© Institut für betriebswirtschaftliches Management im Fachbereich Chemie und Pharmazie

ISBC Symposium

© Institut für betriebswirtschaftliches Management im Fachbereich Chemie und Pharmazie

To finish the current summer semester properly, the 7th isbc Symposium of the business chemists took place from the 12. 13.07.2018. Our students were presenting their two-month research on various topics of innovation management to their fellow students. The opening talk was held by Niklas Funke about the chemical startup Pinpools. In addition, Judith Bartsch received the "Best Paper Award" for the best preparation of her own research topic. With her theme "The Benefits and Challenges of Sustainability-Oriented Innovation in the Chemical Industry", she successfully prevailed against the other 20 students.

Design Thinking with P&G

© Institut für betriebswirtschaftliches Management im Fachbereich Chemie und Pharmazie

On the 15th of June 2018 we were able to welcome Frank Wiesmann (R & D Baby Care) from Procter & Gamble (P & G) back at our institute. As part of the visit, current business chemistry students were introduced to the concept of design thinking, a creative problem-solving technique, using real-life examples. They quickly learned what it means to place user wishes and needs at the center of the innovation process and thus to assume the role of the user.


Insight into the practice of a life insurance company - Volkswohl Bund Versicherungen

© IfbM

As part of the lecture series Fundamentals of Internal and External Accounting in the Master's program in Business Chemistry, Dr. Gerrit Böhm - Member of the Board of Volkswohl Bund Versicherungen Dortmund - gives the students exciting practical insights into the working methods of an insurance company. In addition to the accounting issues and peculiarities of an insurance company, the new Solvency II capital requirements were also discussed. The focus of the lecturewas also the question of the management of an insurance company on the basis of selected market scenarios. After the lecture, the students used the opportunity to ask for one or the other career tip in a relaxed atmosphere.

Market analysis with Daydream Consulting

© Institut für betriebswirtschaftliches Management im Fachbereich Chemie und Pharmazie

At the start of 2018, the business chemistry students of WWU had the opportunity to work with a renowned business consultancy, Daydream Consulting. Under the guidance of Mr. Lacombe and Mr. Prock the students evaluated the most promising business opportunities for companies within the chemical industry by means of applying the “Issue Tree” concept and qSWOT analysis. In so doing, they derived a new business development strategy for each company and presented their results to the audience.

Strategy and HR at Evonik

© Institut für betriebswirtschaftliches Management im Fachbereich Chemie und Pharmazie

How can a company drive digital transformation while developing the future competencies of people and organizations? During a practical day with the Evonik Industries AG on Friday, November 17, 2017, Rainer Gimbel (Digital Strategist) and Sarah Dittrich-Schlegel (HR Communication & Innovation) discussed this current issue. In his presentation Mr. Gimbel addressed the role of the digital knowledge worker as well as cultural aspects of the digital change. In an interactive phase, our students learned about John Stepper's Working Out Loud (WOL) concept and were able to try out the benefits of this method themselves.

Workshop with S&P Global in New York

© Institut für betriebswirtschaftliches Management im Fachbereich Chemie und Pharmazie

In December 2017 the rating team of the Chair met with Standard & Poor´s in New York for several workshops. In the course of these meetings, the participants discussed different topics in regard to the digitization in the rating and the resulting implications for the practice. The members of the Department presented their current research activities and results. The main topics were in the areas of corporate rating, new forms of data analysis with big data as well as opportunities and risks through FinTech development. These research areas attracted a high degree of interest from the company's representatives. The interlocutors of Standard & Poor ´ s were Tobias Mock (Managing director – Global Business Lead project simplify), Susan Gray (global head of corporate Ratings & IFR), Lapo Guadagnuolo (global head of analytics and research), James Wiemken (global head of methodology) and Mark Puccia (Managing director/Criteria Officer – Economics and Research). The participants of the Chair were Prof. Leker, Lukas Aaldering, Johannes Klein, Jan-André Pramann and Leonard Stuckenborg.
The Chair and Standard & Poor´s agreed to draw up a joint special issue on the topic "Digitization in Rating".

