Research team in Rome
Research team in Rome
© Annette Schreyer/laif

Between laptops and ancient tomes

Those who have once held the folios and boxes covered with the dust of the centuries in the Vatican Apostolic Archives (the former Vatican Secret Archives) or in the Archive of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith in their hands will always come back. It is like an addiction that leads to an ever more passionate search for answers to unresolved historical questions. The staff of the Department of Medieval and Modern Church History are conducting research for several major research projects and numerous theses on site at the Vatican and other archives. The Research Centre for Diocesan History (Forschungsstelle für Bistumsgeschichte) and the Institute for Religious Folklore Studies (Institut für Religiöse Volkskunde) primarily focus on regional history. Several projects are currently being carried out by the department together with their collaborating partners.

"Asking the Pope for Help"

Petition from Hilde Schmahl
© 2022 Archivio Apostolico Vaticano, Segr.Stato, Commissione Soccorsi 296, fasc. 120, fol. 46r. - per concessione dell’Archivio Apostolico Vaticano, ogni diritto riservato

Asking the Pope for Help

During the time of the Nazi regime, many persecuted people sought refuge in flight, but often lacked the necessary financial means or other support. In their desperation, thousands of Jews - both converts to the Catholic faith and non-converts - turned to the Catholic Church and its head, Pope Pius XII. In the project "Asking the Pope for Help," the estimated 15,000 petitions sent to the Holy See and kept in the Vatican archives are being systematically recorded and made accessible to the public in a digital edition. The research project was only made possible by the opening of the Vatican holdings pertaining to the pontificate of Pius XII. The preliminary work, which began two years ago, was financed by the Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach Foundation. Now the EVZ Foundation is funding the project together with the German Foreign Office and Bayer AG. The development and expansion of a digital working environment and publication platform is supported by the software group SAP. 

Long-term projects with the German Research Foundation (DFG)

Title copper of an index
© Titelkupfer des Index librorum prohibitorum von 1758

Book censorship by the Roman Inquisition and the Congregation of the Index in modern times

Until 1998, the Archive of the Roman Inquisition and Index Congregation was one of the best-kept secrets of modern history. The archive is now in the care of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith. A large-scale long-term project, funded by the German Research Foundation, has worked on a reappraisal of the centuries-long history of censorship institutions. The project team has developed an international and interdisciplinary tool for the history of Roman book censorship from its beginnings in the 16th century to the end of the Index in 1966.

Portrait Eugenio Pacelli
© Gemeinfrei

Critical Online Edition of the Nuncial Reports of Eugenio Pacelli (1917-1929)

Eugenio Pacelli, later Pope Pius XII (1939-1958), decisively influenced Vatican politics as a Papal Nuncio in Germany from 1917 to 1929. Since 2003 and 2006, his reports from this period have been accessible in the Vatican Archives. They have opened up a new perspective on the Catholic Church during the Weimar Republic, but also on politics and everyday culture in Germany and Europe. The long-term project producing an edition of these documents was financed by the DFG and ran from the beginning of 2008 to the end of 2019. In cooperation with the Vatican Apostolic Archives (formerly the Vatican Secret Archives) and the German Historical Institute (DHI) in Rome, the edition team has recorded, critically edited, annotated and evaluated almost 21,000 documents that are now available online. The text genesis of the drafts is vividly presented in the digital edition. Work on this project is continuing even though the funded term has come to a close. In January 2022 the English homepage went online to make the edition more usable internationally.

Portrait Michael von Faulhaber
© Gemeinfrei

Critical Online Edition of the Diaries of Michael Cardinal von Faulhaber (1911-1952)

Michael Cardinal von Faulhaber (1869-1952) was Archbishop of Munich, an eminent theologian and an articulate advocate of political Catholicism as well as a champion of Church interests. This project aims to provide a critical edition of his comprehensive diaries and to publish them online. The German Research Foundation (DFG) agreed to finance this long-term project, which will span over twelve years, in July 2013. Prof Andreas Wirsching from The Leibniz Institute for Contemporary History Munich-Berlin (IfZ) and Prof Hubert Wolf are working together to coordinate the project in cooperation with the Archiepiscopal Archives of Munich (Erzbischöfliches Archiv München), where the diaries are housed. Faulhaber mostly wrote in "Gabelsberger" shorthand and as this script can only be deciphered by a handful of experts, extensive archival holdings are in danger of becoming illegible. By also offering Gabelsberger courses, the project is providing an important contribution to the preservation of this cultural skill.

