© MHS

Orchestral Academy of Münster

The Orchestral Academy of Münster, now currently under development, is a joint project by the Münster University of Music at the WWU and the Sinfonieorchester Münster.

The Orchestral Academy combines top-quality artistic instruction provided by international professors at the University of Music with first-rate orchestral practice. It is one of the world’s first educational institutions for future orchestral musicians that interlinks higher education for prospective musicians with practical, on-the-job experience with a professional orchestra.

Students in the Orchestral Academy of Münster participate in a four-semester master’s degree programme, during which they gain extensive specialisation and preparation for a future career as an orchestral musician. To be eligible for admission, candidates should have achieved top marks in their artistic bachelor’s programmes at a college or university of music and foresee a future working in an orchestra.

© Pixabay

Interested?

New information coming soon.

At the beginning of the winter semester 2021/22, the Orchestral Academy will award 10 scholarships for orchestral instruments (all string instruments, trumpet, horn, flute, oboe, percussion).

The Academy Scholarship is integrated into the four-semester master’s degree programme “Music and Creativity” offered by the Münster University of Music.

First, apply for admission for a place in the master’s programme via our online portal, and then submit an informal application for an Academy Scholarship via email to the Studienbüro.

For more details, please read the call for applications here.

In the following, you will find further information about the Orchestral Academy of Münster.

  • Participating institutions

    © Hubertus Wittmers

    Münster University of Music at the WWU

    The Münster University of Music offers some 500 study places to students in all undergraduate and graduate courses of study. Its activities range from young talent promotion through the Youth Academy, artistic and pedagogically oriented bachelor’s and master’s programmes, teaching degree programmes for prospective music teachers at schools of general education, to certification of musical excellence in concert examinations and artistic doctoral study.

    Students are taught by some 200 instructors and receive additional training from renowned visiting artists.

    As one of five higher education institutions of music in the state of North Rhine-Westphalia, the Münster University of Music enjoys an exceptional status as both an independent faculty of the University of Münster (WWU) and a legally registered school of art.

    Students and instructors of the University of Music see themselves as an active and essential part of Münster’s urban culture and maintain close contact with the cultural organisations of the city and the Münsterland region.

    © Oliver Berg

    Sinfonieorchester Münster

    The Sinfonieorchester Münster (TVK-B) performs around 80 concerts per season and six music theatre productions at the Theater Münster.

    In addition to the great symphonic works of the last three centuries, its repertoire includes a diverse spectrum ranging from chamber concerts, children’s, choral and cinema concerts to large open-air performances. Most of the concerts take place at the Theater Münster.

    In 2019 the orchestra celebrated its 100th anniversary. Its general music director is Golo Berg.

  • © Peter Lessmann

    Study programme

    The master’s degree programme “Music and Creativity”

    The practice-oriented musical master’s degree programme “Music and Creativity” enables students to acquire in-depth, musical-artistic competence. The knowledge, skills and methods taught in the programme allow graduates to independently pursue their chosen occupation at the highest (artistic) level and creatively, practically and systematically shape the development of music. The standard duration of study for the master’s degree programme “Music and Creativity” is four semesters.

    Beyond the regular curriculum of the master’s programme, Academy members may also take advantage of other programmes and events offered by the University of Music. Depending on space and availability, these can include:

    Audition coaching and orchestral studies
    Instructors of the University of Music work with students to prepare them for upcoming auditions, for example, by holding mock auditions. Academy members can also register for the “Orchestral Studies” course. In each respective instrumental group, students are taught to analyse and practise relevant works and passages of orchestral literature. By means of repertory rehearsals, students gain a broad-based knowledge of the orchestral repertory and an understanding for the overall context of their audition passages.

    Chamber music
    Academy participants can train with members of the Sinfonieorchester Münster and specialists from the University of Music in small groups to gain experience with the performance requirements of chamber music ensembles.

    Orchestra projects
    Orchestral Academy participants play an integral role in concerts performed by the University’s own orchestra. During the core year of the master’s degree programme, participants perform up to 15 concerts and opera productions of the Sinfonieorchester Münster.

    Academy members may also choose to gain additional qualifications by participating in various courses and seminars, e.g.

