Doctoral financing

Do you have any questions regarding the funding of your doctorate? We support you before and during your doctorate with individual advice on doctoral scholarships and offer a strategic review of your application. In addition to full scholarships for your doctorate, e.g. from the talent promotion programme, you can also apply for travel scholarships (research visits and conference/congress trips). We would be happy to advise you on this as well! During our workshops you can find out more about funding opportunities and get to know the funding providers.

News

• Boehringer Ingelheim Fonds: PhD Fellowships for projects in basic biomedical research, current deadline 01 October 2022

Gerald D. Feldman Travel Grants for (doctoral) researchers in the humanities and social sciences, current deadline 07 October 2022

• DAAD: Scholarships for international research stays [de], current deadline 15 November 2022 (for stays from April 2023 onwards)

Foundation for the Study of the Communist Dictatorship in Eastern GermanyDoctoral Scholarships [de] for projects dealing with the causes or consequences of the dictatorship in the Soviet occupation zone and GDR, current deadline 15 January 2023

Talent promotion programme

In Germany there are 13 BMBF-funded foundations with different orientations. They offer monthly full scholarships including lump sums to cover research, family and childcare expenses. In addition to very good academic performance, prospective scholarship holders generally have to demonstrate social commitment and identify with the orientation of the respective foundation. The funding period is initially two years. Extensions are possible. In addition to financial support, the scholarships also include non-material support for the scholarship holders and networking opportunities. Further information on the foundations, their orientation and funding criteria can be found in our download area and on stipendiumplus.

Foundations

In addition to talent promotion programmes, there are many smaller foundations, which promote specific fields or disciplines. The Deutsche Bundesstiftung Umwelt awards up to 60 scholarships annually to doctoral students of all disciplines who are working on research topics related to current environmental and nature conservation problems. The Gerda Henkel Foundation supports historical and humanistic research. We would be happy to assist you in finding the right foundation for you.

Financing within structured programmes

Structured programmes such as research training groups and graduate schools can be funded (position or fellowship) by the German Research Foundation (DFG) or the EU. Calls for applications are handled by the individual institutions. Members of a structured doctoral programme can also be financed with an external scholarship. Please refer to the regulations of the respective programme.

Promotionsförderung

Haben Sie Fragen zur Förderung Ihrer Promotion? Wir unterstützten Sie vor und während Ihrer Promotion durch individuelle Beratung zu Promotionsstipendien und bieten Ihnen eine antragsstrategische Durchsicht Ihrer Unterlagen für ein Stipendium an. Neben Vollstipendien für die Promotion, z. B. durch die Begabtenförderungswerke, können Sie sich beispielsweise auch für Reisestipendien (Forschungsaufenthalte und Konferenz-/Kongressreisen) bewerben. Auch hierzu beraten wir Sie gerne! Während unserer Informationsveranstaltungen können Sie sich ebenfalls zu Fördermöglichkeiten informieren und Förderer kennenlernen.

Aktuelles

NEU: An jedem ersten Montag im Monat können Sie sich in der offenen digitalen Sprechstunde Frag SAFIR zu Ihren Fragen rund um das Thema Promotionsförderung beraten lassen!

• Bundesstiftung Aufarbeitung: Promotionsstipendien für Arbeiten, die sich mit den Ursachen oder den Folgen der Diktatur in SBZ und DDR befassen, aktuelle Frist: 15.07.2021

• Boehringer Ingelheim Fonds: Promotionsstipendien für Arbeiten in der biomedizinischen Grundlagenforschung, aktuelle Frist: 01.06.2021

• DAAD: Stipendien für internationale Forschungsaufenthalte, Fristen: 15.06. 2021 (für Aufenthalte ab November 2021), 15.11.2021 (für Aufenthalte ab April 2022)

Die Begabtenförderungswerke

In Deutschland gibt es 13 vom BMBF geförderte Stiftungen mit unterschiedlicher Ausrichtung. Sie bieten monatliche Vollstipendien inkl. Forschungskostenpauschalen, ggf. Familienzuschlag und Betreuungspauschalen. Förderbedingungen sind neben sehr guten Studienleistungen das gesellschaftliche Engagement der Bewerber*innen sowie ihre Identifikation mit der Ausrichtung der jeweiligen Stiftung. Die Förderdauer beträgt zunächst zwei Jahre, Verlängerungen sind grundsätzlich möglich. Neben finanzieller Förderung umfassen die Stipendien auch eine ideelle Förderung der Stipendiat*innen sowie Vernetzungsmöglichkeiten. Weitere Informationen zu den Werken, ihren Ausrichtungen und Förderkriterien finden Sie in unserem Download-Bereich sowie unter stipendiumplus.

Stiftungen

Neben den Begabtenförderungswerken gibt es eine Vielzahl an Stiftungen, die bspw. bestimmte Fachrichtungen oder Disziplinen fördern. Die Deutsche Bundesstiftung Umwelt vergibt z. B. jährlich bis zu 60 Stipendien an Promovierende aller Fachrichtungen, die Forschungsthemen mit klarem Bezug zu aktuellen Umwelt-und Naturschutzproblemen bearbeiten. Historisch-geisteswissenschaftliche Arbeiten können von der Gerda-Henkel-Stiftung gefördert werden. Gerne beraten wir Sie bei der Suche nach der für Sie passenden Stiftung.

Finanzierung der Promotion innerhalb eines strukturierten Programms

Strukturierte Programme wie Graduiertenkollegs und Graduiertenschulen können von der DFG gefördert werden (Stipendien, Stellen). Auch eine Stelle in einem Sonderforschungsbereich der DFG oder eine Förderung innerhalb eines EU-geförderten Innovative Training Network ist möglich. Die Ausschreibung und Bewerbung läuft über die einzelnen Einrichtungen. Als Mitglied eines strukturierten Promotionsprogrammes können Sie sich auch mit einem externen Stipendium finanzieren. Bitte beachten Sie dazu die Bestimmungen des jeweiligen Programmes.