Funding associations at the University of Münster

Supporting the University in its diversity

A large number of associations of friends and sponsors support projects at the University of Münster in the areas of research, teaching and culture.
Since 1918, the University Society Münster (Universitätsgesellschaft Münster e.V.) has provided interdisciplinary support to student organisations, cultural projects and model projects of excellence.
There are also a number of sponsoring associations that promote projects at the faculty level in specific subjects and institutes.

Universitätsgesellschaft Münster e. V.

© WWU - Peter Grewer

The Universitätsgesellschaft Münster e.V. (Friends of Münster University, formerly the Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität zu Münster e.V.) has been an integral part of the University since 1918. The non-profit organisation supports projects for which public funding is unavailable or insufficient.

Ten foundations with assets totalling 2.5 million euros and four prestigious research advancement awards provide individual grants to students, teaching staff and academic personnel. In addition to two endowment chairs, the Friends of Münster University also financed the construction of the student dining facility “Aasee Mensa”. Over the past 50 years, the Friends of Münster University have maintained the Landhaus Rothenberge, which several thousand members of the University have come to appreciate as an extraordinary location for seminars.

By becoming a member of the Friends of Münster University, not only will you be supporting a good cause, but more importantly, entering a closer partnership with the University of Münster from which you can directly benefit. In addition to receiving the University journal “wissen|leben” eight times a year, you can look forward to being invited to association meetings and exclusive events with the Rector. In this way, you can remain close to the University, make contacts with researchers, students and other friends of the University, and always stay on top of the latest developments.

Visit the website of Universitätsgesellschaft Münster e.V. (Friends of Münster University)

Faculty of Law (Fachbereich 3)

Freundeskreisrechtswissenschaft 120x120Freundeskreis Rechtswissenschaft - Verein zur Förderung der juristischen Ausbildung an der Universität Münster e. V.
Prof. Dr. Hans-Michael Wolffgang (Vorsitzender)
Universitätsstraße 14-16
48143 Münster
Tel. +49 (0) 251 83-22770
Fax +49 (0) 251 83-21820

SteuerkreisWestfälischer Steuerkreis e. V. (Institut für Steuerrecht)
Prof. Dr. Joachim Englisch (Vorstand)
Universitätsstraße 14-16
48143 Münster

Verein zur Förderung des Arbeitsrechts an der WWU Münster e.V.
Prof. Dr. Clemens Höpfner (Vorsitzender)
Georgskommende 14
48143 Münster
Tel. 0251 83-21831
Fax. 0251 83-21846

School of Business and Economics (Fachbereich 4)

Siedlungswohnungswesen 120x120Förderergesellschaft des Instituts für Siedlungs- und Wohnungswesen
Akad. Dir. Dr. Winfried Michels (Geschäftsführer)
Am Stadtgraben 10
48143 Münster
Tel. +49 (0) 251 83-22982
Fax +49 (0) 251 83-22970

Foerderkreisrechnungslegung 120x120Förderkreis Rechnungslegung und Steuern e. V. (Institut für Unternehmensrechnung und -besteuerung)
Prof. Dr. Christoph Watrin, StB (Vorsitzender)       
Universitätsstraße 14-16
48143 Münster   
Tel. +49 (0) 251 83-22880
Fax +49 (0) 251 83-21824

Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Bankwirtschaftlichen Forschungsstelle an der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität zu Münster e. V.
Prof. Dr. Andreas Pfingsten (Vorstandsmitglied)
Universitätsstr. 14 - 16
48143 Münster
Tel. +49 (0) 251 83-22860
Fax +49 (0) 251 83-22882

Münsteraner Gesprächskreis Rechnungslegung und Prüfung e. V.
(Institut für Rechnungslegung und Wirtschaftsprüfung (IRW) und  assoziiertes Forschungsteam Baetge)
Yannic Dust, M.Sc. (Geschäftsführer)
Universitätsstr. 14-16
48143 Münster
Tel. +49 (0) 251 83-28614
Fax +49 (0) 251 83-28601

Faculty of History and Philosophy (Fachbereich 8)

Antikekulturliteratur 120x120Münsteraner Freunde der antiken Kultur und Literatur (Institut für Klassische Philologie)
Prof. Dr. Christine Schmitz (Vorsitzende)
Domplatz 20-22
48143 Münster
Tel. +49 (0) 251 83-24561 oder 83-24550/59 (Sekr.),
Fax +49 (0) 251 83-25410

Foerdervereinmusiktherapie 120x120Förderverein Musiktherapie an der Universität Münster
PD Dr. phil. Rosemarie Tüpker (Gründerin)
Philippistr. 2
48149 Münster
Tel. +49 (0) 251 83-29291
Fax +49 (0) 251 83-25317

Volkskunde 120x120Gesellschaft für Volkskunde Münster e. V.
Prof. Dr. Uwe Meiners (Vorsitzender)
Scharnhorststraße 100
48151 Münster

Gesellschaft zur Förderung des Archäologischen Museums
der Universität Münster e. V. (GEFAM)

Im Hause der Gothaer Versicherung
Kolpingstraße 125
47166 Duisburg