Further current projects and cooperations

Portrait Pius XII
© Von Fratelli Alinari, Florence. Unknown photographer. - Ernst Breit: Der Weg der Kirche. Wibbelt, Essen 1939., Gemeinfrei, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=63722947

Pius XII and the Jews (1939-1958)

The previously closed archival holdings related to the pontificate of Pius XII, i.e. from the years 1939 to 1958, have been accessible to researchers since 2 March 2020. The Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach Foundation is supporting Prof Hubert Wolf and his team undertake their work in the Vatican Archives by providing almost 250,000 euros in funding. The central question of interest is: What did Pius XII know about the Shoa, and why did he not condemn it loud and clear? Other research focuses include Pius XIIʼs handling of the question of guilt and his refraining from a clearer protest against the Nazi crimes after the end of the war; the escape aid for Nazi criminals provided by representatives of the Church; the attitude of the Holy See towards the founding of the State of Israel; and fundamental theological reflections on the relationship to Judaism.

Logo Cluster of Excellence “Religion and Politics"
© Religion und Politik Exzellenzcluster WWU Münster

A critical online edition following up the genesis of holy texts through magisterial decisions of the Catholic Church (Cluster of Excellence "Religion and Politics", project C3-19)

This digital theologies project will trace the genesis of focal normative or sacred texts issued by the Catholic Magisterium during the 19th and 20th centuries with a critical online edition. Individual decisions will not be considered separately from each other, but in context and over the entire period of modernity. The edition is primarily aimed at researchers, but also at a broader public. It is part of the new interdisciplinary and interreligious research focus of the Cluster of Excellence "Religion and Politics", which, by examining the historical character of religiously binding texts, investigates the tension between theological doctrine and lived religiousness.

Logo der research group 2973
© DFG-Forschungsgruppe 2973

“Awakening” or “breakdown”? Catholic Theology and the 1968 Student Movement

1968 meant a break for many Catholics, especially with regard to their religious faith and their attachment to the Church. But what was the relationship between the movement of 1968 and the very different forms of being Catholic? And above all: What role did Catholic theology play in this? Together with Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hubert Wolf, Stephen Wißing and Benedict Dahm address these questions in the project "Catholic Theology and the 1968 Student Movement", which is coordinated by Dr Michael Pfister. It is part of the German Research Foundation's research group "Being Catholic in the German Federal Republic. Semantics, Practices, and Emotions in Western Germany’s Society 1965–1989/90", which is based at the Bonn Commission for Contemporary History.

Cover of the volume
© Schöningh

Systematic Repertory on Book Censorship - Congregation of the Index 1607 to 1700

The DFG long-term project "Roman Inquisition and Congregation of the Index from 1542 to 1966" has spent twelve years developing basic tools for researching book censorship in the Archive of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith in Rome. The volumes covering the periods from 1814 to 1917, 1701 to 1813 and 1542 to 1700 were published in three stages. The Repertory for the Inquisition for the 16th and 17th centuries, the most recent volume of the series, was published in early 2020. Thanks to a grant from the Fritz Thyssen Foundation, work on the last volume of the series, the Repertory for the Congregation of the Index, can now also be completed rapidly. Dr Judith Schepers and Hedwig Rosenmöller are involved in this project, as is Paul Krämer, a student assistant. PD Dr Thomas Brockmann and Dr Barbara Schüler are also supporting the completion of the volumes.

Bistum und Hochstift Münster um 1750
© Schnell & Steiner, Gatz, Atlas zur Kirche in Geschichte und Gegenwart, Regensburg 2009

Research Centre for the History of the Diocese of Münster

The Research Centre at the Faculty of Catholic Theology offers one course per semester on the history of the Diocese of Münster. The research aim consists in collecting, exploring and evaluating the files relating to the history of the diocese conserved in the Vatican holdings that have become accessible with the opening of the archives in March 2020. The seat of the research centre is located on the second floor of Aegidiistraße 67, and the contact person is Dennis Hartjes, Pia Wontorra is also involved in the project as a student assistant.

Pietà in Our Lady of Grace Chapel, Telgte
© Per aspra, alte Postkarte, Gemeinfrei, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Gnadenbild-Telgte.JPG

Institute for Religious Folklore Studies (registered association)

The Institute for Religious Folklore Studies, in accordance with its statutes from 1964, promotes academic research in the fields of religious folklore and Rhenish-Westphalian church history. In order to promote junior researchers, the Institute annually awards the "Alois Schröer Scholarship".

