The Organisch-Chemisches Institut at WWU Münster within interdisciplinary and international networks
© WWU - OC

Research at the Institute of Organic Chemistry is deeply embedded within interdisciplinay and international networks. In addition to many individual national and international cooperation projects, as organic chemists we are contributing to interdisciplinary research centers, like the Collaborative Research Center, CRC 858 (Sonderforschungsbereich, SFB 858) "Synergistic Effects in Chemistry - From Additivity towards Cooperativity" or the Cluster of Excellence CiM "Cells in Motion".
These networks underline the strong connection of organic chemists to physicists and physicians in Münster. The Center for Soft Nanoscience (SoN) will further allow for extending these cooperations. Complementary to synthetic chemists Theoretical Organic Chemistry is heavily involved into our interdisciplinary activities in Münster. In order to promote the development and application of theoretical methods theoreticians are unified within the  CMTC (Center for Multiscale Theory and Computation).
All our effords imply a strong commitment to structured reseach training for our graduate students. Within the German-Canadian International Research Training Group (IRTG 2027) "New Trends in Molecular Activation and Catalysis" PhD candidates have the opportunity to carry out a part of their research within the international partner laboratories.

Das Organisch-Chemische Institut in interdisziplinären und internationalen Netzwerken
© WWU - OC

Forschung am Organisch-Chemischen Institut der WWU Münster ist tief verankert in interdisziplären und internationalen Netzwerken. Neben vielfältigen individuellen Kooperationen im In- und Ausland bringen wir unsere Kompetenz im Bereich der Organischen Chemie am Standort Münster in interdisziplinäre Forschungsverbünde wie dem Sonderforschungsbereich 858 "Synergetische Effekte in der Chemie - Von der Additivität zur Kooperativität" und dem Exzellenzcluster CiM  "Cells in Motion" ein. Hierin zeigen sich neben den Kollaborationen innerhalb des Fachbereichs 12 "Chemie und Pharmazie" starke Verbindungen zur Physik und zur Medizin.
Mit dem Center for Soft Nanoscience (SoN) werden diese Kooperationen weiter ausgebaut. Komplementär zu den synthetisch ausgereichteten Gruppen ist die Theoretische Organische Chemie in Münster stark in die Aktivitäten der interdisziplären Verbünde involviert und steht über das CMTC (Center for Multiscale Theory and Computation) in ständigem Austausch mit Arbeitsgruppen, die theoretische Methoden entwickeln und anwenden.
In allen Verbünden kommt der strukturierten Graduiertenausbildung der im Institut tätigen Promovierenden eine besondere Rolle zu, wobei im Deutsch-Kanadischen Graduiertenkolleg IRTG 2027 "New Trends in Molecular Activation and Catalysis" die Möglichkeit zur internationalen Projektaustausch schon während der Promotionsphase gegeben ist.