Teaching degree programmes

© willma... / photocase.com

Teacher training reform

Since the enactment of the law to reform teacher training (Lehrerausbildungsgesetz) in 2009, the degree programmes for prospective teachers in North Rhine-Westphalia have been restructured into a three-year bachelor's degree programme, a two-year Master of Education programme and at least a one-year preparatory service period. Students in WS 2011/12 were the first to enrol in the new bachelor's degree programmes for teachers. The University began offering the Master of Education programme on a regular basis in the WS 2014/15.

University Centre for Teacher Education

Logo ZflThe University Centre for Teacher Education (ZfL) at the University of Münster was established on 1 January 2004. Its first task was to oversee the so-called teacher training pilot project. Since 2009, the Centre has been actively involved in developing and implementing the new teaching degree programmes. The ZfL is is also involved in the areas of academic advice and coordination, practical phases, research, knowledge transfer and continuing education.

University Centre for Teacher Education [de]