Current projects and cooperations

Cooperative Project "Johannes Baptista Sproll, Bishop of Rottenburg, 1927–1949"

Johannes Baptista Sproll, born in 1870, served from 1927 until his death in 1949 as the bishop of the diocese of Rottenburg. During his tenure, he experienced several political upheavals: the fall of the monarchy and World War I, the Weimar Republic, the Third Reich and World War II, and the subsequent period of occupation. Sproll became known beyond his own diocese when he demonstratively refused to participate in the plebiscite and parliamentary elections following the annexation of Austria in 1938. In an unparalleled act in the history of the German episcopacy, the National Socialists succeeded in staging demonstrations to drive the bishop—who had been a thorn in their sides for years—from his diocese as a "traitor." Only after the end of World War II was the bishop—now seriously ill—able to return from his exile in Bavaria.

Institute for the History of the Diocese of Münster

The Institute for the History of the Diocese of Münster was founded in 2004 as a cooperation project between the Diocese and the University of Münster. The aim was to make the history of the local Church of the Westphalian Münsterland accessible and present it in teaching. The Institute was also the point of contact for associations and institutions of the diocese. One focus of its work was the reconstruction of stocks of files that had been lost in the Second World War. The book series "Junges Forum Geschichte" (Young History Forum) focused on the first works of young authors on the history of the diocese. In further projects the archival documents relating to the "Visitatur Ermland" were recorded, the "Westfälisches Klosterbuch" was continued and the history of the "Wandering Church" during the time of National Socialism was examined. In addition, the Institute contributed to the exhibition "Frieden. Von der Antike bis heute" (Peace. From Antiquity to the Present Day) with a third-party funded project. In Münster, the section "Frieden. Wie im Himmel so auf Erden?" (Peace. As in heaven, so on earth?) dealt with Christian ideas of peace and the connection with Judaism and Islam. The project team consisted of the curator Dr Thomas Fusenig, the curator Viktoria Weinebeck, Elisabeth Lange and Katrin Toelle. In 2020, the Research Centre for the History of the Diocese of Münster, which is in the tradition of the Institute, was established at the Department of Medieval and Modern Church History.

Papal Ceremony in Early Modern Times (SFB 496, project B6)

In the Collaborative Research Centre (SFB) 496, whose funding phase ended on 31 December 2011, Prof Hubert Wolf and the Department of Medieval and Modern Church History were represented with the project "Papal Ceremony in Early Modern Times (1563-1789). Courtly Representation, Theological Contention and Liturgical Symbolism" (B6). The reciprocal shaping of theological concepts and symbolic practices was the central focus of the research pursued by the project.

The Vatican and the Legitimisation of Physical Violence: The Example of the Spanish Civil War (Cluster of Excellence "Religion and Politics", project D9)

The holdings of the Vatican Apostolic Archives offer an almost inexhaustible source of information. The archive enabled this project to examine the Catholic Church’s global policy of the first half of the 20th century paying particular attention to the theme of "religion and violence" from a new perspective: How did the Vatican observe and evaluate physical violence in different countries? With the example of the bloody conflict that tore apart the deeply Catholic Spain in the thirties, the explosiveness of these questions becomes particularly clear.

Maria Pia Lorenz-Filograno im Archiv

Zwischen Laptop und Folianten

Wer im Vatikanischen Apostolischen Archiv (ehemals: Geheimarchiv) oder im Archiv der Glaubenskongregation einmal die mit dem Staub der Jahrhunderte bedeckten Folianten und Schachteln in Händen gehalten hat, wird immer wiederkommen. Es ist wie eine Sucht, die zu einer immer leidenschaftlicheren Suche nach Antworten auf offene Fragen der Geschichte führt. Die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des Seminars für Mittlere und Neuere Kirchengeschichte forschen im Rahmen mehrerer großer Forschungsprojekte und zahlreicher Abschlussarbeiten vor Ort in den vatikanischen und anderen Archiven. Für die Forschungsstelle für Bistumsgeschichte und das Institut für Religiöse Volkskunde steht dabei die regionale Geschichte im Vordergrund. Mehrere Vorhaben führt das Seminar gemeinsam mit Kooperationspartnern durch.

