► Latest news

informational event | qispos

Who feels unfamiliar with the WWU's digital examination administration (Qispos)?
On Tuesday, 22.11.2022 at 12 a.m. s.t. in room 501 (SoPoPool) there will be an information event where everything important will be discussed.

Students of all sociology and social sciences degree programmes can attend!

© IfS

Welcome freshmen

To all freshmen:
On Oct. 12, 2022, at 6 p.m., the Institute's faculty will come together and introduce themselves!
Snacks and drinks will be provided!

interim professorships

In the winter semester 22/23

  • Dr. Luigi Droste is the interim professor for methods and social structure analysis (former Prof. Dr. Weischer),
  • Dr. Gina Atzeni is the interim professor for theory building with a focus on social cohesion (Prof. Dr. Renn) and
  • Dr. Eylem Kanol is interim professor for sociology of religion (Prof. Dr. Michalowski).

DGS Congress 2022 | Presence of the IfS

The Institute is represented at the DGS Congress 2022 by many different contributions.
In addition to plenary lectures, section events, and ad hoc groups, individual Institute members are also organizing section events and ad hoc groups themselves. There will also be a book review as part of the Author-meets-critics series this time.

Appointment as Senior Professor | Prof. Dr. em. Christoph Weischer

Prof. Dr. em. Christoph Weischer has been appointed senior professor of the institute. Thus, the Institute continues to be broadly positioned with respect to the methods of social structure analysis. Furthermore, a universally respected colleague remains closely associated with the Institute.

Regulation on dealing with suppressed numbers

For the protection of the employees, FB06 does not accept calls with a suppressed phone number. If it is not possible for you to transmit your number for technical reasons, please contact the person you wish to speak to in advance by e-mail.

Election results | Board elections

The results of the elections to the boards of the institutes of Department 06 are available. They are valid for the term of office from 01 October 2022 to 30 September 2024 or 30 September 2023 (for students).

© IfS

Redesign courtyard | Benches & Tables

New benches and tables have recently been installed in the inner courtyard of the institute! Three table sets, two large benches around the plant troughs and a larger niche with seating invite you to linger, work, relax in the fresh air! Everyone is cordially invited to welcome spring there as well!

© IfS

Obituary | PD Dr. Monika Friedrich

The Institute mourns the death of long-time colleague PD Dr. Monika Friedrich, who succumbed to a serious illness. Monika Friedrich (March 1, 1941 - March 25, 2022) was employed at the Institute from 1974 until her retirement in 2006 as a research associate, professor (ret.) and private lecturer. In her teaching and research, she was extremely committed to an "interpretative approach" as she had become acquainted with it during her sociological studies in the USA. According to this approach, social reality does not represent an objective, describable order, but rather an ongoing interpretative process, at the center of which are the interpretations of meaning by the actors themselves. Methodologically, this paradigm corresponds to a qualitative approach based on the interpretations of the actors, as Ms. Friedrich taught at the Institute over many years and also applied in her own research.

We mourn the loss of a dear, committed and always helpful colleague.

© twitter.com

official Twitter channel of the institute online

The official Twitter account of the Institute is now online (@IfS_wwu).
There you can find, among other things, announcements of events at the institute (meetings, conferences, workshops, colloquia; summer festival, festivities), references to public appearances of institute members, to (ongoing) research projects as well as new publications that can be attributed to institute members.
Under "like", information is compiled that may be of importance to the institute's public (job advertisements, tweets by institute members, etc.).

Interested parties are invited to follow and participate!

Hints for tweets can be sent to: twitter.ifs@uni-muenster.de.

► Aktuelle Meldungen

Informationsveranstaltung | Qispos

Wer fühlt sich mit der digitalen Prüfungsverwaltung der WWU (Qispos) noch zu wenig vertraut?
Am Dienstag, 22.11.2022 um 12 Uhr s.t. im Raum 501 (SoPoPool) findet eine Informationsveranstaltung statt, bei der alles Wichtige dazu zur Sprache kommt.

Studierende aller Soziologie- und Sozialwissenschaften-Studiengänge können teilnehmen!

