© MHS

Opera Studio Münster

The Münster University of Music and Theater Münster have teamed up to establish the Opera Studio Münster at the start of the 2022/23 theatre season. The aim of the project is to offer comprehensive support to especially talented young singers transitioning from vocal training to an active opera career and to qualify them for a profession which not only requires high-level musical training, but also an extensive range of additional artistic and personal qualifications.

The Opera Studio Münster offers students the opportunity to gain real-world experience in a professional opera setting, accompanied by targeted instruction and mentoring offered by the Münster University of Music. Depending on their suitability and skills for certain roles, the singers will be directly involved in the opera productions at Theater Münster. They will be given parts to study and perform. The Opera Studio provides members with audition coaching and can help them produce digital application materials. The programme is supplemented by cross-genre projects, courses and workshops on various themes.

The Opera Studio serves to promote the early career ambitions of young, highly talented singers and combines professional stage experience with their artistic training in the “Master of Music – Music and Creativity” programme and the “Music Certificate Programme”. First-class artistic instruction and music theatre practice form the foundation for a future career in the opera business.

Over the course of the four-semester master’s programme or two-semester music certificate programme, the Opera Studio Münster offers outstanding bachelor’s-level music conservatory/university graduates the chance to kickstart their solo career in music theatre. A paid internship at Theater Münster offers Opera Studio members the chance to participate in professional productions and gain valuable practical experience on the opera stage.

© MHS, Peter Lessmann

Interested?

Theater Münster and the Münster University of Music invite students to apply for four available spaces in the Opera Studio at the start of the winter semester 2022/23.

Students enrolled in the four-semester master’s degree programme “Music and Creativity” or the two-semester “Music Certificate Programme” at the Münster University of Music are eligible to participate in the Opera Studio. Selected candidates will commence their internship at the Opera Studio on 11 August 2022.

To be eligible to apply, students must have gained admission to the master’s degree programme “Music and Creativity” with a major in singing or successfully completed the master’s degree programme “Music and Creativity” by the end of the summer semester 2022 and obtained a study place in the two-semester “Music Certificate Programme” with a major in singing.

Please apply for admission to the master’s programme or music certificate programme via our online portal by 15 April and submit an informal application via email to the Studienbüro/Examinations Office of the University of Music if you wish to be considered for an internship at the Opera Studio Münster.

View the call for applications for the Opera Studio Münster here.

Further important information about the Opera Studio Münster:

  • Institutions

    © MHS, Hanna Neander

    Münster University of Music at the WWU

    The Münster University of Music offers some 500 study places to students in all undergraduate and graduate courses of study. Its activities range from young talent promotion through the Youth Academy, artistic and pedagogically oriented bachelor’s and master’s programmes, teaching degree programmes for prospective music teachers at schools of general education, to certification of musical excellence in concert examinations and artistic doctoral study.

    Our programmes are taught by some 200 instructors, and students regularly receive additional training from renowned visiting artists.

    As one of five higher education institutions of music in the state of North Rhine-Westphalia, the Münster University of Music enjoys an exceptional status as both an independent faculty of the University of Münster (WWU) and a legally registered school of art.

    Students and instructors of the University of Music see themselves as an active and essential part of Münster’s urban culture and maintain close contact with the cultural organisations of the city and the Münsterland region.

    © Oliver Berg

    Theater Münster

    Theater Münster is a large municipal theatre with five artistic departments: music theatre, drama, dance, concert and youth theatre. It stages some 30 premieres and 600 productions every season in its large auditorium (Großes Haus), the smaller auditorium (Kleines Haus), the performance venue “U2” and various external venues in Münster.

    As a university town, central cultural hub in upper North Rhine-Westphalia and the historical site of the Peace of Westphalia, Münster and its modern theatre, built in 1956, offer an ideal environment for communicative and contemporary theatre productions which focus on past achievements, current issues and future challenges.

    Productions are planned with special emphasis on cross-departmental collaboration and digital working methods. In the music theatre department, a diverse repertoire ranging from Baroque masterpieces to contemporary music with new perspectives is presented at all the venues operated by Theater Münster. The dance department invites the audience to experience movement as a community-building element. The acting department presents the latest modern dramatic works, while its youth theatre strives to dismantle barriers and build bridges between generations. Last but not least, the concert department is devoted to presenting a diverse range of classical and contemporary musical compositions.