    • systemic business planning including musicians’ rights
    • performance training
    • applied music psychology
    • Feldenkrais, Alexander technique
    • communication and time management, and other seminars offered in cooperation with the WWU Careers Service

    For further details on the curriculum and the skills students are expected to acquire, please read the examination regulations of the master‘s degree programme “Music and Creativity”.

    Students complete the master’s programme and Academy phase in Münster at the University of Music and at venues of the Theater Münster. Both are situated downtown a short distance from one another.

  • Conductor and instructors

    © Peter Lessmann

    General music director Golo Berg

    Born in Weimar, Golo Berg studied music at the College of Music “Franz Liszt” in Weimar. There he gained advanced training in master courses taught by Lorin Maazel, Michael Gielen, Gerd Albrecht, Dmitri Kitajenko and other distinguished conductors. At the age of 21, he was appointed as the world’s youngest principal conductor at the Landestheater Mecklenburg. He later accepted appointments as general music director and principal conductor of the Städtebundtheater Hof / Hofer Symphonikern and as general music director of the Anhaltisches Theater Dessau and the Theater Vorpommern. In 2017 he was named general music director of the city of Münster. Golo Berg has performed in numerous radio broadcasts and produced a series of CDs which have received raving reviews by the trade press.

    Within the broad scope of his concert repertoire, his particular interest lies in works of contemporary music, many of which have been performed as world premieres under his direction. As an opera conductor, he is distinguished by an extensive repertoire; he has guest conducted at numerous opera houses, e.g. in Essen, Leipzig, Cologne, Mannheim and St. Gallen.

    Instructors for orchestral subjects at the Münster University of Music

    Violin: Prof. Martin Dehning, Prof. Midori Goto (first concertmaster in the Sinfonieorchester), Prof. Koh Gabriel Kameda, Seran Lim
    Viola: Prof. Tomoko Akasaka
    Violoncello: Prof Elisabeth Fürniss, Prof. Matias de Oliveira Pinto
    Double bass: Axel Ruge (substitute solo bass player in the WDR Symphony Orchestra)
    Trumpet: Thomas Stählker, Gernot Sülberg
    Horn: Felix Klieser
    Flute: Prof. Eyal Ein-Habar
    Oboe: Giorgi Kalandarishvili (solo oboist in the Sinfonieorchester), Klaus Lebowsky (oboist in the Sinfonieorchester)
    Percussion: Prof. Stephan Froleyks, Prof. Armin Weigert (solo timpanist in the Sinfonieorchester)

  • © MHS / Alex Marc

    Contact

    Prof. Koh Gabriel Kameda (right) is the contact partner at the University of Music for Academy members. Prof. Armin Weigert (left), who is also the solo timpanist in the Sinfonieorchestra, can answer any questions you have concerning the orchestra.

    For general questions about the Orchestral Academy and the application process, please contact the Studienbüro at the University of Music.

    Postal address:
    Musikhochschule Münster an der WWU
    Ludgeriplatz 1
    48151 Münster
    Germany

© MHS

Orchesterakademie Münster

Die in Gründung befindliche Orchesterakademie Münster ist eine gemeinsame Einrichtung der Musikhochschule Münster an der Westfälischen-Wilhelms-Universität und des Sinfonieorchester Münster.

Sie vereint die erstklassige künstlerische Lehre der internationalen Professor*innen der Musikhochschule Münster mit einer professionellen und hochkarätigen Orchesterpraxis. Damit ist sie einer der weltweit ersten Ausbildungsorte für künftige Orchestermusiker*innen, die musikhochschulische Angebote eng mit einem professionellen Orchester verzahnen.

Für erstklassige Absolvent*innen von künstlerischen Bachelor-Studiengängen aller Musikhochschulen, die ihre Zukunft in einem Orchester sehen, bietet die Orchesterakademie Münster in vier Semestern eine umfassende Spezialisierung und Vorbereitung auf den Beruf des Orchestermusikers bzw. der Orchestermusikerin.

© Pixabay

Jetzt bewerben!

Zum Beginn des Wintersemesters 2021/22 schreibt die Orchesterakademie 10 Akademiestipendien für Orchesterinstrumente (alle Streichinstrumente, Trompete, Horn, Flöte, Oboe, Schlagzeug) aus.

