Research at MEET

Embedded in the scientific network of the University of Münster (WWU), various scientific and engineering disciplines cooperate under the umbrella of the MEET Battery Research Center. The aim is to develop a holistic research approach through close interdisciplinary exchange and thus promote innovative ideas and synergies.

MEET benefits from WWU's many years of experience in materials science and material analysis, including Prof. Dr. Martin Winter's professorship "Materials Science, Energy and Electrochemistry" at the Institute of Physical Chemistry. The research network is supplemented by cooperation with external partners from science and industry.

MEET pursues a holistic, systemic research and development on electrochemical energy storage systems and transducers, which, in addition to synthesis and production, characterization and analysis of materials, components and cells, naturally also covers the various aspects of application, including economic efficiency, environmental impact and social impact. There is currently a focus on research into lithium ion batteries; in addition, future battery generations and alternative electrochemical storage devices and converters are under intensive development.

Division: Cell System
Division: Analytics and Environment
Division: Materials
Joint Groups

© WWU / MEET / J.Kraft

Multiple awards for a strong, interdisciplinary team

The researchers at the MEET Battery Research Centre share the results of their work at numerous conferences and symposia, both at home and abroad. The multiple papers produced by the research groups have already received several awards. At the same time, the interdisciplinary and international nature of their work offers an attractive field for junior researchers. The research work carried out is marked by strong collaborations – for example, with Helmholtz Institute Münster, the Department of Chemistry and Pharmacy at the University of Münster, the Research Fab for Battery Cells, or numerous national and international battery research institutions.

Forschung am MEET

Eingebettet in das wissenschaftliche Netzwerk der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität (WWU) Münster kooperieren unter dem Dach des MEET Batterieforschungszentrums verschiedene naturwissenschaftliche und ingenieur-wissenschaftliche Disziplinen. Ziel ist es, durch den engen interdisziplinären Austausch einen ganzheitlichen Forschungsansatz zu entwickeln und so innovative Ideen und Synergien zu fördern.

Das MEET profitiert dabei von der langjährigen Erfahrung der WWU in der Materialwissenschaft und Materialanalytik, u.a. durch die Professur „Materialwissenschaften, Energie und Elektrochemie" von Prof. Dr. Martin Winter am Institut für Physikalische Chemie.  Ergänzt wird das Forschungsnetzwerk durch die Kooperation mit externen Partnereinrichtungen aus Wissenschaft und Industrie.

Das MEET verfolgt eine ganzheitliche, systemische Forschung und Entwicklung zu elektrochemischen Energiespeichern und Wandlern, welche neben der Synthese und Fertigung, der Charakterisierung und Analyse der Materialien, Komponenten und Zellen selbstverständlich auch die vielfältigen Aspekte der Anwendung, inkl. Wirtschaftlichkeit, Umwelteinfluß, und gesellschaftlichem Impact umfasst. Derzeit liegt ein Schwerpunkt auf der Forschung zu Lithium-Ionen-Batterien; darüber hinaus werden die zukünftigen Batteriegenerationen und alternative elektrochemische Speicher und Wandler intensiv weiterentwickelt.

Bereich: System Zelle
Bereich: Analytik & Umwelt
Bereich: Materialien
Verbundene Gruppen

© WWU / MEET / J.Kraft

Vielfach ausgezeichnet: Starkes interdisziplinäres Team

Ihre Forschungsergebnisse teilen die Wissenschaftler*innen des MEET Batterieforschungszentrums auf zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Konferenzen und Symposien. Die Arbeiten der publikationsstarken Forschungsgruppen wurden bereits vielfach ausgezeichnet. Gleichzeitig bieten die interdisziplinären und internationalen Bereiche ein attraktives Arbeitsfeld für Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen. Hierbei prägen starke Kooperationen die wissenschaftliche Arbeit – wie mit dem Helmholtz-Institut Münster, die Anbindung an den Fachbereich Chemie und Pharmazie der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster, mit der Forschungsfertigung Batteriezelle oder zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Institutionen der Batterieforschung.