Münster (upm)
Prof. Harald Fuchs<address>© private</address>
Prof. Harald Fuchs
© private

China awards "Friendship Award" to physicist Harald Fuchs

Chinese government honors nanotechnology experts for outstanding scientific contributions

Prof. Harald Fuchs received the "Chinese Government Friendship Award" for his long-standing scientific cooperation with China. The physicist of the University of Münster has been honoured with the highest award given by the Chinese government to foreign experts - this year there are 100 prize winners from 31 countries.

The official award ceremony with the Chinese Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Economy He Liu, Prime Minister Li Keqiang and the Chinese Head of State Jinping Xi took place during the celebrations for the Chinese National Day at the beginning of October in Beijing. With the Friendship Award, Harald Fuchs joins a list of prominent scientists, including Nobel Laureate Alan MacDiarmid.

Harald Fuchs' scientific focus lies in interdisciplinary research projects in nanoscience and nanotechnology, especially in the fields of scanning probe microscopy, high-resolution surface analysis techniques, self-organization techniques and surface chemistry. Harald Fuchs has already qualified numerous scientists who are now working at major universities worldwide, including China.

In cooperation with Chinese colleagues and employees, he has published research results in outstanding scientific journals such as Nature, Science, Physical Review Letters, Applied Chemistry or Advanced Materials, which have significantly strengthened the worldwide reputation of the University of Münster in the field of nanotechnology.

About the person:

Harald Fuchs is professor and director at the Institute of Physics at Münster University, co-founder and scientific director of the Center for Nanotechnology (CeNTech) Münster, speaker of the Collaborative Research Center Transregio TRR 61 and co-founder of the Center for Soft Nanoscience (SoN) at the University of Münster. He has been awarded the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany, First Class, for his achievements in nanotechnology, is an honorary professor at Nanjing Tech University in China and an honorary citizen of Jiangsu Province. He is also the initiator of the FOKUS initiative and a member of the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, the German Academy of Engineering Sciences (acatech) and the World Academy of Sciences (twas).

Further information