Research Clouds

As flexible working groups within the research structure of the Cluster of Excellence “Religion and Politics”, the Research Clouds combine aspects from different fields of research and different theory platforms as required. The number of Research Clouds is not finite, and their duration and composition have not been determined definitively. This allows the Cluster of Excellence to take account of the fact that academic questions may change under certain circumstances, and that the structures in the Cluster must be able to adapt to changing research objectives.

Research Cloud 1: Ambiguity and decision-making

With regard to the dynamics of tradition and innovation, Research Cloud 1 explores how, by disambiguating traditions that are ambiguous (for example, by reinterpreting them in a fundamentalist way), religions can become the motor of social change, the focal point of political protest, the attractor of youth cultures critical of civilization, the power source of charitable and cultural initiatives, or the generator of emancipative movements. The media instruments used by religious communities, the mobilization strategies that they rely on, and the social inequalities that they link up with – these are all important factors in determining the effects that they have.

Research Cloud 2: Theological doctrine and lived religiosity

Research Cloud 2 deals with the tension between theological doctrine and lived religiosity by exploring the dispute over the historical character of religiously binding texts. On the one hand, normative texts of Judaism, Christianity and Islam are analyzed exegetically in terms of their history of origin as well as of transmission. On the other, the resulting challenges for lived religiosity are addressed theologically and philosophically. This Research Cloud uses methods from the Digital Humanities to show and illustrate the different layers in the history of origin and transmission.

Research Cloud 3: Migration and diaspora

Migration changes not only the balance between religious minority and religious majority in the regions concerned, but also the religious patterns of interpretation. Research Cloud 3 examines the extent to which migration changes the attitudes and behaviour of both migrants and the majority population in the host countries, their cultural and religious self-identification, their view of themselves and others, their understanding of home, nationality and political affiliation, and their religious practice. In addition, the Research Cloud deals with the controversial question of how far religion fosters or impedes the social integration of immigrants.

Research Cloud 4: Digital Humanities

The research cloud Digital Humanities investigates both methodological and content-related similarities between the individual projects of the Cluster of Excellence "Religion and Politics" that work with digital methods. Together with the software engineers of the Service Center Digital Humanities of the ULB Münster, digital tools are tested, discussed and jointly adapted on the basis of practical case studies in order to address the concrete, upcoming research questions from a digital perspective. One focus of the digital research is the question of the historical character of religious texts, especially their history of origin and transmission.

Research Cloud 5: Memory and Forgetting

The dynamics of religious change are always based on processes of memory and forgetting, whereby remembering primarily grants identity and continuity, forgetting, on the other hand, creates space for something new and releases capacities. In the research cloud “memory and forgetting” the discussion will be continued based on the previous examination of Jan Assmann’s approach to communicative and cultural memory (reading group), and further approaches will be discussed that go beyond this distinction. However, the focus of the work will be on the cluster’s internal research projects and questions: Based on this data basis, both the two distinctions of remembering and forgetting, which are constitutive and complementary for memory, as well as the respective framework conditions underlying these distinction will be concretely investigated. The aim is to reflect empirically and theoretically on how processes of remembering and forgetting contribute to the dynamics of religious change.

Reserach cloud 6: Competitive Social Forms of Religion: A driving force in the History of Religion?

Following Max Weber's distinction between 'church' and 'sect', the Cloud deals both historically and systematically (a) with the formation and competition of different social forms of religion and (b) with the question of which ‚techniques’ various religious social forms develop in order to efficiently shape the way of life of their members, i.e. to establish socially shared expectation structures in ethical, moral and religious terms. The interplay as well as the desintegration of various religious social forms (such as 'church', 'sect', 'movement', 'network' etc.) and specific religious 'institutions' (i.e. shared expectation structures, consensus assumptions etc.) is to be discussed.

Research Cloud 7: Conflict and Violence

The way people deal with conflicts can both provoke a violent escalation and lead to a containment and overcoming of violence. In this process religious semantics and motivations often play a crucial role and can be used for both aims. Accordingly, studies how conflicts are fuelled or stemmed also by means of religious texts, symbols, and ideas, is a field of research in which the dynamics of tradition and innovation with regard to religion and politics become particularly visible. The Research Cloud “Conflict and Violence” adopts an interdisciplinary and cross epochal approach by examining conflicts and the way they were dealt with from antiquity until present times.