Grosse-Hornke Student Award in Business Chemistry 2017

© Dr. Peter Dziemba

During the ceremony of the master’s certificates on the 24th of November 2017 Christina Mrosek was honored with the student award in business chemistry for the best Master’s Thesis. For her excellent performance she received the € 1,000 prize, which was sponsored for the sixth time by the consulting firm Grosse-Hornke Private Consult.

In her Master's Thesis, Christina Mrosek tackled the challenge of fishing for relevant information in the constantly growing data pool to identify new application fields for a glass ceramic from the SCHOTT AG. In cooperation with the Frauenhofer Institute she developed a technology monitoring tool, which allows to systematically search through literature and data from all over the world aiming at discovering so far unknown business areas. Christina Mrosek used her tool to screen around 30,000 text files encompassing publications, patents, online and journal articles. By means of her analysis, she was able to identify relevant information and thus to detect two new application fields for glass ceramics.

The picture shows the awardee Christina Mrosek (middle) with Prof. Dr. Jens Leker (University of Münster) and Dr. Sebastian Eidam (Grosse-Hornke).

SCRUM with Senacor

© Institut für betriebswirtschaftliches Management im Fachbereich Chemie und Pharmazie

On Friday 27.10, we had the pleasure to welcome the IT consulting firm Senacor for an inspiring workshop about agile methods in software development. Volker Lesch and Klaus Ecklmayr presented the SCRUM concept in front of 25 students, who later applied it to develop a software tool with functionalities in diverse areas such as control of stock, research progress, and lab safety. Participants engaged in vivid discussions about which functionalities a minimum viable product (MVP) would have to include and were proud to present their product in front of the class.

Evonik Chemtrepreneur

© Institut für betriebswirtschaftliches Management im Fachbereich Chemie und Pharmazie

In the beginning of December a selected group of business chemistry students were guests of the CREAVIS, the strategic innovation unity of Evonik Industries. The day was all around the ‚Chemtrepreneur-Challenge‘, which refers to ‘Höhle des Löwen’ and faced the students with the defiance of product development and entrepreneurship in a company. With the support of advisors and their selected research topics, the teams developed a product as well as a business canvas, which were presented by a pitch ahead of a jury. Intensive and creative team work under time pressure created fascinating ideas and expected a fast learn willingness and ‘the power to create’. The team with the topic 3D printing secured the victory and thereby next to the cup the chance to the admission to the Evonik Perspectives student support program.

Video-Podcast with the Chancellor

Die Kanzlerin Direkt Folge 17 17 1920
© Bundesregierung

Prof. Dr. Nathalie Sick discussed during the series “Die Kanzlerin direkt” (the federal chancellor direct) with Dr. Angela Merkel the topic batterie research from an innovation management point of view. She interviewed the federal chancellor about current challenges like the successful transfer of results from the battery research to the industrial application. A possible German or European cell production was object of the discussion as well. Furthermore, Prof. Sick and the federal chancellor spoke about possibilities to support the interdisciplinary collaborations necessary for battery research. Closing, Prof. Sick was interested in the opinion of the federal chancellor about the required qualities of women in a traditional man dominate world of work and how good role models for girls and women could look like.

For more than ten years the federal chancellor publishes every Saturday a podcast about current socio-political, economical or technical topics. That’s where she answers in a direct conversation with scientists, volunteers or companies, the most urgent questions about a wide range of topics like integration, voluntary fire brigade, digitization or the development of the European Union.

Nathalie Sick is junior professor at the institute of business administration at the department of chemistry and pharmacy of the WWU and leads the working group “innovation and technology management for energy storage” at the Helmholtz-Institute Münster (HI MS). The HI MS concentrates the competences in battery research of the Forschungszentrum Jülich, the RWTH Aachen university and the WWU.

