© WWU

Mathematics Münster - Cluster of Excellence

Mathematics is a key technology for scientific and economic progress. New discoveries in mathematics are not only interesting in themselves, but they often lead to unexpected breakthroughs in other sciences as well.

We tackle fundamentally important mathematical problems, viewing mathematics as an organic whole with countless interactions. The research in our Cluster of Excellence "Mathematics Münster" is unified by three major approaches: focusing on the underlying structure of a given problem, taking the geometric viewpoint and studying the relevant dynamics of group or semigroup actions. The theories which we will build will not only solve the problems under consideration but also many others of a similar nature; these theories will also raise exciting new questions.

© icbf

International Centre for the Study of Giftedness


The International Centre for the Study of Giftedness (ICBF) was founded in 1998 when the Universities of Muenster, Nijmegen and Osnabrueck agreed to participate in the Network of Euregional Universities (NEU). The Universities of Muenster and Nijmegen also cooperate in the International Research Universities Network (IRUN). IRUN’s aim is to combine and complement the experience and expertise of these universities in the fields of Talent Research, Gifted Education as well as Teacher Training & Further Education in the field of individual development.

© CIM

Cells in Motion

In the research focus “cell dynamics and imaging” at the University of Münster, scientists investigate how cells move and behave in organisms. To make processes in the body visible and to be able to analyse them, they employ and develop innovative imaging methods.

Mm Logo
© WWU

Exzellenzcluster Mathematics Münster

Mathematik ist eine Schlüsseltechnologie für wissenschaftlichen und wirtschaftlichen Fortschritt. Neue Erkenntnisse in der Mathematik stehen nicht nur für sich selbst, sondern eröffnen oft unvorhergesehene Durchbrüche in anderen Wissenschaften.

Wir betrachten die Mathematik als ein organisches Ganzes mit vielfältigen Querverbindungen. Drei Herangehensweisen bündeln die Forschung in unserem Exzellenzcluster "Mathematik Münster": Die Identifikation und Analyse der zugrundeliegenden Struktur eines gegebenen Problems, dessen geometrische Betrachtung und die Analyse relevanter Dynamiken von Gruppen- und Halbgruppen-Aktionen. Mit Hilfe so gewonnener Theorien lassen sich nicht nur die untersuchten Probleme lösen, sondern auch viele weitere ähnlicher Bauart. Aus diesen Theorien ergeben sich zudem oft neue, spannende Forschungsfragen.

Icbf logo
© icbf

Internationales Centrum für Begabungsforschung

Das Internationale Centrum für Begabungsforschung (ICBF) ist eine gemeinsame wissenschaftliche Einrichtung der Universitäten Münster, Nijmegen und Osnabrück. Grundlage für das ICBF ist das 1998 vereinbarte Network of Euregional Universities, an dem die Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster, die Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen und die Universität Osnabrück beteiligt sind, sowie das International Research Universities Network (IRUN), in dem die Universitäten Münster und Nijmegen kooperieren.

Ziel ist die Bündelung und Ergänzung der Erfahrungen und Kompetenzen der genannten Hochschulen auf den Gebieten Begabungsforschung, Begabtenförderung sowie Aus- und Weiterbildung im Bereich der individuellen Förderung.

Cells-in-motion-logo-rgb
© CIM

Cells in Motion

Im Forschungsschwerpunkt „Zelldynamik und Bildgebung“ der WWU untersuchen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, wie sich Zellen in Organismen bewegen und verhalten. Dafür nutzen und entwickeln sie innovative Bildgebungsmethoden.