  • Academic programme

    © Christoph Schulte im Walde

    Master’s degree programme “Music and Creativity”

    The practice-oriented musical master’s degree programme “Music and Creativity” enables students to acquire in-depth, musical-artistic competence. The knowledge, skills and methods taught in the programme allow graduates to independently pursue their chosen occupation at the highest (artistic) level and creatively, practically and systematically shape the development of music. The standard duration of study for the master’s degree programme “Music and Creativity” is four semesters.

    Music certificate programme

    The music certificate programme offers students the chance to concentrate on a major subject for a period of two semesters. This allows them to comprehensively improve and expand their artistic abilities. At the same time, students may – upon prior arrangement – attend any of the courses offered at the Münster University of Music.

    You can find detailed information about the curricula and the skills graduate acquire in these programmes in the examination regulations for the master’s degree programme “Music and Creativity” and the examination regulations for the “Music Certificate Programme”.

    Members of the Opera Studio may take advantage of other courses offered at the Münster University of Music (e.g. scenic instruction, German and French diction etc.) and participate in (mixed-class) concerts in and outside the University of Music. If desired, students can also put together their own song programmes with accompaniment on a historical pianoforte from the Beetz Collection.

    To acquire additional qualifications, members of the Opera Studio can apply to participate in free elective courses (space is limited).

    Students complete their academic programme and participate in the Opera Studio in the buildings and premises of the Münster University of Music and Theater Münster. Both institutions are located downtown within a short distance from one another.

  • Coordinators

    © Oliver Berg, Theater Münster
    © Tolmein
    Golo Berg, General Music Director

    Dr Katharina Kost-Tolmein,
    General Theatre Director and Head of Music Theatre

     

     

    Singing instructors at the Münster University of Music
     
    Stefan Adam
    Mihailo Arsenski
    Prof. Annette Koch 
    Ines Krome
  • Contact

    © PicturePeople / Tolmein

    The contact partner for Opera Studio members at the Münster University of Music is Prof. Annette Koch (email).

    For questions concerning Theater Münster, please contact Dr Katharina Kost-Tolmein via Ms Laura Herder (email, tel.: +49 251 5909-106).

    For general questions concerning the Opera Studio and application modalities, please contact the staff at the Studienbüro at the University of Music.

    Postal address:
    Studienbüro/Prüfungsamt
    Musikhochschule Münster an der WWU
    Ludgeriplatz 1
    48151 Münster

© MHS

Opernstudio Münster

Das Theater Münster ruft zur Spielzeit 2022/23 zusammen mit der Musikhochschule Münster das Opernstudio Münster ins Leben, um besonders begabte junge Sänger*innen im Übergang zwischen Gesangsausbildung und Berufseinstieg als Opernsänger*in umfassend zu fördern und für einen Beruf zu qualifizieren, der neben einer musikalischen Ausbildung vieler weitere künstlerischer und persönlicher Qualifikationen bedarf.

Das Opernstudio Münster bietet seinen Mitgliedern die Möglichkeit, unter den Bedingungen eines professionellen Opernbetriebs Berufspraxis zu erwerben und dabei durch gezielte Lehr- und Betreuungsangebote der Musikhochschule begleitet zu werden. Die Sänger*innen wirken je nach Eignung in Produktionen des Theaters Münster mit. Sie übernehmen Partien und Studieraufträge. Zusätzlich bietet das Opernstudio Gelegenheit, Vorsingsituationen unter Anleitung zu trainieren sowie digitales Bewerbungsmaterial zu erarbeiten. Spartenübergreifende Projekte, Kurse und Workshops zu verschiedenen Themen runden das Angebot ab.

Das Opernstudio dient der Förderung junger, hochbegabter Sänger*innen und verbindet die künstlerische Ausbildung in den Studiengängen „Master of Music – Musik und Kreativität“ und „Zertifikatsstudienjahr“ mit professioneller Bühnentätigkeit. Erstklassige künstlerische Lehre und Musiktheaterpraxis bilden das Fundament für eine zukünftige Karriere im Opernbetrieb.

