Theory platform Emotionality

Emotions are always coded historically and culturally. They shape the individual and collective construction of images of self and other, exacerbate or mitigate intergroup conflicts, and facilitate or hinder social ties. All fields of research in the Cluster of Excellence can be considered with regard to the relevance of emotionality. However, very different conceptual and theoretical traditions intersect here.

Following ancient rhetoric, for example, we can speak of “affects” to explain the formation of communities and groups. In the Middle Ages, the representation of emotions served to communicate decisions. In contrast, if we speak of “feeling”, then we are placing ourselves in the tradition of the modern conception of the subject, as it first developed in the late 18th century. “Emotion”, on the other hand, is the category used in a research current that is more oriented towards cognitive science.

The aspect of emotionality is of importance in various respects for the central question of the Cluster of Excellence concerning the role of religion as a motor of political and social change. For example, theory platform B examines the extent to which it is possible to speak of specifically religious emotions, whether phases of intensified religious affectivity can be observed, and which emotions were or are permissible and effective in discourse in the respective historical contexts. On the other, it investigates what effects religiously based emotions have at the individual and collective level, to what extent they fuel social conflicts or contribute to overcoming them, and which rhetorical and aesthetic processes and media in the visual arts, architecture, literature, religious texts and debate culture do they use to achieve their effects.

Theorieplattform E Emotionalität

Emotionen sind stets historisch und kulturell kodiert. Sie prägen die individuelle und kollektive Konstruktion von Selbst- und Fremdbildern, verschärfen oder vermindern Intergruppenkonflikte und ermöglichen oder verhindern soziale Bindungen. Alle Forschungsfelder des Exzellenzclusters lassen sich im Hinblick auf die Relevanz von Emotionalität betrachten. Dabei überkreuzen sich allerdings sehr unterschiedliche Begriffs- und Theorietraditionen.

Im Sinne der antiken Rhetorik lässt sich etwa von „Affekten“ sprechen, um Gemeinschafts- und Gruppenbildung zu erklären. Im Mittelalter diente die Darstellung von Emotionen der Kommunikation von Entscheidungen. Spricht man hingegen von „Gefühl“, so steht man in der Tradition der modernen Subjektkonzeption, wie sie sich erst im späten 18. Jahrhundert ausgeprägt hat. „Emotion“ wiederum ist die Bezugskategorie in einer eher kognitionswissenschaftlich ausgerichteten Forschungsrichtung.

Der Gesichtspunkt der Emotionalität ist für die Leitfrage des Exzellenzclusters nach der Rolle von Religion als Motor politischen und gesellschaftlichen Wandels in verschiedener Hinsicht von Bedeutung. So untersucht die Theorieplattform B, inwiefern man von spezifisch religiösen Emotionen sprechen kann, ob sich Phasen intensivierter religiöser Affektivität beobachten lassen und welche Emotionen im Diskurs in den jeweiligen historischen Kontexten zulässig und wirkmächtig waren oder sind. Zum anderen fragt sie, welche Wirkungen von religiös basierten Emotionen auf individueller und kollektiver Ebene ausgelöst werden, inwieweit sie soziale Konflikte anheizen oder zu deren Überwindung beitragen sowie mit welchen rhetorischen und ästhetischen Verfahren und Medien in Bildender Kunst, Architektur, Literatur, religiösen Texten und Debattenkultur sie ihre Wirkungen erzielen.