Institut 2-1
© Institut für betriebswirtschaftliches Management im Fachbereich Chemie und Pharmazie

ISBC Symposium

Isbc Symposium
© Institut für betriebswirtschaftliches Management im Fachbereich Chemie und Pharmazie

Um das aktuelle Sommersemester abzuschließen, fand dieses Jahr bereits das 7. isbc Symposium des Studiengangs Wirtschaftschemie vom 12. bis 13.07.2018 statt. Studierende des Semesters präsentierten dabei ihre zweimonatige Forschung zu verschiedensten Themen des Innovationsmanagements ihren Kommilitonen. Eröffnet wurde das Symposium durch einen Vortrag von Niklas Funke über das Düsseldorfer StartUp Pinpools. Die Auszeichnung „Best Paper Award“ für die beste Aufbereitung des eigenen Forschungsthemas erhielt Judith Bartsch. Mit ihrem Thema „The Benefits and Challenges of Sustainability-Oriented Innovation in the Chemical Industry“ konnte sie sich erfolgreich gegen die anderen Studierenden durchsetzen.

Design Thinking mit P&G

P G Design Thinking
© Institut für betriebswirtschaftliches Management im Fachbereich Chemie und Pharmazie

Am 15.06.2018 konnten wir erneut Frank Wiesmann (R&D Baby Care) von Procter & Gamble (P&G) an unserem Institut begrüßen. Unsere Studenten der Wirtschaftschemie wurden dabei im Rahmen der Veranstaltung anhand realer Beispiele an das Konzept des Design Thinking, einer kreativen Problemlösungstechnik, herangeführt. Im Schnelldurchlauf lernten diese, was es heißt, Nutzerwünsche und -bedürfnisse in das Zentrum des Innovationsprozesses zu stellen und somit die Rolle des Anwenders einzunehmen. Insbesondere stellten sich die Studenten dabei der Herausforderung zwei wesentliche Perspektiven (F&E- und Marketing-Abteilung) in die Ausarbeitungen der Strategie einzubeziehen.

Einblick in die Praxis eines Lebensversicherers – Volkswohl Bund Versicherungen

Img 2309
© IfbM

Im Rahmen der Vorlesungsreihe Grundlagen des internen und externen Rechnungswesens im Masterstudiengang Wirtschaftsschemie eröffnete Dr. Gerrit Böhm – Mitglied der Vorstände der Volkswohl Bund Versicherungen Dortmund – den Studierenden spannende Praxiseinblicke in die Arbeitsweise eines Versicherungsunternehmens. Dabei wurde neben bilanzierungstechnischen Fragestellungen und Besonderheiten eines Versicherungsunternehmens auch auf die neu geltenden Solvenzkapitalvorschriften nach Solvency II eingegangen. Im Fokus der Betrachtung stand auch die Frage der Steuerung eines Versicherungsunternehmens anhand ausgewählter Marktszenarien. Im Anschluss an den Vortrag nutzten die Studierenden in lockerer Athmosphäre die Chance den einen oder anderen Karrieretipp zu erfragen.

Marktanalyse mit Daydream Consulting

Daydream 1 1
© Institut für betriebswirtschaftliches Management im Fachbereich Chemie und Pharmazie

Zu Beginn des neuen Jahres bekamen die Studierenden der Wirtschaftschemie einen Projekteinblick bei einer renommierten Unternehmensberatung. Mit Herrn Dr. Lacombe und Herrn Dr. Prock von Daydream Consulting aus Köln konnten die Studenten unter anderem das Konzept des „Issue Trees“ und der qSWOT-Analyse auf ein Projekt anwenden. Hierbei wurden Bewertungskriterien erarbeitet, anhand derer potentielle neue Märkte im Bereich B2B der Chemieindustrie analysiert wurden. Aufgeteilt in vier Gruppen erfolgte abschließend die Präsentation der Ergebnisse und Entscheidung für den jeweils attraktivsten Markt.