Das Opernstudio Münster bietet im Rahmen des vier Semester dauernden Masterstudiengangs oder des zweisemestrigen Zertifikatsstudienjahres hervorragenden Absolvent*innen von künstlerischen Bachelor-Studiengängen Gesang aller Musikhochschulen die Möglichkeit zum Einstieg in eine solistische Laufbahn im Musiktheater. Ein bezahltes Praktikum im Theater Münster bietet den ausgewählten Mitgliedern des Opernstudios die Gelegenheit in professionellen Produktionen mitzuwirken und erste praktische Berufserfahrungen zu sammeln.

© MHS, Peter Lessmann

Interessiert?

Zum Beginn des Wintersemesters 2022/23 schreibt das Theater Münster in Kooperation mit der Musikhochschule Münster vier Plätze für das Opernstudio Münster aus.

Ein Platz im Opernstudio Münster kann bei Aufnahme des viersemestrigen Masterstudiengangs Musik und Kreativität oder des zweisemestrigen Zertifikatsstudienjahres der Musikhochschule Münster am 11. August 2022 angetreten werden.

Bewerben kann sich jede Person, die sich erfolgreich für einen Studienplatz im Masterstudiengang Musik und Kreativität mit den Hauptfach Gesang bewirbt oder die bereits einen Abschluss im Studiengang Master of Music – Musik und Kreativität an der Musikhochschule Münster erbracht hat oder diesen bis Ende SoSe 2022 erbringen wird und sich erfolgreich für einen Studienplatz im Zertifikatsstudiengang Zertifikatsstudienjahr mit dem Hauptfach Gesang bewirbt.

Bitte bewerben Sie sich bis zum 15. April für das Masterstudium oder das Zertifikatsstudienjahr über das Online-Portal und für einen Platz im Opernstudio Münster zusätzlich formlos per Mail an das Studienbüro/Prüfungsamt der Musikhochschule.

Alle Details zur Ausschreibung finden Sie hier.

Sonst noch Wissenswertes zum Opernstudio Münster:

  • Die Institutionen

    © MHS, Hanna Neander

    Musikhochschule Münster an der WWU

    Die Musikhochschule Münster verfügt über gut 500 Studienplätze und bildet in allen grundständigen und weiterführenden Studiengängen aus: Von der Nachwuchsförderung in der Jugendakademie über das Studium in künstlerisch und künstlerisch-pädagogisch ausgerichteten Bachelor- und Masterstudiengängen, für das Lehramt an allgemeinbildenden Schulen bis hin zur Exzellenzausbildung im Konzertexamen und der künstlerischen Promotion.

    Die Studierenden werden von ca. 200 Lehrenden unterrichtet, Gastaufenthalte renommierter Künstler*innen ergänzen die Ausbildung.

    Im Verbund der fünf Musikhochschulen des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen nimmt die Musikhochschule Münster eine Ausnahmestellung als eigenständiger Fachbereich der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität in der rechtlichen Verankerung einer Kunsthochschule ein.

    Studierende und Lehrende der Musikhochschule verstehen sich als aktive und prägende Impulsgeber*innen der Stadtkultur Münsters und stehen im konstanten Austausch mit den kulturellen Einrichtungen der Stadt und des Münsterlandes.

    © Oliver Berg

    Theater Münster

    Das Theater Münster ist ein Fünfspartentheater mit den Sparten Musiktheater, Schauspiel, Tanz, Konzert und Jungem Theater. In jeder Spielzeit stehen im Großen Haus, im variablen Kleinen Haus, in der Spielstätte U2 sowie an externen Spielorten in Münster rund 30 Premieren und 600 Vorstellungen auf dem Spielplan.

    Als Universitätsstadt, Oberzentrum in NRW und Stadt des Westfälischen Friedens bietet Münster mit seinem modernen Theaterbau aus dem Jahr 1956 ein ideales Umfeld für kommunikative und zeitgenössische Theaterarbeit, die Geschichte, Gegenwart und Zukunft gleichermaßen in den Blick nimmt.