Langfristvorhaben der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)

Buchzensur durch Römische Inquisition und Indexkongregation in der Neuzeit

Titelkupfer Hell Zu Kontrolle Des WissensZu den bestgehüteten Geheimnissen der neuzeitlichen Geschichte gehörte bis 1998 das Archiv der Römischen Inquisition und Indexkongregation, das sich heute in der Obhut der Kongregation für die Glaubenslehre befindet. In einem groß angelegten Langfristvorhaben, gefördert von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft, wurde die Aufarbeitung der Jahrhunderte dauernden Geschichte der Zensur-Institutionen angegangen. In drei Säulen erarbeitete das Projektteam ein international und interdisziplinär nutzbares Hilfsmittel für die Geschichte der römischen Buchzensur von ihren Anfängen im 16. Jahrhundert bis zum Ende des Index im Jahr 1966.

Kritische Online-Edition der Nuntiaturberichte von Eugenio Pacelli (1917-1929)

Pacelli Als Nuntius 75Eugenio Pacelli, der spätere Papst Pius XII. (1939-1958), bestimmte schon als Nuntius in Deutschland von 1917 bis 1929 die vatikanische Politik maßgeblich mit. Seit 2003 beziehungsweise 2006 sind seine Berichte aus dieser Zeit in den vatikanischen Archiven zugänglich. Sie eröffnen eine neue Perspektive auf die katholische Kirche in der Weimarer Republik, aber auch auf die Politik und die Alltagskultur in Deutschland und Europa. Das Langfristvorhaben zu ihrer Edition wurde von der DFG finanziert und lief von Anfang 2008 bis Ende 2019. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Vatikanischen Apostolischen Archiv (ehemals: Vatikanisches Geheimarchiv) und dem Deutschen Historischen Institut Rom hat das Editionsteam knapp 21.000 Dokumente erfasst, kritisch ediert, kommentiert, ausgewertet und im Internet zugänglich gemacht. Die Textgenese der Entwürfe wird in der digitalen Edition anschaulich dargestellt. Auch nach der eigentlichen Laufzeit geht die Arbeit am Projekt weiter. So werden zurzeit die Regesten ins Englische übersetzt. Außerdem wird die Mehrsprachigkeit des Internetauftritts vorbereitet, um die Edition international besser nutzbar zu machen.

Kritische Online-Edition der Tagebücher von Michael Kardinal von Faulhaber (1911-1952)

Faulhaber 75Michael Kardinal von Faulhaber (1869-1952) war Erzbischof von München, ein herausragender Theologe, Vordenker des politischen Katholizismus und Streiter für kirchliche Interessen. Seine umfangreichen Tagebücher werden in diesem Projekt wissenschaftlich kommentiert und online veröffentlicht. Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft bewilligte dazu im Juli 2013 ein auf zwölf Jahre angelegtes Langfristvorhaben, das Prof. Dr. Andreas Wirsching vom Institut für Zeitgeschichte München-Berlin und Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hubert Wolf gemeinsam verantworten. Kooperationspartner ist das Erzbischöfliche Archiv München, das die Tagebücher Faulhabers verwahrt. Faulhaber schrieb überwiegend in der Kurzschrift "Gabelsberger". Da diese nur noch sehr wenige Sachverständige entziffern können, drohen umfangreiche Archivbestände unzugänglich zu werden. Indem das Projekt Gabelsberger-Schulungen umfasst, leistet es einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Bewahrung dieser Kulturtechnik.


Weitere Aktuelle Projekte UND KOOPERATIONEN

 Pius XII. und die Juden (1939-1958)

Seit dem 2. März 2020 sind die zuvor verschlossenen Bestände aus dem Pontifikat Piusʼ XII., also aus den Jahren 1939 bis 1958, für die Forschung zugänglich. Die Stiftung Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach unterstützt Prof. Hubert Wolf und sein Team bei ihrer Arbeit in den vatikanischen Archiven mit knapp 250.000 Euro. Im Fokus des Interesses steht die Frage: Was wusste Pius XII. von der Shoa, warum verurteilte er sie nicht laut und deutlich? Untersucht werden sollen außerdem der Umgang Pius’ XII. mit der Schuldfrage und seinem Verzicht auf einen deutlicheren Protest gegen die NS-Verbrechen nach Kriegsende, die Fluchthilfe von Kirchenvertretern für nationalsozialistische Verbrecher, die Stellung des Heiligen Stuhls zur Gründung des Staates Israel und grundsätzliche theologische Reflexionen über das Verhältnis zum Judentum.

Kritische Online-Edition zur Entstehung von heiligen Texten durch lehramtliche Entscheidungen der katholischen Kirche (Exzellenzcluster "Religion und Politik", Projekt C3-19)

Cluster 75Dieses Digital-Theologies-Projekt wird in einer kritischen Online-Edition die Entstehung zentraler normativer beziehungsweise heiliger Texte des katholischen Lehramts aus dem 19. und 20. Jahrhundert nachzeichnen. Einzelne Entscheidungen werden dabei nicht getrennt voneinander, sondern im Zusammenhang und über den gesamten Zeitraum der Moderne hinweg betrachtet. Die Edition wendet sich primär an die Forschung, aber auch an eine breitere Öffentlichkeit. Sie ist Teil des neuen interdisziplinären und interreligiösen Forschungsschwerpunkts des Exzellenzclusters "Religion und Politik": Dieser setzt sich mit dem historischen Charakter religiös verbindlicher Texte auseinander, um dem Spannungsverhältnis von theologischer Glaubenslehre und gelebter Religiosität nachzugehen. Mitarbeiter im Projekt sind Dr. Sascha Hinkel und Dr. Michael Pfister.

„Aufbruch“ oder „Zusammenbruch“? Die katholische Theologie und die Studentenbewegung von 1968

1968 75

1968 bedeutete für viele Katholikinnen und Katholiken einen Bruch, auch und gerade im Hinblick auf ihre Religiosität und Kirchlichkeit. Aber in welchem Verhältnis stand die 68er-Bewegung zu den ganz unterschiedlichen Formen des Katholischseins? Und vor allem: Welche Rolle spielte die katholische Theologie dabei? Diesen Fragen widmen sich Stephen Wißing und Benedict Dahm mit Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hubert Wolf im Projekt „Katholische Theologie und die Studentenbewegung von 1968“. Das Vorhaben gehört zur Forschungsgruppe „Katholischsein in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Semantiken, Praktiken und Emotionen in der westdeutschen Gesellschaft 1965-1989/90“, die von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft gefördert wird und bei der Bonner Kommission für Zeitgeschichte angesiedelt ist.

 Systematisches Repertorium zur Buchzensur - Indexkongregation 1607 bis 1700

Repertorium 75

Das DFG-Langfristvorhaben Römische Inquisition und Indexkongregation von 1542 bis 1966 hat in zwölf Jahren grundlegende Hilfsmittel zur Erforschung der Buchzensur im Archiv der Römischen Glaubenskongregation erarbeitet. In drei Etappen wurden die Bände zu den Zeiträumen von 1814 bis 1917, von 1701 bis 1813 und von 1542 bis 1700 veröffentlicht. Zuletzt ist Anfang 2020 das Repertorium zur Inquisition für das 16. und 17. Jahrhundert erschienen. Dank einer Förderung durch die Fritz-Thyssen-Stiftung kann jetzt auch die Arbeit am letzten Band der Reihe, dem Repertorium zur Indexkongregation, zügig abgeschlossen werden. In diesem Projekt beschäftigt sind Dr. Judith Schepers und Hedwig Rosenmöller sowie als Hilfskraft Paul Krämer. Außerdem unterstützen PD Dr. Thomas Brockmann und Dr. Barbara Schüler die Fertigstellung der Bände.

Kooperationsprojekt "Joannes Baptista Sproll, Bischof von Rottenburg 1927-1949"

Sproll75

Joannes Baptista Sproll, geboren 1870, amtierte von 1927 bis zu seinem Tod im Jahr 1949 als Bischof der Diözese Rottenburg. Er erlebte zahlreiche politische Umbrüche: vom Kaiserreich über den Ersten Weltkrieg, die Weimarer Republik, das "Dritte Reich" und den Zweiten Weltkrieg bis zur Besatzungszeit. Überregionale Bekanntheit erlangte er, als er sich 1938 demonstrativ weigerte, an der Volksabstimmung und Reichstagswahl anlässlich der Annexion Österreichs teilzunehmen. Durch inszenierte Demonstrationen vertrieben die Nationalsozialisten den schon seit Jahren unbequemen Bischof als "Volksverräter" aus seiner Diözese – ein im deutschen Episkopat singulärer Fall. Erst nach Kriegsende konnte der schwerkranke Bischof aus seinem bayerischen Exil zurückkehren.