Das Akademiestipendium ist in den viersemestrigen Masterstudiengang Musik und Kreativität der Musikhochschule Münster integriert.

Bitte bewerben Sie sich für das Masterstudium über das Online-Portal und für ein Akademiestipendium zusätzlich formlos per Mail an das Studienbüro.

Alle Details zur Ausschreibung finden Sie hier.

Sonst noch Wissenswertes zur Orchesterakademie Münster:

  • Die Institutionen

    © Hubertus Wittmers

    Musikhochschule Münster an der WWU

    Die Musikhochschule Münster verfügt über gut 500 Studienplätze und bildet in allen grundständigen und weiterführenden Studiengängen aus: Von der Nachwuchsförderung in der Jugendakademie über das Studium in künstlerisch und künstlerisch-pädagogisch ausgerichteten Bachelor- und Masterstudiengängen, für das Lehramt an allgemeinbildenden Schulen bis hin zur Exzellenzausbildung im Konzertexamen und der künstlerischen Promotion.

    Die Studierenden werden von ca. 200 Lehrenden unterrichtet, Gastaufenthalte renommierter Künstler*innen ergänzen die Ausbildung.

    Im Verbund der fünf Musikhochschulen des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen nimmt die Musikhochschule Münster eine Ausnahmestellung als eigenständiger Fachbereich der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität in der rechtlichen Verankerung einer Kunsthochschule ein.

    Studierende und Lehrende der Musikhochschule verstehen sich als aktive und prägende Impulsgeber*innen der Stadtkultur Münsters und stehen im konstanten Austausch mit den kulturellen Einrichtungen der Stadt und des Münsterlandes.

    © Oliver Berg

    Sinfonieorchester Münster

    Das Sinfonieorchester Münster (TVK-B) spielt pro Saison rund 80 Konzerte und sechs Musiktheaterproduktionen am Theater Münster.

    Neben den großen sinfonischen Werken aus mehr als drei Jahrhunderten findet sich auf dem Programm die ganze musikalische Vielfalt von Kammerkonzerten über Kinder-, Chor- und Kinokonzerte bis zu großen Open-Air-Veranstaltungen. Der Großteil der Konzerte findet im Theater Münster statt.

    2019 feierte der Klangkörper sein 100-jähriges Bestehen. Generalmusikdirektor ist Golo Berg.

  • © Peter Lessmann

    Das Studium

    Der Masterstudiengang Musik und Kreativität

    Der musikalisch-praktisch ausgerichtete Masterstudiengang Musik und Kreativität vermittelt den Studierenden vertiefte musikalisch-künstlerische Kompetenzen. Es werden Kenntnisse, Fähigkeiten und Methoden gelehrt, die es den Absolvent*innen ermöglichen, selbstständig auf höchstem (künst-lerischen) Niveau zu arbeiten, Spezialgebiete zu vertiefen und die Entwicklung der Musik kreativ-praktisch und systematisch mitzugestalten. Die Regelstudienzeit des Masterstudiengangs Musik und Kreativität beträgt vier Semester.

    Akademist*innen können über das Curriculum des Masterstudiums hinaus weitere Angebote der Musikhochschule nutzen. Dies können je nach Verfügbarkeit zum Beispiel folgende Veranstaltungen sein:

    Probespieltraining und Orchesterstudien
    Mit Lehrenden der Musikhochschule wird auf Probespiele vorbereitet, wobei u.a. auch Probespiele simuliert werden. Akademist*innen können sich zudem zur Teilnahme an der Lehrveranstaltung „Orchesterstudien“ anmelden. In den jeweiligen Instrumentengruppen werden für das Probespiel relevante Werke und Passagen der Orchesterliteratur analysiert und trainiert, durch Repertoireproben entsteht eine breit gefächerte Kenntnis des Orchesterrepertoires sowie der Probespielstellen im Gesamtkontext.

    Kammermusik
    Mit Mitgliedern des Sinfonieorchester Münster und Spezialist*innen der Musikhochschule können in kleiner Besetzung die verschiedenen Anforderungen des Ensemblespiels trainiert werden.