Research Cloud 8: epidemics

The Research Cloud “Epidemics” adopts the perspective of many disciplines and epochs to investigate how interpretations of epidemics have changed over time, and is exploring above all the specific way in which religious, political and scientific communities and institutions deal with epidemics. It also focuses on the function of epidemic crises as movements for political reform and innovation. The aim is to unite the interdisciplinary knowledge in the Cluster of Excellence on this issue and to seek impulses for further work, including on the social dynamics of religion in times of crisis.

Research Cloud 9: Localism and the Local

Historical studies in globalism and globalization recognize the importance of the local as a sphere where the strands of connectedness translate into real life constellations, with multi-directional triggers and adaptations across the global-local binary. While the global segment of this binary has received tremendous attention in scholarship, conceptual approaches toward the local are few in number. The research cloud Localism and the Local aims at an advanced understanding of local space: what it is, and why it matters. Inspired by constellations in the present day, it is commonplace to view the local as a realm of resilience against the advancement of globalization. The cloud adds historical depth to this conversation, with an emphasis on premodern configurations. Discussions probe the local as a dynamic force foundational to societal agencies in religion, politics, economics, and culture.

Research Clouds

Die Research Clouds sind im Forschungsgefüge des Exzellenzclusters „Religion und Politik“ flexible Arbeitsverbünde, die je nach Bedarf Aspekte aus verschiedenen Gegenstandsfeldern und unterschiedliche Theorieplattformen miteinander verbinden. Die Zahl der Research Clouds ist nicht abgeschlossen, ihre Dauer und Zusammensetzung sind nicht endgültig festgelegt. Damit trägt der Exzellenzcluster der Tatsache Rechnung, dass wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen sich unter Umständen verändern können und die Strukturen im Forschungsverbund in der Lage sein müssen, sich veränderten Forschungszielen anzupassen.

Research Cloud 1 Ambiguität und Entscheidung

Mit Blick auf die Dynamiken von Tradition und Innovation arbeitet die Research Cloud 1 heraus, wie Religionen durch Vereindeutigung von mehrdeutigen Überlieferungen, etwa durch ihre fundamentalistische Uminterpretation, zum Motor gesellschaftlicher Veränderungen werden können, zum Kristallisationspunkt politischen Protestes, zum Attraktor zivilisationskritischer Jugendkulturen, zur Kraftquelle karitativer und kultureller Initiativen oder zum Generator emanzipativer Bewegungen. Welche medialen Instrumente religiöse Gemeinschaften dabei einsetzen, auf welche Mobilisierungsstrategien sie vertrauen, an welche sozialen Ungleichheiten sie anknüpfen, ist wichtig, um die von ihnen erzielten Effekte erfassen zu können.

Research Cloud 2 Theologische Glaubenslehre und gelebte Religiosität

Die Research Cloud 2 behandelt das Spannungsverhältnis von theologischer Glaubenslehre und gelebter Religiosität anhand des Streits um den historischen Charakter religiös verbindlicher Texte. Dazu werden zum einen normative Texte des Judentums, des Christentums und des Islam in ihrer Entstehungsgeschichte sowie in ihrer Überlieferungsgeschichte textexegetisch analysiert. Zum anderen werden die sich daraus ergebenden Herausforderungen für den Glaubensvollzug theologisch und philosophisch reflektiert. Um die verschiedenen Schichten der Entstehungs- und Überlieferungsgeschichte aufweisen und veranschaulichen zu können, werden in dieser Research Cloud Methoden der Digital Humanities eingesetzt.

Research Cloud 3 Migration und Diaspora

Durch Wanderungsbewegungen verändern sich in den betreffenden Regionen die religiösen Minderheits- und Mehrheitsverhältnisse sowie die religiösen Deutungsmuster. In der Research Cloud 3 wird untersucht, inwiefern Migration die Einstellungen und Haltungen sowohl der Migrantinnen und Migranten wie auch der Mehrheitsbevölkerung in den Einwanderungsländern, ihre kulturelle und religiöse Selbstidentifikation, ihre Sicht auf das Eigene und das Fremde, ihr Verständnis von Heimat, Nationalität und politischer Zugehörigkeit und auch ihre religiöse Praxis verändert. Darüber hinaus befasst sich die Research Cloud mit der umstrittenen Frage, inwiefern Religion die soziale Integration der Immigrantinnen und Immigranten befördert oder erschwert.

