Holistic Research – from the Material to the Complete Battery Cell

Division: Cell System
© MEET/Judith Kraft

Battery cells form the basis of our everyday lives, as well as blazing a trail into the future. Their components – anode, cathode, electrolyte and separator – have a decisive influence on performance, energy density, safety and lifetime. Analysing and optimising not only these central and, above all, highly complex units, but also their design and the relevant production processes, is the task of the Cell System research division at MEET Battery Research Center. With their particular focus on process analysis and optimisation, our researchers create not only a better understanding of the cell itself, but also the basis for efficient, cost-effective battery cell production. The work done by the MEET team is divided into three competence areas: Cell & Cell Design, Battery Ageing and Battery Safety.

Cell Production Made to Measure

© WWU / MEET

The market dominating lithium-ion battery is a major focus of research – MEET researchers also investigate pioneering technologies such as the lithium-metal or solid-state batteries. They focus on developing new production processes for tried-and-tested technologies, as well as for batteries of the future. The physical and electrochemical properties of these cells differ significantly from those of lithium-ion batteries – which means that production processes have to be adapted. Taking an overall view, our researchers analyse both the cells and the individual components as well as their manufacturing steps across the entire production process, ranging from electrode production and cell assembly to formation and ageing.

Our team is one of only a few research groups in Germany which combines battery cell production not only with the technical requirements but also with the chemical basis, thus delivering important findings for setting up successful battery cell production.
Dr. Markus Börner, Division Manager Cell System at MEET
  • Holistic Research at the Highest Level

    Taking a holistic approach to research enables us to trace reactions in the cell, and especially on particle surfaces, back to their origins and, on the basis of these findings, to reveal any potential for optimisation as regards cell performance and lifetime. Thanks to this holistic approach, the team of MEET researchers in the Cell System division has already developed new methods whereby thickness and composition of the solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) and of the cathode electrolyte interphase (CEI) can be precisely determined by means of X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy – an analytical challenge, as the interphases are often only a few nanometres thick.

    © WWU / MEET

    Besides optimised energy density, performance, lifetime and low costs, excellent safety properties are decisive for the success of new types of battery technology. One focus of the Cell System division is therefore on producing detailed findings regarding safety at all levels of the lithium-ion battery. This applies to materials, components and combinations, just as much as the complete cells at various scales – because only by taking the holistic view of potential interactions an intrinsically safe battery technology can be realised.

    Our researchers also place special emphasis on developing sustainable batteries. As a result, they are researching environmentally friendly processes in electrode production. One approach is the water processing of the anode and cathode materials: In the production of cathodes for lithium-ion batteries, expensive toxic organic solvents such as N-Methylpyrrolidone (NMP) are successfully replaced by water as a process solvent without any resultant drop in performance.

  • © MEET/Judith Kraft

    Application-Oriented Research with a Strong Network

    The holistic approach taken in our research is reinforced by close collaboration with the MEET research divisions Analytics & Environment and Materials, as well as the focus group Next Generation and the junior researchers group Mechanistic Understanding. Collaborations with the neighbouring Helmholtz Institute Münster (HI MS) – a branch of Forschungszentrum Jülich – and with other technical universities steadily extend our area of competence to jointly advance battery production.

    The work done by our Cell System team is highly application-oriented. The latest research findings are transferred into practice, with collaborations with small and medium-sized companies as well as with large international ones. The MEET researchers also contribute their expertise in battery cell production to the newly established Research Fab Battery Cells (FFB), unique in Germany and part of the Fraunhofer Institute for Production Technology IPT located in Münster. FFB’s aim is to bridge the gap between research and serial production. Amon others the basis for this is created by MEET’s detailed research results on battery cell production on lab and pilot-plant scale, as well as by cell design and cell characterisation.

Ganzheitliche Forschung vom Material bis zur vollständigen Zelle

Bereich: System Zelle
© MEET/Judith Kraft

Sie sind Grundlage unseres Alltags wie auch Wegbereiter für die Zukunft: die Batteriezellen. Deren Bestandteile, Anode, Kathode, Elektrolyt und Separator bestimmen maßgeblich Performanz, Energiedichte, Sicherheit und Lebensdauer. Diese zentralen und vor allem hochkomplexen Einheiten sowie ihr Design und die entsprechenden Produktionsprozesse zu analysieren und zu optimieren, ist Aufgabe des Forschungsbereichs System Zelle am MEET Batterieforschungszentrum. Mit einem besonderen Schwerpunkt auf der Prozessanalyse und -optimierung schaffen unsere Wissenschaftler*innen sowohl ein besseres Verständnis der Zelle selbst als auch die Grundlagen für eine leistungsstarke und kostengünstige Batteriezellproduktion. Die Arbeit des MEET Teams gliedert sich in die drei Kompetenzbereiche Zelle & Zelldesign, Batteriealterung und Batteriesicherheit.