Strategie und HR bei Evonik

Wol Workshop Business Chemistry Students M _nster 1 1
© Institut für betriebswirtschaftliches Management im Fachbereich Chemie und Pharmazie

Wie kann ein Unternehmen die digitale Transformation vorantreiben und gleichzeitig die zukünftigen Kompetenzen von Mitarbeitern und Organisation entwickeln? Im Rahmen eines Praxistages mit der Evonik Industries AG am Freitag, den 17.11.2017, diskutierten Rainer Gimbel (Digital Strategist) und Sarah Dittrich-Schlegel (HR Kommunikation & Innovation) diese aktuelle Fragestellung. Im Rahmen des Vortrages wurde die Rolle des digitalen Wissensarbeiters sowie kulturelle Aspekte des digitalen Wandels besprochen. Außerdem lernten unsere Studenten das Konzept „Working Out Loud“ (WOL) von John Stepper kennen und konnten den Nutzen dieser Methode selbst erproben.

Workshop mit S&P Global in New York

Ny 2 1
© Institut für betriebswirtschaftliches Management im Fachbereich Chemie und Pharmazie

Das Rating-Team des Lehrstuhls traf im Dezember 2017 zu mehrtägigen Workshops mit Standard & Poor´s in New York zusammen. Im Rahmen dieser Meetings wurde mit Führungskräften über die Digitalisierung im Rating und die daraus resultierenden Implikationen für die Praxis diskutiert. Dabei stellten die Lehrstuhlmitarbeiter ihre aktuellen Forschungsaktivitäten und -ergebnisse vor. Die Themenschwerpunkte lagen in den Bereichen Unternehmensrating, neue Formen der Datenanalyse mit Big Data sowie Chancen und Risiken durch die FinTech-Entwicklung. Diese Forschungsschwerpunkte sind auf hohes Interesse bei den Unternehmensvertretern gestoßen. Gesprächspartner seitens Standard & Poor´s waren Tobias Mock (Managing Director – Global Business Lead Project Simplify), Susan Gray (Global Head of Corporate Ratings & IFR), Lapo Guadagnuolo (Global Head of Analytics and Research), James Wiemken (Global Head of Methodology) und Mark Puccia (Managing Director/Criteria Officer – Economics and Research). Teilnehmer des Lehrstuhls waren Prof. Leker, Lukas Aaldering, Johannes Klein, Jan-André Pramann und Leonard Stuckenborg.
Der Lehrstuhl und Standard & Poor´s vereinbarten ein gemeinsames Sonderheft zum Themenschwerpunkt “Digitalisierung im Rating” zu erarbeiten.

Verleihung des Grosse-Hornke Studienpreises der Wirtschaftschemie 2017

Grosse Hornke Preisverleihung 2017 2 1
© Dr. Peter Dziemba

Im Rahmen der diesjährigen Verleihung der Masterurkunden am 24.11.2017 wurde Christina Mrosek mit dem Studienpreis für die beste Masterarbeit im Fach Wirtschaftschemie ausgezeichnet. Für ihre exzellente Leistung in ihrer Abschlussarbeit erhielt sie den mit 1.000€ dotierten Preis, welcher bereits zum sechsten Mal von der Unternehmensberatung Grosse-Hornke Private Consult gesponsert wurde.

In ihrer Masterarbeit stellte sich Christina Mrosek der Herausforderung aus der stetig steigenden Datenflut relevante Informationen zu fischen und neue Anwendungsfelder für eine Glaskeramik der SCHOTT AG zu identifizieren. Für ihre Arbeit entwickelte sie in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Frauenhofer Institut ein Technologie-Monitoring, welches erlaubt, Fachwissen aus aller Welt gezielt zu durchsuchen und so bislang unbekannte Geschäftsfelder zu entdecken. Christina Mrosek betrachte mit ihrem Tool rund 30.000 Textdateien, bestehend aus Fachliteratur, Patenten, Online- und Zeitschriftenartikeln. Mit Hilfe ihrer Analyse gelang es ihr relevante Publikationen und Daten zu identifizieren und somit zwei neue Anwendungsfelder für die Glaskeramik zu ermitteln.

Das Bild zeigt die Preisträgerin Christina Mrosek (Mitte) mit Prof. Dr. Jens Leker (Universität Münster) und Dr. Sebastian Eidam (Grosse-Hornke).