Research Cloud 4 Digital Humanities

In der Research Cloud Digital Humanities wird sowohl nach methodischen als auch nach inhaltlichen Gemeinsamkeiten zwischen den Einzelprojekten des Exzellenzclusters „Religion und Politik“ gefragt, die mit digitalen Methoden arbeiten. Zusammen mit den Entwicklern des Service Center Digital Humanities der ULB Münster werden digitale Werkzeuge ausprobiert, diskutiert und anhand praktischer Fallbeispiele gemeinsam angepasst, um die konkreten, anstehenden Forschungsfragen aus einer digitalen Perspektive heraus gemeinsam angehen zu können. Ein Schwerpunkt der digitalen Forschung liegt auf der Frage nach dem historischen Charakter religiöser Texte, insbesondere auf ihrer Entstehungs- und Überlieferungsgeschichte.

Research Cloud 5 Erinnern und Vergessen

Der Dynamik des religiösen Wandels liegen immer auch Prozesse des Erinnerns und Vergessens zugrunde, wobei Erinnern vorwiegend Identität und Kontinuität gewährt, Vergessen dagegen Raum für Neues schafft und Kapazitäten freisetzt. In der Research Cloud „Erinnern und Vergessen“ wird die Diskussion auf der Grundlage der bisherigen Auseinandersetzung mit Jan Assmanns Ansatz des kommunikativen und kulturellen Gedächtnisses (Lektüre-Gruppe) fortgesetzt sowie weitere Ansätze diskutiert, die über diese Unterscheidung hinausgehen. Im Zentrum der Arbeit werden jedoch die clusterinternen Forschungsprojekte und -fragestellungen stehen: Auf dieser Datengrundlage werden sowohl die beiden für das Gedächtnis konstitutiven und komplementären Unterscheidungen des Erinnerns und Vergessens als auch die diesen jeweils zugrundeliegenden Rahmenbedingungen konkret erforscht werden. Ziel ist es, empirisch und theoretisch zu reflektieren, wie Prozesse des Erinnerns und Vergessens zur Dynamik religiösen Wandels beitragen.

Research Cloud 6 Die Konkurrenz religiöser Sozialformen als Motor der Religionsgeschichte?

Im Anschluss an Max Webers idealtypische Unterscheidung von ‚Kirche‘ und ‚Sekte‘ beschäftigt sich die Cloud in historischer ebenso wie in systematischer und gegenwartsanalytischer Absicht (a) mit der Herausbildung und Konkurrenz verschiedener religiöser Sozialformen, (b) mit der Frage, welche ‚Techniken‘ verschiedene religiöse Sozialformen entwickeln, um die Lebensführung ihrer Mitglieder zu steuern, d.h. sozial geteilte Erwartungsstrukturen in ethisch-moralischer und religiöser Hinsicht zu etablieren. Zu erörtern ist sowohl das Zusammenspiel als auch das Auseinanderfallen von religiösen Sozialformen (wie ‚Kirche‘, ‚Sekte‘, ‚Bewegung‘, ‚Netzwerk‘ usw.) und religiösen ‚Institutionen‘ (i.S. geteilter Erwartungsstrukturen bzw. Konsensunterstellungen usw.).

Research Cloud 7 Konflikt und Gewalt

Die Bearbeitung von Konflikten kann sowohl eine gewaltsame Eskalation heraufbeschwören wie auch zur Begrenzung und Überwindung von Gewalt führen. Dabei spielen religiöse Semantiken und Motivationen oft eine entscheidende Rolle und können für beide Ziele eingebracht werden. Entsprechend sind Untersuchungen, wie Konflikten auch mit Hilfe religiöser Texte Symbole und Vorstellungen befeuert oder eingedämmt werden, ein Forschungsfeld, in dem die Dynamiken von Tradition und Innovation im Blick auf Religion und Politik besonders deutlich sichtbar werden.
Die Research Cloud „Konflikt und Gewalt“ verfolgt dazu einen interdisziplinären und epochenübergreifenden Ansatz und untersucht Konflikte und ihre Bearbeitung von der Antike bis in die Gegenwart.

Research Cloud 8 Epidemien

Die Research Cloud „Epidemien“ setzt sich aus der Sicht vieler Fächer und Epochen mit dem Deutungswandel von Seuchen in Geschichte und Gegenwart auseinandersetzen und fragt vor allem nach dem spezifischen Umgang religiöser, politischer und wissenschaftlicher Gemeinschaften und Institutionen mit Epidemien. Im Fokus steht außerdem die Funktion von epidemischen Krisen als Movens für politische Reformen und Innovationen. Ziel ist es, das interdisziplinäre Wissen im Exzellenzcluster zu diesem Thema zu bündeln sowie Anstöße für die weitere Arbeit zu suchen, auch zu den sozialen Dynamiken von Religion in Krisenzeiten.