DGS-Kongress 2022 | Präsenz des IfS

Das Institut ist auf dem DGS-Kongress 2022 durch viele unterschiedliche Beiträge vertreten.
Neben Vorträgen im Plenum, Sektionsveranstaltungen und Ad-hoc-Gruppen organisieren einzelne Institutsmitglieder auch selbst Sektionsveranstaltungen und Ad-hoc-Gruppen. Eine Buchbesprechung im Rahmen der Reihe Author-meets-critics ist diesmal ebenso dabei.

Ernennung zum Seniorprofessor | Prof. Dr. em. Christoph Weischer

Prof. Dr. em. Christoph Weischer ist zum Seniorprofessor des Instituts ernannt worden. Damit ist das Institut auch weiterhin breit in Bezug auf die Methoden der Sozialstrukturanalyse aufgestellt. Es bleibt darüber hinaus ein allseits geschätzter Kollege eng mit dem Institut verbunden.

Regelung zum Umgang mit unterdrückten Nummern

Zum Schutz der Mitarbeiter*innen werden im FB06 Anrufe mit unterdrückter Rufnummer nicht angenommen. Sollte es aus technischen Gründen für Sie nicht möglich sein, Ihre Nummer zu übermitteln, nehmen Sie bitte im Vorfeld per E-Mail Kontakt mit der/dem gewünschten Gesprächspartner*in auf.

Wahlergebnisse | Vorstandswahlen

Die Ergebnisse der Wahlen zu den Vorständen der Institute des Fachbereichs 06 liegen vor. Sie gelten für die Amtszeit vom 01. Oktober 2022 bis 30. September 2024 bzw. bis 30. September 2023 (für die Studierenden).

Collage Außenbaenke
© IfS

Neugestaltung Innenhof | Bänke & Tische

Neue Bänke und Tische stehen seit Kurzem im Innenhof des Instituts! Drei Tischgarnituren, zwei große Sitzbänke rund um die Pflanzentröge und eine größere Nische mit Sitzgelegenheiten laden ab sofort zum Verweilen, Arbeiten, Entspannen an der frischen Luft ein! Es sind alle herzlich eingeladen, auch dort den Frühling zu begrüßen!

Kerze
© IfS

Nachruf | PD Dr. Monika Friedrich

Das Institut trauert um die langjährige Kollegin PD Dr. Monika Friedrich, die einer schweren Krankheit erlegen ist. Monika Friedrich (1. März 1941 – 25. März 2022) war seit 1974 bis zu ihrem Ausscheiden 2006 als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin, Professorin a.W. und Privatdozentin am Institut beschäftigt. Sie vertrat dabei in Lehre und Forschung äußerst engagiert einen „interpretativen Ansatz“, wie sie ihn in ihrem soziologischen Studium in den USA kennengelernt hatte. Demzufolge stellt die soziale Wirklichkeit nicht eine objektive, abbildend beschreibbare Ordnung dar, sondern einen fortlaufenden interpretativen Prozess, in dessen Mittelpunkt die Sinndeutungen der Handelnden selbst stehen. Methodisch entspricht diesem Paradigma ein qualitativer, an den Deutungen der Akteure anknüpfender Ansatz, wie ihn Frau Friedrich über viele Jahre am Institut vermittelt und auch in eigenen Forschungen angewandt hat. 

Wir trauern um den Verlust einer lieben, engagierten und stets hilfsbereiten Kollegin.

Twitter-qr
© twitter.com

offizieller Twitter-Kanal des Instituts online

Ab sofort ist der offizielle Twitter-Kanal des Instituts online (@IfS_wwu).
Dort finden sich u.a. Ankündigungen zu Veranstaltungen am Institut (Tagungen, Konferenzen, Workshops, Kolloquien; Sommerfest, Feierlichkeiten), Hinweise auf öffentliche Auftritte von Institutsmitgliedern, zu (an-)laufenden Forschungsprojekten sowie neuen Publikationen, die Institutsmitgliedern zugeschrieben werden können.
Unter "gefällt mir" werden Informationen zusammengestellt, die für die Institutsöffentlichkeit von Bedeutung sein können (Stellenanzeigen, tweets von Institutsmitgliedern u.a.).

Interessierte sind herzlich eingeladen, zu folgen und sich zu beteiligen!

Hinweise für tweets können gern gesendet werden an: twitter.ifs@uni-muenster.de.