© AG Seis

RESEARCH GROUP
Analysis and PDEs
PROF. DR. CHRISTIAN SEIS

Institute for Analysis and Numerics
University of Münster

 

Office: Orléansring 10, 48149 Münster
Mail addess: Einsteinstr. 62, 48149 Münster
 
New Publication

Stefano Ceci's and my work on the motion of vortices in ideal fluids has been published in the Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society A. Founded in 1665, this is the oldest scientific journal published in English. Our paper belongs to a theme issue entitled "Mathematical problems in physical fluid dynamics".

New Preprint

It is known that the transport equation with Sobolev velocity fields has poor regularity properties: Solutions may propagate only derivatives of logarithmic order. In a new work with David Meyer, we approach this problem with the help of Littlewood-Paley theory, which deals with a decomposition of the solution into dyadic frequency blocks. Our results have implications on mixing rates, rates of enhanced dissipation and on the zero-diffusivity-limit. The preprint is available here: https://arxiv.org/abs/2203.10860.

New Preprint

In a joint work with Stefano Ceci, I have investigated the motion of vorticity fields in two-dimensional viscous fluids. Our results show the optimal rates of spreading of vortex regions due to viscosity. This is a neat improvement on the existing literature. The motion of the vortices itself was predicted by Helmholtz in 1858! Here's the preprint: https://arxiv.org/abs/2203.07185.

Summer School in Ulm

I am honored to have been invited as a mini course speaker at the Summer School Horizons in non-linear PDEs in Ulm.

New Preprint

In a joint work with Beomjun Choi and Robert McCann I have investigated the fast diffusion equation on a bounded domain. In this model, the diffusivity becomes singular at the domain boundary, over which the mass escapes completely in finite time.  We show a nice dichotomy for the extinction rates in rescaled variables: The rate is either exponentially fast (with a rate constant predicted by the spectral gap), or algebraically slow. Here is a link to the preprint: https://arxiv.org/abs/2202.02769

New Preprint

Víctor Navarro-Fernández and André Schlichting have finished a new work on optimal error bounds for finite volume discretizations of advection-diffusion equations with rough coefficients. They prove that the numerical error cannot be larger than the order of the mesh size, which is much better than the purely advective case. Here is a link to the paper: https://arxiv.org/abs/2201.10411.

New focus in reading seminar

We resume our reading seminar. We start the year with a focus on Random Dynamical Systems. You can find more information on this webpage under Advanced Topics in ANALYSIS & PDEs.

© AG Seis

ARBEITSGRUPPE FÜR
Analysis und Partielle Differentialgleichungen
PROF. DR. CHRISTIAN SEIS

Institut für Analysis und Numerik
Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster

 

Büro: Orléansring 10, 48149 Münster
Postanschrift: Einsteinstr. 62, 48149 Münster

 

 

 

Neue Veröffentlichung

Stefano Cecis und meine Arbeit zur Wirbeldynamik in idealen Fluiden ist in den Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society A veröffentlicht worden. Dies ist die ältesteste englischsprachige Fachzeitschrift, gegründet im Jahr 1665! Unsere Publikation gehört zu einem Themenband über mathematische Probleme in der Flüssigkeitsdynamik.

Neues Preprint

Es ist bekannt, dass die Transportgleichung mit Sobolev-Geschwindigkeiten sehr schlechte Regularitätseigenschaften besitzt: Es lassen sich nur Ableitungen logarithmischer Ordnung kontrollieren. In einer neuen Arbeit mit David Meyer zeigen wir dies mithilfe von Littlewood-Paley-Theorie, also durch Aufspaltung der Lösung in dyadische Frequenzblöcke. Aus unseren Ergebnissen lassen sich Schlüsse über Mischungsraten, verbesserte Diffusionsraten und den Null-Diffusion-Limes ziehen. Das Preprint befindet sich hier: https://arxiv.org/abs/2203.10860.

Neues Preprint

Zusammen mit Stefano Ceci habe ich eine Arbeit zur Bewegung von Wirbelfeldern in zweidimensionalen viskosen Flüssigkeiten fertiggestellt. Unsere Ergebnisse geben die optimalen Raten der Ausbreitung von Wirbeln aufgrund von Viskosität wider und stellen eine kleine, aber schöne Verallgemeinerung bestehender Resultate in der Literatur dar. Die Bewegung der Wirbel selbst wurde bereits von Helmholtz 1858 vorhergesagt. Hier geht's zum Preprint: https://arxiv.org/abs/2203.07185.

Sommerschule in Ulm

Ich freue mich als Sprecher eines Minikurses zur Sommerschule  Horizons in non-linear PDEs in Ulm eingeladen zu sein.

Neues Preprint

In einer Kooperation mit Beomjun Choi und Robert McCann habe ich schnelle Diffusionen auf beschränkten Gebieten untersucht. Bei diesen Prozessen wird die Diffusivität am Gebietsrand singulär, so dass die gesamte Masse in endlicher Zeit über den Rand abfließt. Wir finden eine schöne Dichotomie für die Raten der Auslöschung in reskalierten Variablen: Entweder ist sie exponentiell schnell (die Rate ist gegeben durch den spectral gap), oder algebraisch langsam. Hier geht's zum Preprint: https://arxiv.org/abs/2202.02769

Neues Preprint

Víctor Navarro-Fernández und André Schlichting haben eine neue Arbeit veröffentlicht, in der sie den numerischen Fehler von Finiten-Volumen-Approximierungen von Advektions-Diffusions-Gleichungen mit rauen Koeffizienten untersuchen. Sie finden, dass der numerische Fehler von der Ordnung der Zellgröße ist und somit viel kleiner als im rein advektiven Fall. Das ist das optimale Resultat! Das Preprint findet sich hier: https://arxiv.org/abs/2201.10411.

Neuer Fokus im Leseseminar

Wir starten wieder mit unserem Leseseminar. Dieses Mal gibt es einen Fokus auf zufällige dynamische Systeme. Mehr Infos in der Rubrik Lehre unter Advanced Topics in ANALYSIS & PDEs.