WGI
© WGI

The Willibald Gebhardt Institute (WGI) is an International Institute of Research and Knowledge Transfer in the fields of Sport and Sport Sciences. It was established as a non-governmental and non-profit institution at the city of Essen (Germany) on May 5th 1992. According to the constitution of the WGI its purpose is to support human tasks and social targets of physical activities including health-related fitness and ethical-morale principles in sport activities. This purpose is linked with a holistic approach of education for a well-rounded individual, particularly for children and adolescents in their main settings of living and development:  in families, at schools, within sport clubs in the context of recreational and elite sports.

Aims and objectives of our work at WGI are connected with personal holistic education matters, physical education, school sports and healthy lifestyle support as an integral part of applied research and counselling, communication and cooperation with different partners and commissioners of public life, governmental bodies and sport federations on local, regional, national and international level. Networking on local level with sport clubs, with regional governments and regional sport confederations of North-Rhine Westphalia, Lower Saxony and Berlin are virulent likewise with Olympic bodies in Germany, the EU and worldwide.  The WGI is listed as an Olympic Study Centre with a focus on Olympic education by the IOC since the year 2011. Furthermore, the WGI is affiliated with the Univ. of Münster by contract (2018) as a so called “Affiliated Research Institute”. The WGI is an institutional member of some academic networks e.g. ICSSPE (since 1994), EUPEA (since 2015), and CEREPS a.s.bl. (since 2015).

A main area of work of the Willibald Gebhardt Institute is to design, to conduct, to analyse and to evaluate different items of research. We monitor projects and assist in intervention studies in different settings where children and adolescents live. Our work profile is related with development, counselling, and supporting our partners and customers in Germany and abroad.

Since March 2020, Dr. Heinz Aschebrock is President of the WGI. Prof. Dr. Michael Krüger and Dr. Dennis Dreiskämper serve as Deputy Presidents. The WGI is devided into four units of competences which are headed by four Vice-Presidents: Elite Sports (Prof. Dr. Eric Eils), Children and Youth Sport at Schools and Sport Clubs (Prof. Dr. Nils Neuber), HEPA (Dr. Dennis Dreiskämper) and Olympic Studies (Prof. Dr. Michael Krüger). As Vice-President of Financial Affairs Martin Gesigora was elected in 2018. All Vice-Presidents hold positions and/or professorships in their units of expertise at the Institute of Exercise and Sport Science at the Univ. of Münster.

© WGI

Das Willibald Gebhardt Institut, Internationales Institut für Forschung und Wissenstransfer im Sport e.V. (WGI), wurde am 5. Mai 1992 als eingetragener Verein und gemeinnützige Einrichtung in Essen gegründet. Zu den Aufgaben und Zielen des WGI gehören laut Satzung die Förderung und Pflege der humanen und sozialen Grundlagen des Sports, einschließlich seiner gesundheitlichen und ethisch-moralischen Werte für eine gelingende Erziehung und Bildung für Kinder und Jugendlichen in den verschiedenen „settings“ ihres Lebensalltags: Elternhaus, Schule, Sportverein, im Gesundheitssport und Leistungssport.

Dabei bilden Aufgaben und Herausforderungen für Erziehung, Bildung und Gesundheit von Kindern und Jugendlichen einen besonderen Schwerpunkt in der Arbeit des WGI, die als eine Integrationsaufgabe für Forschung und Beratung nachhaltige Kommunikation, Kooperation und Vernetzung mit Partnern, Auftraggebern und Behörden auf lokaler, regionaler, nationaler und internationaler Ebene verlangen. Die Vernetzung auf regionaler Ebene mit Vereinen und Bezirksregierung oder mit den Landessportbünden NRW, Niedersachsen und Berlin aber auch die Rolle als international anerkanntes „Olympic Study Center“ seien hier exemplarisch genannt. Zudem ist das WGI seit 2018 offizielles An-Institut der WWU Münster und vernetzt als institutionelles Mitglied in Forschungsnetzwerken wie dem ICSSPE (seit 1994), EUPEA (seit 2015) und CEREPS (seit 2015).

Das WGI plant und gestaltet Entwicklungs- Beratungs- und Förderprojekte, die mit geeigneten Maßnahmen für Monitoring und Intervention in den verschiedenen „settings“, in denen Kinder und Jugendliche aufwachsen, umgesetzt sowie wissenschaftlich begleitet werden.

Präsident des WGI ist Dr. Heinz Aschebrock aus Münster. Als stellvertretende Präsidenten fungieren Prof. Dr. Michael Krüger und Dr. Dennis Dreiskämper. Das WGI gliedert sich für seine Forschungs-, Entwicklungs-, Beratungs- und Transfertätigkeiten in vier Kompetenzbereiche, die von vier Vizepräsidenten geleitet werden: Leistungssport (Prof. Dr. Eric Eils, WWU Münster), Kinder- und Jugendsport in Schule und Sportverein (Prof. Dr. Nils Neuber, WWU Münster), Gesundheitssport (Dr. Dennis Dreiskämper, WWU Münster) und Olympische Erziehung (Prof. Dr. Michael Krüger). Als Vizepräsident Finanzen wurde auf der WGI-Mitgliederversammlung 2018 Martin Gesigora (Münster) in das Präsidium gewählt.