Research Cloud 4 Digital Humanities

The research cloud Digital Humanities investigates both methodological and content-related similarities between the individual projects of the Cluster of Excellence "Religion and Politics" that work with digital methods. The focus is on the joint analysis and solution of problems that arise when applying digital methods.

Together with the software engineers of the Service Center Digital Humanities of the ULB Münster, digital tools are tested, discussed and adapted on the basis of practical case studies in order to jointly address the concrete, upcoming research questions from a digital perspective. This also involves an adequate presentation of the digital results online. After all, the explicit goal is to sustain digital standards across projects and to find joint solutions for the WWU Münster from the very beginning.

The range of content of the individual projects covers the entire thematic spectrum of the Cluster of Excellence. One focus of digital research, however, is on the historical character of religious texts, in particular their history of origin and transmission in the field of tension between the dynamics of tradition and innovation. This field includes religiously motivated texts by individual authors as well as those that claim the highest level of commitment for their religious community. As a result, there are not only methodological overlaps from the field of digital editing, but also clear interfaces in terms of content between the individual projects, such as the handling of recurring motifs or historical events, which are discussed in the Research Cloud.

Coordination of Research Cloud 4:

Research Cloud 4 Digital Humanities

In der Research Cloud Digital Humanities wird sowohl nach methodischen als auch nach inhaltlichen Gemeinsamkeiten zwischen den Einzelprojekten des Exzellenzclusters „Religion und Politik“ gefragt, die mit digitalen Methoden arbeiten. Im Fokus steht das gemeinsame Analysieren und Lösen von Problemen, die sich durch den Einsatz digitaler Methoden ergeben.

Zusammen mit den Entwicklern des Service Center Digital Humanities der ULB Münster werden digitale Werkzeuge ausprobiert, diskutiert und anhand praktischer Fallbeispiele gemeinsam angepasst, um die konkreten, anstehenden Forschungsfragen aus einer digitalen Perspektive heraus gemeinsam angehen zu können. Dabei geht es auch um eine adäquate Präsentation der digitalen Ergebnisse im Netz. Schließlich ist das ausdrückliche Ziel, projektübergreifend digitale Standards zu gewährleisten und von Beginn an gemeinschaftliche Lösungen für den Standort WWU Münster zu finden.

Die inhaltliche Spannweite der Einzelprojekte deckt die gesamte thematische Bandbreite des Exzellenzclusters ab. Ein Schwerpunkt der digitalen Forschung liegt allerdings auf der Frage nach dem historischen Charakter religiöser Texte, insbesondere auf ihrer Entstehungs- und Überlieferungsgeschichte im Spannungsfeld der Dynamiken von Tradition und Innovation. Zu diesem Feld gehören sowohl religiös motivierte Texte einzelner Autoren als auch solche, die für ihre Religionsgemeinschaft höchste Verbindlichkeit beanspruchen. Dadurch gibt es nicht nur methodische Überschneidungen aus dem Bereich des digitalen Editierens, sondern auch deutliche inhaltliche Schnittstellen zwischen den Einzelprojekten, etwa den Umgang mit wiederkehrenden Motiven oder geschichtlichen Ereignissen, die in der Research Cloud diskutiert werden.

Koordination der Research Cloud 4: