© WWU IT

Privacy Policy for the Use of "WWUzoom"

The tool "WWUzoom" is intended to serve as a tool for teaching, research and administration. In the following, we would like to provide you with information on the processing of personal data in connection with the use of "WWUzoom".

1. Contact Details of the Responsible Controller
The responsible controller as defined in the EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) and other national data protection laws of the EU member states as well as other data protection-related provisions is:

Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster (WWU) / University of Münster (WWU)
represented by its Rector, Prof Dr Johannes Wessels,
Schlossplatz 2, D-48149 Münster
Tel.: + 49 251 83-0
E-mail: verwaltung@uni-muenster.de

2. Name and Address of the Data Protection Officer
The data protection officer appointed by the responsible controller is:

Nina Meyer-Pachur
Schlossplatz 2, D-48149 Münster
Tel.: + 49 251 83-22446
E-mail: Datenschutz@uni-muenster.de

3. Data Processing during the Use of "WWUzoom"
Scope of Data Processing
If you use the "WWUzoom" service provided by Münster University to conduct video conferences, online meetings and webinars, we process the following data from you:

  1. User information: first name, last name, status group (student, staff), phone (optional), email address, profile picture (optional), department (optional)
  2. Meeting metadaten: topic, description (optional), participant IP addresses, device/hardware information
  3. Meeting content data: audio, video and, if applicable, text data of the statements you make during a meeting
  4. For meeting recordings (optional): MP4 file of all video and audio recordings and presentations, M4A file of all audio recordings, text file of chat history, audio log file
  5. Telephony usage data (optional): caller's phone number, country name, IP address, 911 address (registered service address), start and end time, host name, host e-mail address, MAC address of the device in use

Purpose of Data Processing
The purpose of processing your personal data, which is described in more detail below, is to make "WWUzoom" available to you as a tool for holding video conferences, online meetings and webinars for teaching, research and administration purposes and to be able to handle the aforementioned formats via "WWUzoom".

Legal Basis for Processing Personal Data
Insofar as we obtain your consent for processing of personal data in the context of the use of "WWUzoom", Art. 6 (1 a) GDPR serves as the legal basis for the processing of personal data.

Insofar as the processing of personal data in the context of "WWUzoom" is necessary for the fulfilment of a contract to which you are a party or is necessary for the implementation of pre-contractual measures taken in response to your request, Art. 6 (1 b) GDPR serves as the legal basis for the processing of personal data.

Insofar as processing of personal data in the context of "WWUzoom" is necessary to fulfil a legal obligation to which Münster University is subject, Art. 6 (1 c) GDPR serves as the legal basis.

If the processing of your personal data in the context of the use of "WWUzoom" is necessary for the performance of a task carried out in the public interest or in the exercise of official authority vested in Münster University, Art. 6 (1 e, 3 b) GDPR in conjunction with § 3 (1) Hochschulgesetz NRW, §§ 3 (1), 17 (1), 18 Datenschutzgesetz NRW serves as the legal basis for the processing. The legal basis referred to in this paragraph will be the general rule in most cases of use of "WWUzoom".

Other Recipients of Your Personal Data
Your personal data collected when using "WWUzoom" will be passed on to the following recipients within or outside Münster University:

Recipients within Münster University:

  • WWU IT

Recipients outside Münster University:

Data Processing Outside the European Union
"Zoom Video Communications, Inc." is based in the USA. Part of the processing of personal data collected when using "WWUzoom" therefore takes place in the USA. Münster University has concluded a contract for commissioned processing with "Zoom Video Communications, Inc." in accordance with Art. 28 GDPR.

In providing the service, "Zoom" uses subcontractors for its part. When they are involved, the same level of data protection applies as that contractually agreed with Zoom and required in accordance with the regulations of the GDPR.

The appropriate guarantees for the protection of the rights of the data subjects (Art. 46 (1) GDPR) are ensured by the conclusion of the so-called EU standard contractual clauses, copies of which can be provided on request by e-mail to Datenschutz@uni-muenster.de.

"Zoom Video Communications, Inc." is certified under the EU-US Privacy Shield, which confirms the adequacy of the level of protection in accordance with Art. 45 (3) GDPR.

Duration of Storage of Personal Data
Your personal data, which we process within the scope of your use of "WWUzoom", are generally deleted as soon as they are no longer required for the purposes for which they were collected.

In this respect, the user's details (see above under 3.) will be deleted if the account is deleted by or on behalf of the person concerned.

The meeting metadata (see above under 3.) will be deleted as soon as the storage is no longer necessary for the provision of the service.

Meeting content data (see above under 3.) is not stored beyond communication. As far as the data is recorded in the Zoom-Cloud, it will be deleted there after 7 days.

If and insofar as the processing is based on your consent, the data will only be stored until you revoke your consent, unless there is another legal basis for the processing.

