© Zentralbibliothek Zürich, K. E. Brashier; Vysotsky (Wikimedia); Dietmar Rabich (Wikimedia)

The Centre

The Käte Hamburger Kolleg “Legal Unity and Pluralism” (EViR) at the University of Münster (WWU) has been funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) since 2021. Fellows from all over the world, together with scholars from Münster, examine the dynamic tension between legal unity and pluralism from antiquity to the present. This is the first attempt to systematically investigate the phenomenon in its entire historical depth and across disciplinary boundaries.

We assume that legal pluralism has shaped societies of all epochs to varying degrees. At the same time, tendencies towards standardisation of law can be observed in all periods. We investigate the causes and ways of dealing with legal pluralism against the background of social change and cultural diversity. In addition to (legal) history, many other disciplines such as ethnology and sociology, as well as literature and religious studies, are involved in the Kolleg.

At the same time, our aim is to initiate debates about forms of coexistence and thus to demonstrate the social relevance of the humanities. By disseminating our research to the public, we encourage people to question common notions about law and social change, but also to reduce reservations about a new complexity of law.

Download Flyer (pdf file)

© Bildvorlagen: ZB Zürich; K.E. Brashier; Vysotsky, Dietmar Rabich (Wikimedia)

Das Kolleg

Das Käte Hamburger Kolleg „Einheit und Vielfalt im Recht“ (EViR) an der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster wird seit 2021 vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) gefördert. Fellows aus aller Welt erforschen hier gemeinsam mit Münsteraner Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern das dynamische Spannungsverhältnis zwischen Einheit und Vielfalt im Recht von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart. Damit wird erstmals eine systematische Untersuchung des Phänomens in seiner gesamten historischen Tiefe und über Fächergrenzen hinweg angestrebt.

Rechtsvielfalt, so unsere Annahme, hat Gesellschaften aller Epochen in je unterschiedlichem Maße geprägt. Zugleich lassen sich zu allen Zeiten Tendenzen zur Vereinheitlichung beobachten. Wir untersuchen die Ursachen von und die Umgangsweisen mit Rechtsvielfalt vor dem Hintergrund gesellschaftlichen Wandels und kultureller Diversität. Neben der (Rechts-)Geschichte sind viele weitere Fächer wie Ethnologie und Soziologie, Literatur- und Religionswissenschaften am Kolleg beteiligt.

Zugleich geht es uns darum, Debatten über Formen des Zusammenlebens anzustoßen und damit die gesellschaftliche Bedeutung der Geisteswissenschaften zu demonstrieren. Durch den Transfer unserer Forschungen in die Öffentlichkeit regen wir dazu an, gängige Vorstellungen über Recht und gesellschaftlichen Wandel zu hinterfragen, aber auch Vorbehalte gegenüber einer neuen Vielschichtigkeit und Unübersichtlichkeit des Rechts abzubauen.