SoN Building
(C) Kresings, Münster

Soft Nanoscience

Center For Soft Nanoscience (SoN)

In nature, nanoscale building blocks of a cell self-assemble into highly dynamic hierarchical structures, a process that we understand as ‘life’. In particular, this self-assembly comprises a fault-tolerant and modular building process as well as the capability to repair damages, to constantly self-regenerate and finally even to self-reproduce. A precise and at the same time spatio-temporal dynamic arrangement of the single building blocks ensures biological function. Although concepts implementing rather simple functions are already known, today’s synthetic materials are still far away from realizing even partial aspects of the organization and function of natural biological systems. The defined control of this natural functionality in synthetic, biomimetic systems on a nanoscale will be a key competence in future nanoscience. In the long term, it will result in a variety of innovative approaches and ensure a target-orientated drug release, a controlled formation of interacting (cellular) systems and a production of novel functional materials, thus contributing in the conservation of resources. In Science with the few words of “How far can we push chemical self-assembly?” it was emphasized that the potential of self-assembly is one of the greatest scientific challenges of the new century (Science 309 (2005) 95) and postulated the further development of functional materials from nano- to mesoscales (Science 335 (2012) 1167).

The SoN research program aims for the investigation and the understanding of the fundamental preparation processes of biomimetic functional materials according to the molecular “bottom-up” fabrication principle. Regarding that wide range of thematic areas, first SoN’s research focuses on functional 3D nanomaterials as well as addressable (nano)container. The integration of experimental findings and theoretic models is crucial in terms of the understanding on a molecular level as well as the nonlinear processes of self-assembly. The research program itself is organized into two interacting research fields and one field of methods.  

Within the Research field A: Synthesis and self-assembly based on the model of nature soft nanomaterials are prepared in a hierarchical „bottom-up“ construction process using synthetic and natural molecular building blocks (carbohydrates, peptides, lipids, DNA, polymers).
Within the Research field  B: Controllable nanomaterials responsive nanomaterials are produced, that can be regulated in a spatio-temporal manner applying external stimuli and, thus, are accessible for a controlled influence, such as nanocontainer, molecular layer, gels and hybrid materials.

In both research fields procedures of the Method field C: Nanotools are essential to yield assemblies of the required precision, but also for a detailed characterization and understanding of the resulting assembly with regard to its structure and function. From today's perspective, the procedures of the nanofabrication as well as the significance of the nanoanalytics will be further developed. Moreover, together with Münster’s active research for quantitative technological consequences the immune reaction of nanomaterials is investigated and its social impact will be evaluated by the Center for Bioethics. SoN will occupy an international leading position within the research field of “biomimetic nanomaterials”.

Son Building2
(C) Kresings, Münster

Soft Nanoscience

Center for Soft Nanoscience (SoN)

In der Natur organisieren sich nanoskalige Bauelemente einer Zelle zu hochdynamischen hierarchischen Strukturen und in einer Weise, die wir ‚Leben‘ nennen. Diese Selbstorganisation beinhaltet vor allem einen fehlertoleranten, modularen Aufbau sowie die Fähigkeit, Schädigungen zu reparieren, sich also ständig selbst zu erneuern, und sich schließlich sogar selbst zu reproduzieren. Die präzise und dabei räumlich-zeitlich dynamische Anordnung der einzelnen Bausteine bewirkt die biologische Funktionalität. Auch wenn es Konzepte für einfache Funktionen gibt, sind heutige synthetische Materialien selbst von Teilaspekten der Organisation und Funktion natürlicher biologischer Systeme noch weit entfernt. Eine kontrollierte Beherrschung dieser natürlichen Funktionsweise in synthetischen, biomimetischen Nanosystemen wird zu einer Schlüsselkompetenz der künftigen Nanowissenschaften werden. Sie wird neben einer Vielzahl von innovativen Ansätzen auf lange Sicht eine zielgerichtete Freisetzung von Wirkstoffen, eine gesteuerte Bildung interagierender (Zell-)Systeme und die Fertigung von neuartigen Funktionsmaterialien erlauben, und so auch zur Schonung von Ressourcen beitragen. Das Potential der Selbstorganisation wurde in Science mit der knappen Formulierung „How far can we push chemical self-assembly?“ (Science 309 (2005) 95) zu den größten wissenschaftlichen Herausforderungen für das neue Jahrhundert aufgeführt, und in 2012 die Weiterentwicklung funktionalisierter Materialien von der Nano- zur Mesoskala gefordert (Science 335 (2012) 1167).

Das Forschungsprogramm von SoN zielt auf die Untersuchung und das Verständnis der grundlegenden Prozesse zur Herstellung von biomimetischen Funktionsmaterialien nach dem molekularen „bottom-up“ Prinzip ab. Aus diesem breiten Themenfeld wird die Forschung in SoN zunächst auf funktionalisierte dreidimensionale Nanomaterialien und adressierbare Container fokussiert. Wichtig ist die Integration von experimentellen Vorgehensweisen mit theoretischen Modellen, sowohl für das Verständnis auf molekularer Ebene als auch für die nichtlinearen Prozesse der Selbstorganisation. Das Forschungsprogramm ist in zwei vernetzte Forschungs- und ein Methodenfeld organisiert.

Im Forschungsfeld A: Synthese und Selbstorganisation werden nach dem Vorbild der Natur weiche Nanomaterialien durch einen hierarchischen „bottom-up“ Aufbauprozess aus synthetischen und natürlichen molekularen Bausteinen (Kohlenhydrate, Peptide, Lipide, DNA, Polymere) erzeugt.

Im Forschungsfeld B: Steuerbare Nanomaterialien werden Nanomaterialien erzeugt, welche räumlich und zeitlich durch externe Reize gesteuert werden können und somit einer kontrollierten Beeinflussung zugänglich sind, wie Nanocontainer, molekulare Schichten, Gele und Hybridmaterialien.

In beiden Bereichen sind Verfahren aus dem Methodenfeld C: Nanotools essentiell, um einerseits die Assemblierung mit der notwendigen Präzision zu erreichen und andererseits das Erreichte sowohl in der Struktur als auch in der Funktion mit höchster Präzisionzu überprüfen und zu verstehen. Sowohl die Verfahren der Nanofabrikation als auch die Aussagekraft der Nanoanalytiken werden über den heutigen Stand hinaus weiter entwickelt. Darüber hinaus werden mit der in Münster aktiven quantitativen Technikfolgenforschung an Nanomaterialien ihre Immunreaktionen untersucht sowie im Centrum für Bioethik ihre gesellschaftlichen Wirkungen abgeschätzt. SoN wird eine international führende Stellung im Forschungsfeld „biomimetische Nanomaterialien“ einnehmen.