sowohl bei Ursachen als auch Symptomen ansetzt, ist eine Psychotherapie in der Regel von längerer Dauer und umfasst die Thematisierung verschiedener Lebensbereiche. Psychotherapie darf nur von Personen mit einer Zusatzausbildung durchgeführt werden. Dabei handelt es sich um ärztliche Psychotherapeut*innen, psychologische Psychotherapeut*innen und Kinder- und Jugendlichenpsychotherapeut*innen.

    Eine Psychologische Beratung hingegen hat nicht zum Ziel, psychische Erkrankungen zu behandeln. Innerhalb der Beratung werden alltägliche Belastungen und Probleme ohne Krankheitswert thematisiert und besprochen. Im Gegensatz zu einer Psychotherapie handelt es sich bei einer Psychologischen Beratung um eine thematisch umgrenzte Unterstützung bei spezifischen Belastungen.

  • Woher weiß ich, ob ich eine Psychologische Beratung oder eine Psychotherapie brauche?

    Wenn Sie sich unsicher sind, ob eine Psychologische Beratung oder eine Psychotherapie für Sie das Richtige ist, vereinbaren Sie einen Termin für ein Erstgespräch mit uns. Unsere Psycholog*innen sind darin geschult, Hinweise auf das Vorliegen einer psychischen Erkrankung zu erkennen, und können somit eine Empfehlung für oder gegen Psychotherapie aussprechen.

  • Hat die Psychologische Beratung Auswirkungen auf eine Verbeamtung?

    Für die amtsärztliche Untersuchung zum Zwecke der Verbeamtung sind Unterlagen über ärztliche/medizinische Behandlungen vorzulegen. Da es sich bei der Psychologischen Beratung nicht um eine medizinische Behandlung handelt, müssen Sie sie bei der amtsärztlichen Untersuchung nicht angeben.

  • Können Dritte davon erfahren, dass ich in der Psychologischen Beratung war?

    In der Regel werden Dritte nicht gegen Ihr Einverständnis von Ihrem Termin bei uns erfahren. Näheres erfahren Sie unter dem Punkt "Schweigepflicht, Datenschutz und Dokumentation".

  • Ist die Beratung kostenpflichtig?

    Nein. Die Psychologische Beratung ist – wie alle Angebote der ZSB – kostenlos.

  • Ich mache mir Sorgen um eine*n Kommiliton*in. Kann ich die Psychologische Beratung in Anspruch nehmen?

    Wenn Sie sich Sorgen um eine nahestehende Person machen, können Sie einen Termin bei der Psychologischen Beratung vereinbaren. Wir erheben die aktuelle Problemlage und unterstützen bei der Einschätzung der Sachlage. Bei Bedarf besprechen wir, welche weiteren Schritte Sie unternehmen können, um sich um die betroffene Person zu kümmern.

  • Ich glaube, ich brauche eine Psychotherapie. Kann die ZSB mir weiterhelfen?

    Bei der Psychologische Beratung handelt es sich nicht um eine Psychotherapie, und sie kann diese nicht ersetzen. Sollten Sie selbst den Eindruck haben, eine Psychotherapie zu benötigen, können wir Ihnen in einem Beratungsgespräch Informationen zu weiteren Schritten geben. Wir informieren z. B. über mögliche Kontaktadressen und Abläufe der Psychotherapieplatzsuche, den groben Ablauf und Inhalt einer psychotherapeutischen Behandlung oder die Unterschiede der Psychotherapieverfahren. Auch mit anderen Fragen zum Thema Psychotherapie sind Sie bei uns an der richtigen Stelle.

  • Ich bin bereits in Psychotherapie. Darf ich die Psychologische Beratung trotzdem in Anspruch nehmen?

    Das Angebot der ZSB richtet sich an sämtliche Studierende der WWU. Eine ergänzende Psychologische Beratung neben einer Psychotherapie kann sinnvoll sein, wenn Sie Probleme im Studium beschäftigen und Sie diese nicht ausreichend in Ihrer Psychotherapie thematisieren können. In dem Fall begrenzt sich unsere ergänzende Beratung dann auf die Bearbeitung der studentischen Belastungen.

Wir sind Anlaufstelle für Studierende, die Hilfe suchen nach der Erfahrung von sexualisierter Diskriminierung, Belästigung und Gewalt.

Ausgehend von Ihrer persönlichen Situation und Ihren Bedürfnissen und Möglichkeiten bieten wir individuelle Hilfestellung und Informationen über spezialisierte Beratungsstellen, Möglichkeiten einer Therapie sowie Hinweise auf weitere Unterstützungseinrichtungen in Münster und allgemein (z.B. zur psychosozialen Prozessbegleitung). Zur Terminvereinbarung wenden Sie sich bitte direkt per E-Mail oder telefonisch (auch anonym) an uns (s.o.) mit der Bitte um einen Termin zur Psychologischen Beratung.

Das Hilfetelefon – Beratung und Hilfe für Frauen

08000 116 016

Das Hilfetelefon "Gewalt gegen Frauen" ist ein bundesweites Beratungsangebot für Frauen, die Gewalt erlebt haben oder noch erleben. Unter der Nummer 08000 116 016 und via Online-Beratung unterstützen wir Betroffene aller Nationalitäten, mit und ohne Behinderung – 365 Tage im Jahr, rund um die Uhr. Auch Angehörige, Freundinnen und Freunde sowie Fachkräfte beraten wir anonym und kostenfrei.