4. Your Rights as a Data Subject
You have a right of access to your personal data processed by Münster University (Art. 15 GDPR) at any time, a right of rectification of your personal data (Art. 16 GDPR), a right of deletion (Art. 17 GDPR), a right to limit processing (Art. 18 GDPR), a right to object to processing (Art. 21 GDPR) and, if processing is based on your consent, a right to withdraw your consent (Art. 7 (3) GDPR).

You also have the right to make a complaint to a supervisory authority (Art. 77 GDPR). This can be done, for example, by contacting the Landesbeauftragte für Datenschutz und Informationsfreiheit Nordrhein-Westfalen, Postfach 20 04 44, D-40102 Düsseldorf, tel.: +49 211/38424-0, e-mail: poststelle@ldi.nrw.de.

© WWU IT

Datenschutzerklärung für die Nutzung von "WWUzoom"

Das Tool "WWUzoom" soll als Hilfsmittel der Lehre, Forschung und Verwaltung dienen. Nachfolgend möchten wir Ihnen Informationen zu der Verarbeitung personenbezogener Daten im Zusammen-hang mit der Nutzung von "WWUzoom" bereitstellen.

1. Kontaktdaten des Verantwortlichen
Der Verantwortliche im Sinne der EU-Datenschutzgrundverordnung (DSGVO) und anderer nationaler Datenschutzgesetze der Mitgliedsstaaten sowie sonstiger datenschutzrechtlicher Bestimmungen ist die:

Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster (WWU),
vertreten durch den Rektor, Prof. Dr. Johannes Wessels,
Schlossplatz 2, 48149 Münster
Tel.: + 49 251 83-0
E-Mail: verwaltung@uni-muenster.de

2. Name und Anschrift der Datenschutzbeauftragten
Die Datenschutzbeauftragte des Verantwortlichen ist:

Nina Meyer-Pachur
Schlossplatz 2, 48149 Münster
Tel.: + 49 251 83-22446
E-Mail: Datenschutz@uni-muenster.de

3. Datenverarbeitung bei der Nutzung von "WWUzoom"
Umfang der Datenverarbeitung
Wenn Sie den von der WWU zur Verfügung gestellten Dienst "WWzoom“ für die Durchführung von Video-Konferenzen, Online-Meetings und Webinaren nutzen, verarbeiten wir von Ihnen folgende Daten:

  1. Angaben zum Benutzer: Vorname, Nachname, Statusgruppe (Studierender, Beschäftigter), Telefon (optional), E-Mail-Adresse, Profilbild (optional), Abteilung (optional)
  2. Meeting-Metadaten: Thema, Beschreibung (optional), Teilnehmer-IP-Adressen, Geräte-/Hardware-Informationen
  3. Meeting-Inhaltsdaten: Audio-, Video- und ggf. Textdaten der Äußerungen, die Sie während eines Meetings tätigen
  4. Bei Meeting-Aufzeichnungen (optional): MP4-Datei aller Video- und Audioaufnahmen und Präsentationen, M4A-Datei aller Audioaufnahmen, Textdatei des Chat-Verlaufs, Audio-Protokolldatei
  5. Telefonie-Nutzungsdaten (optional): Rufnummer des Anrufers, Name des Landes, IP-Adresse, 911-Adresse (registrierte Dienstadresse), Start- und Endzeit, Hostname, Host-E-Mail-Adresse, MAC-Adresse des verwendeten Geräts

Zwecke der Datenverarbeitung
Die Verarbeitung Ihrer oben genannten personenbezogenen Daten dient dazu, Ihnen "WWUzoom" als Tool für die Durchführung von Video-Konferenzen, Online-Meetings und Webinaren für die Lehre, Forschung und Verwaltung zur Verfügung stellen zu können und die genannten Formate über "WWUzoom" abwickeln zu können.

Rechtsgrundlage für die Verarbeitung personenbezogener Daten
Soweit wir für Verarbeitungsvorgänge personenbezogener Daten im Rahmen der Nutzung von "WWUzoom" Ihre Einwilligung einholen, dient Art. 6 Abs. 1 lit. a DSGVO als Rechtsgrundlage für die Verarbeitung personenbezogener Daten.

Soweit die Verarbeitung personenbezogener Daten im Rahmen von "WWUzoom" für die Erfüllung eines Vertrages erforderlich ist, dessen Vertragspartei Sie sind, oder zur Durchführung vorvertraglicher Maßnahmen erforderlich ist, die auf Ihre Anfrage hin erfolgen, dient Art. 6 Abs. 1 lit. b DSGVO als Rechtsgrundlage für die Verarbeitung personenbezogener Daten.

