Research Cloud 6 Conflict and Violence

The way people deal with conflicts can both provoke a violent escalation and lead to a containment and overcoming of violence. In this process religious semantics and motivations often play a crucial role and can be used for both aims. Accordingly, studies how conflicts are fuelled or stemmed also by means of religious texts, symbols, and ideas, is a field of research in which the dynamics of tradition and innovation with regard to religion and politics become particularly visible.

The Research Cloud “Conflict and Violence” adopts an interdisciplinary and cross epochal approach by examining conflicts and the way they were dealt with from antiquity until present times.

This broad cooperation therefore facilitates to study in very different configurations how conflicting parties use Holy Scriptures and religious traditions to exacerbate or resolve a conflict. In some cases it appears that some texts, religious patterns, or hermeneutical principles recur similarly in very different contexts. Thus, for example, there are comparable techniques across religious boundaries for the non-violent reception of canonical texts containing violence.

The Research Cloud builds on research carried out in the first two funding phases in the field of research "Violence". The focus however is now on the strikingly differently structured and until now scarcely studied discourses which refer to religious traditions endeavouring decidedly to criticise violence or overcome conflicts.

Coordination of Research Cloud 7:

Research Cloud 6 Konflikt und Gewalt

Die Bearbeitung von Konflikten kann sowohl eine gewaltsame Eskalation heraufbeschwören wie auch zur Begrenzung und Überwindung von Gewalt führen. Dabei spielen religiöse Semantiken und Motivationen oft eine entscheidende Rolle und können für beide Ziele eingebracht werden. Entsprechend sind Untersuchungen, wie Konflikten auch mit Hilfe religiöser Texte Symbole und Vorstellungen befeuert oder eingedämmt werden, ein Forschungsfeld, in dem die Dynamiken von Tradition und Innovation im Blick auf Religion und Politik besonders deutlich sichtbar werden.

Die Research Cloud „Konflikt und Gewalt“ verfolgt dazu einen interdisziplinären und epochenübergreifenden Ansatz und untersucht Konflikte und ihre Bearbeitung von der Antike bis in die Gegenwart.

In sehr unterschiedliche Konstellationen wird dabei untersucht, wie sich Konfliktparteien auf heilige Schriften und religiöse Traditionen beziehen, um Konflikte zu verschärfen oder um sie aufzulösen. Dabei kann mitunter beobachtet werden, dass manche Texte, religiöse Muster oder auch hermeneutische Prinzipien in ganz unterschiedlichen Kontexten in ähnlicher Form wiederkehren. So gibt es etwa über Religionsgrenzen hinweg vergleichbare Techniken, gewalthaltige kanonische Texte gewaltfrei rezipieren zu können.

Nach den Arbeiten im Forschungsfeld „Gewalt“ der ersten beiden Förderphasen, an die die Cloud anknüpfen kann, liegt der Schwerpunkt nun auf den auffällig anders strukturierten und bisher wenig untersuchten Diskursen, die sich dezidiert gewaltkritisch oder konfliktüberwindend auf die religiösen Traditionen beziehen.

Koordination der Research Cloud 7: