Master of Science Mathematics (PO 2020)

The central component of the master’s programme in Mathematics are the specialisation modules (18 CP each), of which there are eleven different types in the examination regulations 2020 (Ma-S1 to Ma-S11). If you wish to study the master’s programme without a minor subject, you need to complete three specialisation modules. If you wish to study the master’s programme in Mathematics with a minor subject, the minor subject replaces a specialisation module.

Further components of the master’s programme in Mathematics are:

  • The module Ma-V Broadening Courses, in which, among other things, courses can be selected that prepare for a specialisation module
  • The module Ma-E Specialisation Supplement and Research Skills, which is intended to tie in with a specialisation chosen by you, and prepares for the master’s thesis 
  • The master’s thesis
  • The module Ma-K Personal Enrichment, in which you can individually take courses also on interdisciplinary competences or in preparation for a possible doctoral degree (see below)

Planning individual study courses: The in-depth mathematics lectures you have already been able to attend during your bachelor’s programme have an influence on the planning of your individual course of studies for the M.Sc. Mathematics. The starting point of your M.Sc. Mathematics at the University of Münster (winter or summer semester) also has an effect on the possible course of studies. We recommend that you first refer to the pages of the different fields of specialisation for information about which of the specialisation modules Ma-S1 to Ma-S11 are of interest to you, which courses are offered for these modules in the next two semesters, and what prior knowledge is required for these modules. If you could already acquire the required prior knowledge during your bachelor’s programme, you might directly start with more than one specialisation module in the first master’s semester. If you have not yet been able to acquire the recommended previous knowledge for a specialisation module that you are interested in, you should first acquire this knowledge as part of the Ma-V Broadening Course.

  • Specialisation modules – Ma-S1 to Ma-S11

    The examination regulations 2020 list a total of eleven different specialisation modules (Ma-S1 to Ma-S11). Each specialisation module consists of

    1. One lecture with tutorial (4+2 SWS) – sometimes also called type I course
    2. One lecture without separate tutorial (4+0 SWS) or one seminar (2 SWS) – both are sometimes called type II courses

    Type II courses usually build on the content of a type I course. In addition, often more than one course per semester is offered for many specialisation modules, so that you can choose not only between the eleven specialisation modules, but also within these modules. You can find out here which courses will be offered in which specialisation module in the coming semesters.

    Important constraint when choosing your specialisation modules: all specialisation modules and all Broadening Courses (Ma-V) are assigned either to applied mathematics or theoretical mathematics. At least 9 CP from both areas (applied mathematics, theoretical mathematics) must be included in the final grade. If, for example, you choose all specialisation modules from theoretical mathematics, you must include in the final grade at least one lecture with tutorial from applied mathematics in the Ma-V Broadening Courses module. The lecture Partial Differential Equations I is assigned to both applied and theoretical mathematics.

  • Broadening Courses – Ma-V

    The Ma-V Broadening Courses module is to enable you to attend another “qualifying lecture” (e.g. Topology I, Partial Differential Equations I, Probability Theory I, Higher Algebra I etc.) in preparation for a specialisation module, or to broaden your mathematical knowledge independently of your intended specialisation modules. The Ma-V module consists of: 

    • One lecture with tutorial (4+2 SWS)
    • One more lecture with tutorial (4+2 SWS)

    In most cases, it is reasonable to attend two thematically independent lectures. A degree-relevant examination (written or oral) has to be taken for each of the two lectures.

    In the broadening module, these courses can always be selected: Differential Geometry I, Functional Analysis, Higher Algebra I, Topology I, Numerics of Partial Differential Equations I, Partial Differential Equations I, Probability Theory I and Logic II. These courses are offered once a year. The courses Partial Differential Equations I and Probability Theory I are offered during the summer semester, the other courses listed above during the winter semester. Further broadening courses will be marked in the course catalogue.

    Important constraint when choosing your Broadening Courses: all specialisation modules and all Broadening Courses (Ma-V) are assigned either to applied mathematics or theoretical mathematics. At least 9 CP from both areas (applied mathematics, theoretical mathematics) must be included in the final grade. If, for example, you choose all specialisation modules from applied mathematics, you must include in the final grade at least one lecture with tutorial from theoretical mathematics in the Ma-V Broadening Courses module. The lecture Partial Differential Equations I is assigned to both applied and theoretical mathematics.

  • Specialisation Supplement and Research Skills – Ma-E

    Building on a specialisation module of your choice, the Ma-E Specialisation Supplement and Research Skills module is designed to prepare you for the master’s thesis. The Ma-E module consists of:

    1. One lecture (if necessary with integrated tutorial) of 4+0 SWS or a seminar/reading course (2 SWS)
    2. One advanced research seminar or exclusive tutorial (“Privatissimum”)

    The selection of courses in the Ma-E module is to be discussed with a lecturer who is a potential master’s thesis supervisor of yours. For registration of the courses at the Examinations Office, the courses agreed upon will be recorded on a form. You will find the form on the Examinations Office’s pages (here).

  • Personal Enrichment – Ma-K

    The Ma-K Personal Enrichment module (6 CP) offers the possibility of giving the studies an individual interdisciplinary focus. The following are eligible, among others:

    • Courses from the Career Service of the University of Münster
    • One work placement
    • One tutoring activity (with associated tutor training), i.e., working as a teaching assistant/instructing the exercise sessions of a course at the faculty for one term
    • Language courses
    • Programming courses
    • Suitable* offers of the Mathematics Münster Graduate School (MMGS)

    * If you are interested in a certain offer of the MMGS and like to choose it for this module, please contact the examinations officer of the master's programme (Prof Dr. Martin Hils), who has to approve this choice before the offer/course starts.

  • Minor subjects

    The Master of Science Mathematics can be studied with or without a minor subject. The minor subjects are usually taught in German. These minor subjects can be selected: Computer Science, Logic, Biology, Chemistry and Physics as well as Business Administration, Economics, Philosophy and Psychology (the last four each with a limited number of places [de]).

Master of Science Mathematics (PO 2020)

Zentraler Bestandteil des Masterstudiengang Mathematics sind die Spezialisierungsmodule (je 18 LP), von denen es in der PO 2020 elf verschiedene (Ma-S1 bis Ma-S11) gibt. Möchten Sie den Masterstudiengang nebenfachfrei studieren, müssen Sie drei Spezialisierungsmodule absolvieren. Falls Sie den Masterstudiengang Mathematics mit Nebenfach studieren möchten, ersetzt das Nebenfach ein Spezialisierungsmodul.

Weitere Bestandteile des Masterstudiengangs Mathematics sind:

  • das Modul Ma-V Verbreiterung, in dem u.a. Veranstaltungen gewählt werden können, die auf ein Spezialisierungsmodul vorbereiten,
  • das Modul Ma-E Ergänzungen und wissenschaftliches Arbeiten, das an eine von Ihnen gewählte Spezialisierung anknüpfen soll und auf die Masterarbeit vorbereitet,
  • die Masterarbeit
  • und das Modul Ma-K Individuelle Kompetenzerweiterung, in dem Sie individuell auch Veranstaltungen zu überfachlichen Kompetenzen oder zur Vorbereitung auf eine mögliche Promotion belegen können (s.u.)

Planung individueller Studienverläufe: Welche vertiefenden mathematischen Vorlesungen Sie bereits in Ihrem Bachelorstudium hören konnten, hat Einfluss auf die Planung Ihres individuellen Studienverlaufs für den M.Sc. Mathematics. Ebenso Auswirkung auf mögliche Studienverläufe hat der Startpunkt (Winter- oder Sommersemester) zu dem Sie den M.Sc. Mathematics an der WWU beginnen. Wir empfehlen, dass Sie sich zunächst auf den  Seiten der einzelnen Spezialisierungsrichtungen darüber informieren, welche der Spezialisierungsmodule Ma-S1 bis Ma-S11 für Sie von Interesse sind, welche Veranstaltungen für diese Module in den nächsten beiden Semestern angeboten werden und welche Vorkenntnisse dafür notwendig sind. Wenn Sie die nötigen Vorkenntnisse bereits in Ihrem Bachelorstudium erwerben konnten, spricht nichts dagegen, direkt im ersten Mastersemester mit mehr als einem Spezialisierungsmodul zu beginnen. Falls Sie für ein Sie interessierendes Spezialisierungsmodul noch nicht die empfohlenen Vorkenntnisse erwerben konnten, sollten Sie diese zunächst im Rahmen des Verbreiterungsmoduls Ma-V erwerben.

  • Spezialisierungsmodule – Ma-S1 bis Ma-S11

    Es gibt in der PO 2020 insgesamt elf verschiedene Spezialisierungsmodule (Ma-S1 bis Ma-S11). Jedes Spezialisierungsmodul besteht dabei aus

    1. einer Vorlesung mit Übungen (4+2 SWS) – manchmal auch Typ I-Veranstaltung genannt
    2. einer Vorlesung ohne separate Übungen (4+0 SWS) oder einem Seminar (2 SWS) – beides wird manchmal auch Typ II-Veranstaltung genannt

    Die Typ II-Veranstaltungen bauen meist inhaltlich auf einer Typ I-Veranstaltung auf. Für viele Spezialisierungsmodule wird zudem häufig mehr als eine Veranstaltung pro Semester angeboten, so dass Sie nicht nur zwischen den elf Spezialisierungsmodulen, sondern auch innerhalb dieser Module Wahlmöglichkeiten haben. Darüber, welche Veranstaltungen in den kommenden Semestern in welchem Spezialisierungsmodul angeboten wird, können Sie sich hier informieren.

    Wichtige Randbedingung bei der Wahl Ihrer Spezialisierungsmodule: Alle Spezialisierungsmodule und alle Veranstaltungen in der Verbreiterung (Ma-V) sind entweder der angewandten Mathematik oder der theoretischen Mathematik zugeordnet. Aus beiden Bereichen (angewandte Mathematik, theoretische Mathematik) müssen am Ende mindestens 9 LP in die Endnote eingehen. Wenn Sie z.B. alle Spezialisierungsmodule aus der theoretischen Mathematik wählen, müssen Sie also mindestens eine Vorlesung mit Übungen aus der angewandten Mathematik im Modul Ma-V Verbreiterung in die Endnote eingehen lassen. Die Vorlesung Partielle Differentialgleichungen I ist dabei sowohl der angewandten als auch der theoretischen Mathematik zugeordnet.

  • Verbreiterung – Ma-V

    Das Modul Ma-V Verbreiterung soll Ihnen ermöglichen, in Vorbereitung auf ein Spezialisierungsmodul noch eine "qualifizierende Vorlesung" (z.B. Topologie I, Partielle Differentialgleichungen I, Wahrscheinlichkeitstheorie I, Höhere Algebra I etc.) zu belegen oder aber unabhängig von Ihren angestrebten Spezialisierungsmodulen Ihr mathematisches Wissen zu verbreitern. Das Modul Ma-V besteht aus

    • einer Vorlesung mit Übung (4+2 SWS)
    • noch einer Vorlesung mit Übung (4+2 SWS)

    In den allermeisten Fällen ist es dabei sinnvoll, zwei thematisch unabhängige Vorlesungen zu belegen. Zu beiden Vorlesungen ist jeweils eine Prüfungsleistung (Klausur oder mündliche Prüfung) abzulegen.

    Wählbar in der Verbreiterung sind immer die Veranstaltungen: Differentialgeometrie I, Funktionalanalysis, Höhere Algebra I, Topologie I, Numerik Partieller Differentialgleichungen I, Partielle Differentialgleichungen I, Wahrscheinlichkeitstheorie I und Logik II. Diese Veranstaltungen finden einmal im Jahr statt. Partielle Differentialgleichungen I und Wahrscheinlichkeitstheorie I werden im Sommersemester angeboten, die anderen oben aufgeführten Veranstaltungen im Wintersemester. Weitere Verbreiterungsveranstaltungen werden jeweils im Vorlesungsverzeichnis gekennzeichnet.

    Wichtige Randbedingung bei der Wahl Ihrer Verbreiterungsveranstaltungen: Alle Spezialisierungsmodule und alle Veranstaltungen in der Verbreiterung (Ma-V) sind entweder der angewandten Mathematik oder der theoretischen Mathematik zugeordnet. Aus beiden Bereichen (angewandte Mathematik, theoretische Mathematik) müssen am Ende mindestens 9 LP in die Endnote eingehen. Wenn Sie z.B. alle Spezialisierungsmodule aus der angewandten Mathematik wählen, müssen Sie also mindestens eine Vorlesung mit Übungen aus der theoretischen Mathematik im Modul Ma-V Verbreiterung in die Endnote eingehen lassen. Die Vorlesung Partielle Differentialgleichungen I ist dabei sowohl der angewandten als auch der theoretischen Mathematik zugeordnet.

  • Ergänzungen und wissenschaftliches Arbeiten – Ma-E

    Das Modul Ma-E Ergänzungen und wissenschaftliches Arbeiten soll Sie aufbauend auf einem Spezialisierungsmodul Ihrer Wahl auf die Masterarbeit vorbereiten. Das Modul Ma-E besteht aus

    1. einer Vorlesung (ggf. mit integrierten Übungen) im Umfang von 4+0 SWS oder einem Seminar/Lesekurs (2 SWS)
    2. einem Oberseminar oder Privatissimum

    Die Wahl der Veranstaltungen im Modul Ma-E sprechen Sie mit einer Dozentin/einem Dozenten persönlich ab, die/der für Sie als potentielle*r Masterarbeitsbetreuer*in in Frage kommt. Zur Anmeldung der Veranstaltungen im Prüfungsamt werden die abgesprochenen Veranstaltungen auf einem Formular festgehalten. Das Formular finden Sie auf den Seiten des Prüfungsamtes (hier).

  • Individuelle Kompetenzerweiterung – Ma-K

    Das Modul Ma-K Individuelle Kompetenzerweiterung (6 LP) bietet die Möglichkeit, dem Studium einen individuellen überfachlichen Schwerpunkt zu geben.

    Anrechenbar sind hier u.a.

    • Veranstaltungen aus dem Career Service der WWU
    • ein Betriebspraktikum
    • eine Übungsleitertätigkeit (mit zugehöriger Tutor*innenschulung)
    • Sprachkurse
    • Programmierkurse
    • geeignete** Angebote der Mathematics Münster Graduate School (MMGS)

    ** Falls Sie ein bestimmtes Angebot der MMGS interessant finden und für dieses Modul wählen möchten, ist diese Wahl durch Rücksprache mit dem Prüfungsbeauftragten des Studiengangs (Prof. Dr. Martin Hils) genehmigen zu lassen, bevor Sie das Angebot wahrnehmen.

  • Nebenfächer

    Der Master of Science Mathematics kann nebenfachfrei oder mit Nebenfach studiert werden. Die Nebenfächer werden dabei in der Regel auf Deutsch unterrichtet. Als Nebenfächer sind wählbar: Informatik, Logik, Biologie, Chemie, Physik sowie BWL, VWL, Philosophie und Psychologie (die letzten vier jeweils mit begrenzter Studienplatzanzahl [de]).