Soweit eine Verarbeitung personenbezogener Daten im Rahmen von "WWUzoom" zur Erfüllung einer rechtlichen Verpflichtung erforderlich ist, der die WWU unterliegt, dient Art. 6 Abs. 1 lit. c DSGVO als Rechtsgrundlage.

Ist die Verarbeitung Ihrer personenbezogenen Daten im Rahmen der Nutzung von "WWUzoom" für die Wahrnehmung einer Aufgabe erforderlich, die im öffentlichen Interesse liegt oder in Ausübung öffentlicher Gewalt erfolgt, die der WWU übertragen wurde, so dient Art. 6 Abs. 1 lit. e, Abs. 3 lit. b) DSGVO in Verbindung mit § 3  Abs. 1 Hochschulgesetz NRW, §§ 3 Abs. 1, 17 Abs. 1, 18 Datenschutzgesetz NRW als Rechtsgrundlage für die Verarbeitung. Die in diesem Absatz genannte Rechtsgrundlage wird in den meisten Anwendungsfällen der Verwendung von "WWUzoom" den Regelfall darstellen.

Weitere Empfänger Ihrer personenbezogenen Daten
Ihre bei der Nutzung von "WWUzoom" erhobenen personenbezogenen Daten werden an folgende Empfänger innerhalb bzw. außerhalb der WWU weitergegeben:

Empfänger innerhalb der WWU:

  • WWU IT

Empfänger außerhalb der WWU:

Datenverarbeitung außerhalb der Europäischen Union
Die "Zoom Video Communications, Inc." hat ihren Sitz in den USA. Ein Teil der Verarbeitung der personenbezogenen Daten, die bei der Nutzung von "WWUzoom" erhoben werden, findet daher in den USA statt. Die WWU hat mit der "Zoom Video Communications, Inc." einen Auftragsverarbeitungsvertrag abgeschlossen i.S.v. Art. 28 DSGVO entspricht.

Bei der Erbringung des Dienstes setzt "Zoom" seinerseits Unterauftragnehmer ein. Bei deren Einsatz gilt dasselbe Datenschutzniveau, wie das mit Zoom vertraglich vereinbarte und gemäß den Vorschriften der DSGVO verlangte.

Die geeigneten Garantien für die Wahrung der Rechte der Betroffenen (Art. 46 Abs. 1 DSGVO) sind durch den Abschluss der sog. EU-Standardvertragsklauseln gewährleistet, die unter Nachfrage per E-Mail an Datenschutz@uni-muenster.de in Kopie zur Verfügung gestellt werden können.

Dauer der Speicherung personenbezogener Daten
Ihre personenbezogenen Daten, die wir im Rahmen Ihrer Verwendung von „WWUzoom“ verarbeiten, werden grundsätzlich gelöscht, sobald sie nicht mehr für die Zwecke, für die sie erhoben wurden, benötigt werden.

Insoweit werden die Angaben zum Nutzer (s.o. unter 3.) gelöscht, wenn das Konto durch die betroffene Person oder im Auftrag der betroffenen Person gelöscht wird.

Die Meeting-Metadaten (s.o. unter 3.) werden gelöscht, sobald die Speicherung für die Erbringung des Dienstes nicht mehr erforderlich ist.

Meeting-Inhaltsdaten (s.o. unter 3.) werden nicht über die Kommunikation hinaus gespeichert. Soweit die Daten in die Zoom-Cloud aufgezeichnet werden, werden diese dort nach 7 Tagen gelöscht.

Wenn und soweit die Verarbeitung auf Ihrer Einwilligung beruht, werden die Daten nur solange gespeichert, bis Sie Ihre Einwilligung widerrufen, es sei denn, es besteht eine andere Rechtsgrundlage für die Verarbeitung.

4. Ihre Rechte als Betroffener
Sie haben jederzeit ein Recht auf Auskunft über Ihre von der WWU verarbeiteten personenbezogenen Daten (Art. 15 DSGVO), ein Recht auf Berichtigung Ihrer personenbezogenen Daten (Art. 16 DSGVO), ein Recht auf Löschung (Art. 17 DSGVO), ein Recht auf Einschränkung der Verarbeitung (Art. 18 DSGVO), ein Recht auf Widerspruch gegen die Verarbeitung (Art. 21 DSGVO) und, soweit die Verarbeitung auf Ihrer Einwilligung beruht, ein Recht auf Widerruf Ihrer Einwilligung (Art. 7 Abs. 3 DSGVO).

Außerdem haben Sie das Recht, Beschwerde bei einer Aufsichtsbehörde einzulegen (Art. 77 DSGVO). Dies kann zum Beispiel bei der für die WWU zuständigen Landesbeauftragten für Datenschutz und Informationsfreiheit Nordrhein-Westfalen, Postfach 20 04 44, 40102 Düsseldorf, Tel.: 0211/38424-0, E-Mail: poststelle@ldi.nrw.de geschehen.