Academic Advisory Board

The Academic Advisory Board supports the Kolleg’s Directorate and is responsible for selecting the fellows.

© privat

Prof. Dr. José Luis Alonso

University of Zurich

Prof. Dr. iur. José Luis Alonso has held the chair of Roman Law, Legal Papyrology and Private Law at the University of Zurich since 2017. Previously, he held professorships in Roman Law and Ancient History at the University of the Basque Country and the University of Warsaw. He is a member of the Société d'Histoire du Droit and has published various monographs and articles on Roman and Greek legal history. He is currently researching the phenomenon of legal pluralism in antiquity on the basis of papyri.

© privat

Prof. em. Dr. Keebet von
Benda-Beckmann

Max Planck Institute for Social Anthropology

Prof. em. Dr. Kebeet von Benda-Beckmann is an associate of the Max Planck Institute for Social Anthropology in Halle, where she led a project group on legal pluralism from 2000 to 2012. She has held an honorary professorship in Ethnology at the University of Leipzig since 2003 and in Legal Pluralism at the University of Halle-Wittenberg since 2004. Previously, she was a professor of Anthropology of Law at Erasmus University Rotterdam. Building on her extensive field research in Indonesia, she has published countless books and articles on legal pluralism, social security, human rights and law and development.

© privat

Prof. Dr. Thomas Duve

Goethe University Frankfurt

Prof. Dr. Thomas Duve is a professor of Comparative Legal History at the Goethe University Frankfurt. Since 2009 he has also been a scientific member of the Max Planck Society and director at the Max Planck Institute for Legal History and Legal Theory. After his habilitation at the University of Munich, he served as a professor of Legal History and History of Canon Law at the Pontificia Universidad Católica Argentina from 2005 to 2009. His research interests include the legal history of the Iberian monarchies in the early modern period, as well as global historical perspectives on European legal history.

© privat

Prof. Dr. Gerd Schwerhoff

Technische Universität Dresden

Prof. Dr. Gerd Schwerhoff has held the chair of Early Modern History at the TU Dresden since 2000 and is currently speaker of the Collaborative Research Centre 1285 “Invectivity. Constellations and Dynamics of Disparagement”. In 1997 he habilitated at Bielefeld University with a thesis on the phenomenon of blasphemy from theological, legal and social perspectives. His research interests include the history of criminality and deviant behaviour, the history of witch-hunts and public spaces in the early modern period.

© privat

Prof. Dr. Barbara Stollberg-Rilinger

Wissenschaftskolleg Berlin

Prof. Dr. Barbara Stollberg-Rilinger is the rector of the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin. Previously, she was professor of Modern History at the University of Münster from 1997 to 2018. She has published widely on early modern history, especially on the constitutional und cultural history of the Holy Roman Empire of the German Nation and on the exercise of power in the pre-modern era. She has received numerous honours for her research, including the Prize of the Historisches Kolleg, the Leibniz Prize and the Leipzig Book Fair Prize.

Wissenschaftlicher Beirat

Der Beirat unterstützt die Kollegleitung und ist für die Auswahl der Fellows zuständig.

© privat

Prof. Dr. José Luis Alonso

Universität Zürich

Prof. Dr. iur. José Luis Alonso ist seit 2017 Lehrstuhlinhaber für Römisches Recht, Juristische Papyrologie und Privatrecht an der Universität Zürich. Zuvor bekleidete er Professuren für Römisches Recht und Antike Geschichte an der Universität des Baskenlandes und der Universität Warschau. Er ist Mitglied der Société d'Histoire du Droit und hat diverse Monographien und Aufsätze zur römischen und griechischen Rechtsgeschichte vorgelegt. Aktuell erforscht er das Phänomen des Rechtspluralismus in der Antike auf der Grundlage von Papyri.

 

© privat

Prof. em. Dr. Keebet von
Benda-Beckmann

Max-Planck-Institut für ethnologische Forschung

Prof. em. Dr. Kebeet von Benda-Beckmann ist assoziiertes Mitglied des Max-Planck-Instituts für Ethnologische Forschung in Halle, an dem sie von 2000 bis 2012 eine Forschungsgruppe zum Thema Rechtsvielfalt leitete. Seit 2003 hat sie eine Honorarprofessur für Ethnologie an der Universität Leipzig und seit 2004 für Rechtsvielfalt an der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg inne. Zuvor war sie Professorin für Rechtsanthropologie an der Erasmus Universität Rotterdam. Aufbauend auf ihren ausgiebigen Feldforschungen in Indonesien hat sie unzählige Bücher und Aufsätze zu den Themen Rechtsvielfalt, soziale Sicherheit, Menschenrechte sowie Recht und Entwicklung veröffentlicht.

© privat

Prof. Dr. Thomas Duve

Max-Planck-Institut für Rechtsgeschichte und Rechtstheorie

Prof. Dr. Thomas Duve ist Direktor des Max-Planck-Instituts für Rechtsgeschichte und Rechtstheorie und seit 2009 wissenschaftliches Mitglied der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft. Nach seiner Habilitation an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München war er von 2005 bis 2009 Professor für Rechtsgeschichte und Geschichte des Kirchenrechts an der Pontificia Universidad Católica Argentina. Seit 2010 ist er Professor für vergleichende Rechtsgeschichte an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main. Zu seinen Forschungsinteressen zählen die Rechtsgeschichte der iberischen Monarchien in der Frühen Neuzeit sowie globalhistorische Perspektiven auf die europäische Rechtsgeschichte.

© privat

Prof. Dr. Gerd Schwerhoff

Technische Universität Dresden

Prof. Dr. Gerd Schwerhoff ist seit 2000 Lehrstuhlinhaber für die Geschichte der Frühen Neuzeit an der Technischen Universität Dresden und zurzeit Sprecher des SFB 1285 „Invektivität. Konstellationen und Dynamiken der Herabsetzung“. 1997 habilitierte er sich an der Universität Bielefeld mit einer Arbeit über das Phänomen der Blasphemie aus theologischer, rechtlicher und sozialer Perspektive. Zu seinen Forschungsinteressen zählen die Geschichte der Kriminalität und des abweichenden Verhaltens, die Geschichte der Hexenverfolgung sowie öffentliche Räume in der Frühen Neuzeit.

© privat

Prof. Dr. Barbara Stollberg-Rilinger

Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin

Prof. Dr. Barbara Stollberg-Rilinger ist Rektorin des Wissenschaftskollegs zu Berlin. Zuvor war sie von 1997 bis 2018 Professorin für Neuere Geschichte an der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster. Sie hat eine große Zahl an Publikationen zur Geschichte der Frühen Neuzeit vorgelegt, insbesondere zur Verfassungs- und Kulturgeschichte des Heiligen Römischen Reiches deutscher Nation und zur Herrschaftsausübung in der Vormoderne. Für ihre Forschungen wurden ihr zahlreiche Ehrungen zuteil, darunter der Preis des Historischen Kollegs, der Leibniz-Preis und der Preis der Leipziger Buchmesse.