Fahrrad vorm Schloss
© MM/Ralf Engbers/privat

C*-Algebras: Tensor Products, Approximation & Classification

A conference in honour of Eberhard Kirchberg
17-21 July 2023, in Münster, Germany

Since Elliotts classification of approximately finite C*-algebras it is well known that there are strong ties between classification theory and approximation theory for C*-algebras. The full depth of this relation became clear only after the groundbreaking work of Eberhard Kirchberg on tensor products and approximation properties of C*-algebras with astounding applications to (on first sight unrelated) important problems: the Connes embedding problem and the classification of (purely infinite) C*-algebras. The meeting will focus on breathtaking recent advances in these topics due to several young rising stars.


Hiroshi Ando
Bruce Blackadar
Kristin Courtney
Joachim Cuntz
Marius Dadarlat
Mikael de la Salle
Søren Eilers
George Elliott
Ilijas Farah
James Gabe
Priyanga Ganesan
Shirly Geffen
Ilan Hirshberg
Nadia Larsen
Ralf Meyer
Magdalena Musat
Narutaka Ozawa
N. Christopher Phillips
Mikael Rørdam
Christopher Schafhauser
Karen Strung
Gabor Szabo
Simon Wassermann
Stuart White


Joachim Cuntz
Siegfried Echterhoff
Mikael Rørdam
Wilhelm Winter



Book of Abstracts.

Eberhard Kirchberg’s book manuscript: The Classification of Purely Infinite C*-Algebras Using Kasparov’s Theory.
Conference photo
Conference photo
© MM/vl


Please register here for the conference.

Support and child care

Child care is available free of charge for all participants of the workshop.

Venue and Travel Information

The conference takes place in room SRZ 216/217 on the second floor of the seminar building located at

Orléans-Ring 12
48149 Münster

Directions can be found on openstreetmap or on the Campus map of the University of Münster.

Detailed travel information can be found on the MM websites.

Download: Information for conference guests / Informationsblatt für Tagungsteilnehmer*innen [enIde]


You are welcome to download the poster and display it at your institution.


The conference is supported by the Cluster of Excellence Mathematics Münster.