Zellproduktion nach Maß

© WWU / MEET

Einen Forschungsschwerpunkt bildet die den Markt dominierende Lithium-Ionen-Batterie. Aber auch zukunftsweisende Technologien wie die Lithium-Metall- oder Feststoffbatterien werden von den MEET Wissenschaftler*innen untersucht. Dabei fokussieren sie sich darauf, neue Produktionsprozesse für bewährte Technologien wie auch Batterien der Zukunft zu entwickeln. Denn die physikalischen und elektrochemischen Eigenschaften dieser Zellen unterscheiden sich maßgeblich von denen der Lithium-Ionen-Batterie, sodass Produktionsprozesse angepasst werden müssen. Übergreifend analysieren unsere Forscherinnen und Forscher sowohl die Zellen als auch die einzelnen Bestandteile und deren Herstellungsschritte über den gesamten Produktionsprozess hinweg: beginnend bei der Elektrodenfertigung über die Zellassemblierung bis hin zu Formierung und Alterung.

Als eine von wenigen Forschungsgruppen in Deutschland verbindet unser Team die Batteriezellproduktion nicht nur mit den technischen Voraussetzungen, sondern auch mit den chemischen Grundlagen und liefert so wichtige Erkenntnisse für den Aufbau einer erfolgreichen Batteriezellproduktion.
Dr. Markus Börner, Bereichsleiter System Zelle am MEET
  • Ganzheitliche Forschung auf höchstem Niveau

    Der ganzheitliche Forschungsansatz ermöglicht es, Reaktionen in der Zelle und insbesondere auf den Partikeloberflächen auf ihren Ursprung zurückzuführen und auf Basis dieser Ergebnisse Optimierungspotenziale hinsichtlich Zellperformance und Lebensdauer aufzudecken. Mit Erfolg: Das MEET Wissenschaftsteam des Bereichs System Zelle hat dank seiner holistischen Herangehensweise bereits neue Methoden entwickelt, mit denen die Dicke und Zusammensetzung der Solid Electrolyte Interphase (SEI) wie auch der Cathode Electrolyte Interphase (CEI) mittels Röntgenphotoelektronenspektroskopie präzise bestimmt werden kann – eine analytische Herausforderung, da die Interphasen oft nur wenige Nanometer dick sind.

    © WWU / MEET

    Neben einer optimierten Energiedichte, Performance und Lebensdauer sowie möglichst geringer Kosten sind vor allem exzellente Sicherheitseigenschaften entscheidend für den Erfolg neuartiger Batterietechnologien. Somit liegt ein Fokus des Bereichs System Zelle darauf, detaillierter Erkenntnisse zur Sicherheit auf allen Ebenen der Lithium-Ionen-Batterie zu gewinnen: Das betrifft Materialien, Komponenten und Kombinationen genauso wie die vollständigen Zellen in verschiedenen Maßstäben. Denn nur eine ganzheitliche Betrachtung potenzieller Wechselwirkungen ermöglicht es, eine intrinsisch sichere Batterietechnologie zu konstruieren.

    Besonderes Augenmerk legen unsere Wissenschaftler*innen außerdem auf die Entwicklung nachhaltiger Batterien. So forschen sie unter anderem an umweltfreundlichen Prozessen in der Elektrodenfertigung. Ein Ansatz ist das wässrige Prozessieren des Anoden- und Kathodenmaterials. Dabei werden teure, toxische organische Lösungsmittel wie etwa N-Methylpyrrolidon (NMP) in der Kathodenherstellung für Lithium-Ionen-Batterie erfolgreich und ohne Leistungsverlust durch Wasser als Prozesslösemittel ersetzt.

  • © MEET/Judith Kraft

    Anwendungsorientierte Forschung mit starkem Netzwerk

    Eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit den MEET Forschungsbereichen Analytik & Umwelt sowie Materialien wie auch mit der Fokusgruppe Next Generation und der Nachwuchsforschungsgruppe Mechanistic Understanding untermauern den ganzheitlichen Forschungsansatz. Auch die Kooperationen mit dem benachbarten Helmholtz-Institut Münster (HI MS), einer Außenstelle des Forschungszentrums Jülich, sowie anderen technischen Hochschulen baut der Kompetenzbereich kontinuierlich aus, um gemeinsam die Batterieproduktion voranzutreiben.

    Die Arbeit unseres Teams System Zelle prägt dabei eine hohe Anwendungsorientierung. Neueste Forschungserkenntnisse werden in die Praxis überführt, für diesen Zweck bestehen Kooperationen mit kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen als auch großen internationalen Firmen. Ihr umfangreiches Fachwissen in der Batteriezellfertigung bringt das MEET Forschungsteam auch in die neu entstehende, deutschlandweit einmalige Forschungsfertigung Batteriezelle (FFB) ein, einem Institutsteil des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Produktionstechnologie IPT am Standort Münster. Ziel der FFB ist es, die Brücke zwischen Forschung und Serienproduktion zu schlagen. Die Basis dafür schaffen die unter anderem am MEET entwickelten detaillierten Forschungsergebnisse über die Batteriezellproduktion im Labor- und Pilotmaßstab, das Zelldesign wie auch die Zellcharakterisierung.