SCRUM mit Senacor

Senacor 1 1 27 10 2017
© Institut für betriebswirtschaftliches Management im Fachbereich Chemie und Pharmazie

Den Studierenden der Wirtschaftschemie wurde am 27.10 in einem Workshop mit der IT-Beratungsfirma Senacor Einblick in agile Konzepte der Softwareentwicklung gewährt. Nachdem sie mit der sogenannten SCRUM-Methodik vertraut gemacht wurden, haben die 25 Studierenden interaktiv erarbeitet, wie eine IT-basierte Unterstützung für einen Laborleiter aussehen könnte. Die Berater Volker Lesch und Klaus Ecklmayr öffneten den Blick der Wirtschaftschemie-Studierenden für eine potentielle Beschäftigung in der IT-Beratungsbranche.

Evonik Chemtrepreneur

Chemtrepreneur 1 1
© Institut für betriebswirtschaftliches Management im Fachbereich Chemie und Pharmazie

Am 02.12.2016 waren Studierende der Wirtschaftschemie zu Gast bei der CREAVIS, der strategischen Innovationseinheit von Evonik Industries. Die ‚Chemtrepreneur-Challenge‘ stellte die Studierenden vor die Herausforderung der Produktentwicklung und dem Entrepreneurship im Unternehmen. Anhand ausgewählter Forschungsbereiche entwickelten drei Teams Produkte und einen Business Canvas, welche anschließend vor einer Jury bestehen sollten. Das Team zum Thema 3D-Druck konnte sich den Sieg und damit neben dem Pokal die Chance zur Aufnahme in das Evonik Perspectives Studierenden-Förderprogramm sichern.

Videopodcast mit der Bundeskanzlerin

Die Kanzlerin Direkt Folge 17 17 1920
© Bundesregierung

Prof. Dr. Nathalie Sick hat in der Reihe „Die Kanzlerin direkt“ mit Dr. Angela Merkel über das Thema Batterieforschung aus Sicht des Innovationsmanagements gesprochen. Sie befragte die Kanzlerin zu aktuellen Herausforderungen wie dem erfolgreichen Transfer der Ergebnisse aus der Batterieforschung in die industrielle Anwendung. Auch eine mögliche deutsche oder europäische Zellproduktion war Gegenstand des Gesprächs. Darüber hinaus sprachen Prof. Sick und die Kanzlerin über Möglichkeiten, die für die Batterieforschung notwendige interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit zu fördern. Abschließend hat sich Prof. Sick für die persönliche Sichtweise der Kanzlerin interessiert, welche Qualitäten Frauen in traditionell männerdominierten Berufswelten brauchen und wie gute Rollenbilder für Mädchen und Frauen aussehen können.
Seit mehr als zehn Jahren veröffentlicht die Kanzlerin jeden Samstag einen Podcast zu aktuellen gesellschaftspolitischen, wirtschaftlichen oder technologischen Themen. Dabei beantwortet sie im direkten Gespräch mit Wissenschaftlern, Ehrenamtlichen oder Unternehmern die drängendsten Fragen zu breit gestreuten Themen wie Integration, Freiwillige Feuerwehr, Digitalisierung oder die Entwicklung der Europäischen Union.
Nathalie Sick ist Juniorprofessorin am Institut für betriebswirtschaftliches Management im Fachbereich Chemie und Pharmazie der WWU und leitet die Arbeitsgruppe „Innovations- und Technologiemanagement für Energiespeicher“ am Helmholtz-Institut Münster (HI MS). Das HI MS bündelt die Kompetenzen des Forschungszentrums Jülich, der Rheinisch-Westfälischen Technischen Hochschule Aachen und der WWU in der Batterieforschung.

Weitere Informationen:
Zum Videopodcast von Jun.-Prof. Dr. Nathalie Sick und Dr. Angela Merkel
Jun.-Prof Dr. Nathalie Sick an der WWU Münster
Jun.-Prof Dr. Nathalie Sick am Institute of Energy and Climate Research, Bereich Helmholtz-Institute Münster: Ionics in Energy Storage (IEK-12)