    Orchesterprojekte
    Die Orchesterakademist*innen wirken verbindlich bei Konzerten des Hochschulorchesters mit. Im Kernjahr des Masterstudiengangs spielen sie zudem mit bis zu 15 Diensten monatlich bei Konzerten und Opernproduktionen im Sinfonieorchester Münster.

    Für den freiwilligen Erwerb weiterer Zusatzqualifikationen können sich Akademist*innen zur Teilnahme an weiteren Lehrveranstaltungen anmelden. Dies können zum Beispiel sein:

    • Systemische Businessplanung inklusive Musikerrecht
    • Auftrittstraining
    • Angewandte Musikerpsychologie
    • Feldenkrais, Alexandertechnik
    • Kommunikations- und Zeitmanagement sowie weitere Veranstaltungen in Kooperation mit dem Career Service der WWU

    Detaillierte Informationen zu den Studieninhalten und den zu erwerbenden Kompetenzen sind in der Prüfungsordnung für den Masterstudiengang Musik und Kreativität zu finden.

    Masterstudium und Akademiephase werden in Münster an der Musikhochschule und in den Gebäuden des Theater Münster absolviert. Beide sind in der Innenstadt angesiedelt und über kurze Wege zu erreichen.

  • Die Personen

    © Peter Lessmann

    Generalmusikdirektor Golo Berg

    In Weimar geboren, erhielt Golo Berg an der dortigen Hochschule für Musik „Franz Liszt" seine musikalische Ausbildung, die er in Meisterkursen mit Lorin Maazel, Michael Gielen, Gerd Albrecht, Dmitri Kitajenko und anderen prägenden Dirigenten erweiterte. Am Landestheater Mecklenburg wurde er mit 21 Jahren zu einem der jüngsten Chefdirigenten weltweit ernannt, später wirkte er als Generalmusikdirektor und Chefdirigent am Städtebundtheater Hof / Hofer Symphonikern, als Generalmusikdirektor am Anhaltischen Theater Dessau sowie Theater Vorpommern. Seit 2017 ist er Generalmusikdirektor der Stadt Münster. Golo Berg spielte zahlreiche Rundfunkaufnahmen ein und legte eine Reihe von CDs vor, die von der Fachpresse durchgängig mit Höchstnoten bewertet wurden.

    Innerhalb seines breit gefächerten Konzert-Repertoire gilt sein besonderes Augenmerk dem aktuellen Musikschaffen, wovon zahlreiche Uraufführungen unter seiner Leitung zeugen. Als Operndirigent kann er auf ein äußerst umfangreiches Repertoire verweisen; Gastdirigate führten ihn u. a. an die Opernhäuser in Essen, Leipzig, Köln, Mannheim und St. Gallen.

    Die Lehrenden an der Musikhochschule Münster für die Orchesterfächer

    Violine: Prof. Martin Dehning, Prof.’in Midori Goto (Erste Konzertmeisterin im Sinfonieorchester), Prof. Koh Gabriel Kameda, Seran Lim
    Viola: Prof.’in Tomoko Akasaka
    Violoncello: Prof.’in Elisabeth Fürniss, Prof. Matias de Oliveira Pinto
    Kontrabass: Axel Ruge (stv. Solo-Bassist im WDR Sinfonieorchester)
    Trompete: Thomas Stählker, Gernot Sülberg
    Horn: Felix Klieser
    Flöte: Prof. Eyal Ein-Habar
    Oboe: Giorgi Kalandarishvili (Solo-Oboist im Sinfonieorchester), Klaus Lebowsky (Oboist im Sinfonieorchester)
    Schlagzeug: Prof. Stephan Froleyks, Prof. Armin Weigert (Solo-Pauker im Sinfonieorchester)

  • © MHS / Alex Marc

    Kontakt

    Ansprechpartner für Akademist*innen innerhalb der Musikhochschule ist Prof. Koh Gabriel Kameda (rechts). Auf Seiten des Orchesters steht der Solo-Pauker im Sinfonieorchester Prof. Armin Weigert (links) für alle Fragen zur Verfügung.

    Allgemeine Fragen zur Orchesterakademie und zum Bewerbungsverfahren beantwortet gerne das Team des Studienbüros an der Musikhochschule.

    Postanschrift:
    Musikhochschule Münster an der WWU
    Ludgeriplatz 1
    48151 Münster