    Spartenübergreifende und digitale Arbeitsweisen werden wesentliche Akzente für die Planung setzen. In der Sparte Musiktheater wird ein breites Repertoire vom Barock bis in die Gegenwart mit neuen Perspektiven in allen Spielstätten des Hauses geboten. Die Sparte Tanz lädt ein, Bewegung als gesellschaftsverbindendes Element zu begreifen. Das Schauspiel legt seinen Schwerpunkt auf die Gegenwartsdramatik, das Junge Theater baut Hemmschwellen ab sowie Brücken zwischen den Generationen und die Konzertsparte widmet sich der Vielfalt der Musikliteratur aus Jahrhunderten bis heute.

  • Das Studium

    © Christoph Schulte im Walde

    Der Masterstudiengang Musik und Kreativität

    Der musikalisch-praktisch ausgerichtete Masterstudiengang Musik und Kreativität vermittelt den Studierenden vertiefte musikalisch-künstlerische Kompetenzen. Es werden Kenntnisse, Fähigkeiten und Methoden gelehrt, die es den Absolvent*innen ermöglichen, selbstständig auf höchstem (künstlerischen) Niveau zu arbeiten, Spezialgebiete zu vertiefen und die Entwicklung der Musik kreativ-praktisch und systematisch mitzugestalten. Die Regelstudienzeit des Masterstudiengangs Musik und Kreativität beträgt vier Semester.

    Zertifikatsstudienjahr

    Das Zertifikatsstudium bietet den Studierenden die Chance, sich für die Dauer von zwei Semestern maßgeblich auf das Hauptfach zu konzentrieren. Sie erhalten so die Möglichkeit, die künstlerischen Fähigkeiten umfassend zu erweitern. Gleichzeitig steht es den Studierenden nach vorheriger Absprache offen, Veranstaltungen des gesamten Studienangebots der Musikhochschule Münster zu belegen.

    Detaillierte Informationen zu den Studieninhalten und den zu erwerbenden Kompetenzen sind in der Prüfungsordnung für den Masterstudiengang Musik und Kreativität bzw. in der Prüfungsordnung für das Zertifikatsstudienjahr zu finden.

    Mitglieder des Opernstudios können über das jeweilige Curriculum hinaus weitere Angebote der Musikhochschule nutzen (z.B. Szenischer Unterricht, deutsche und französische Diktion). Ferner kann bei (klassenübergreifenden) Konzerten in und außerhalb der Musikhochschule mitgewirkt werden. Die Erarbeitung eigener Liedprogramme kann auf Wunsch mit Begleitung auf historischen Hammerflügeln aus der Sammlung Beetz erfolgen.

    Für den freiwilligen Erwerb weiterer Zusatzqualifikationen können sich die Mitglieder des Opernstudios zur Teilnahme an Lehrveranstaltungen aus dem Offenen Wahlbereich anmelden (begrenztes Platzangebot).

    Das Studium und die Teilnahme am Opernstudio werden in Münster an der Musikhochschule und in den Gebäuden des Theater Münster absolviert. Beide sind in der Innenstadt angesiedelt und über kurze Wege zu erreichen.

  • Die Personen

    © Oliver Berg, Theater Münster
    © Tolmein
    Golo Berg, Generalmusikdirektor

    Dr. Katharina Kost-Tolmein,
    Generalintendantin und Leitung Musiktheater

     
    Die Lehrenden für Gesang an der Musikhochschule Münster
     
    Stefan Adam
    Mihailo Arsenski
    Prof.‘in Annette Koch 
    Ines Krome
  • Kontakt

    © PicturePeople / Tolmein

    Ansprechpartnerin für die Mitglieder des Opernstudios innerhalb der Musikhochschule ist Prof.‘in Annette Koch (E-Mail).

    Von Seiten des Theaters steht Dr. Katharina Kost-Tolmein für Fragen zur Verfügung, Kontakt über Laura Herder (E-Mail, Tel.: 0251-5909-106).

    Allgemeine Fragen zum Opernstudio und zum Bewerbungsverfahren beantwortet gerne das Team des Studienbüros an der Musikhochschule.

    Postanschrift:
    Studienbüro/Prüfungsamt
    Musikhochschule Münster an der WWU
    Ludgeriplatz 1
    48151 Münster