 Forschungsstelle für die Geschichte des Bistums Münster

Galen 75

Die Forschungsstelle bietet pro Semester eine Lehrveranstaltung zur Geschichte des Bistums Münster an der Katholisch-Theologischen Fakultät an. Außerdem wird sie die einschlägigen Akten in den vatikanischen Beständen heben, sondieren und auswerten, die zur Geschichte der Diözese nach der Archivöffnung im März 2020 zugänglich geworden sind. Der Sitz der Forschungsstelle befindet sich im zweiten Obergeschoss der Aegidiistraße 67. Ansprechpartner ist Dr. Matthias Daufratshofer, als Hilfskraft ist außerdem Pavlos Leußler im Projekt beschäftigt.

Institut für Religiöse Volkskunde e.V.

Volkskunde Bib 75Das Institut für Religiöse Volkskunde dient, seiner Satzung aus dem Jahr 1964 gemäß, der Förderung wissenschaftlicher Forschung zu den Gebieten der religiösen Volkskunde und der rheinisch-westfälischen Kirchengeschichte. Zur Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses schreibt das Institut alljährlich das "Alois-Schröer-Stipendium" aus.


WEITERE ABGESCHLOSSENE PROJEKTE

 Institut für die Geschichte des Bistums Münster

Galen 75Das Institut für die Geschichte des Bistums Münster wurde 2004 als Kooperationsprojekt zwischen der Diözese und der Universität Münster gegründet. Ziel war es, die Geschichte der Ortskirche des westfälischen Münsterlandes zu erschließen und in der Lehre zu präsentieren. Das Institut war zudem Ansprechpartner für Verbände und Institutionen des Bistums. Ein Schwerpunkt der Arbeit lag in der Rekonstruktion von Aktenbeständen, die im Zweiten Weltkrieg verlorenen gegangen waren. Erstlingswerke junger Autoren zur Geschichte des Bistums nahm die Buchreihe "Junges Forum Geschichte" in den Blick. In weiteren Projekten wurden die Archivalien der Visitatur Ermland erfasst, das "Westfälische Klosterbuch" fortgeführt und die Geschichte der "Wandernden Kirche" in der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus untersucht. Außerdem brachte sich das Institut mit einem Drittmittelprojekt in die Ausstellung Frieden. Von der Antike bis heute ein. Der Teilbereich "Frieden. Wie im Himmel so auf Erden?" thematisierte in Münster christliche Friedensvorstellungen sowie den Zusammenhang mit dem Judentum und dem Islam. Das Projektteam bildeten der Kurator  Dr. Thomas Fusenig, die Kuratorin Viktoria Weinebeck,  Elisabeth Lange und Katrin Toelle. Im Jahr 2020 wurde am Seminar für Mittlere und Neuere Kirchengeschichte die Forschungsstelle für die Geschichte des Bistums Münster eingerichtet, die in der Tradition des Instituts steht.

Päpstliches Zeremoniell in der Frühen Neuzeit (SFB 496, Teilprojekt B6)

Sfb Papstritual 75Mit dem Teilprojekt "Das Päpstliche Zeremoniell in der Frühen Neuzeit (1563-1789). Höfische Repräsentation, theologischer Anspruch und liturgische Symbolik" (B6) waren Prof. Dr. Hubert Wolf und das Seminar für Mittlere und Neuere Kirchengeschichte im Sonderforschungsbereich (SFB) 496 vertreten, dessen Förderphase am 31. Dezember 2011 abgelaufen ist. Im Zentrum stand die Frage nach der wechselseitigen Prägung von theologischen Wertvorstellungen und symbolischen Praktiken.

Der Vatikan und die Legitimation physischer Gewalt. Das Beispiel des Spanischen Bürgerkriegs (Exzellenzcluster "Religion und Politik", Projekt D9)

Cluster 75Die Bestände des Vatikanischen Apostolischen Archivs bieten ein schier unerschöpfliches Reservoir, um die weltumspannende Politik der katholischen Kirche in der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts mit Blick auf das Themenfeld "Religion und Gewalt" aus neuer Perspektive zu betrachten: Wie beobachtete und bewertete der Vatikan physische Gewalt in verschiedenen Ländern? Am Beispiel des blutigen Konflikts, der in den dreißiger Jahren das tief katholische Spanien zerriss, wird die Brisanz dieser Fragen besonders deutlich.