Research Fab Battery Cells

Renewable energies and electromobility are to be significantly expanded in Germany; these and other new technologies require increasingly powerful, secure and sustainable energy storage systems. The commercial battery cells required are supposed to come from Germany in future. With its application-oriented research and technology transfer to large-scale production, the Research Fab Battery Cells builds the urgently needed bridge between research and series production. The FFB is a new unit of the Fraunhofer Institute for Production Technology IPT located in Münster. The project, which is unique in Germany, is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). MEET Battery Research Center of the University of Münster, the Fraunhofer Institute for Production Technology IPT, other institutes of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and the RWTH Aachen University are involved in this facility, which is unique in Germany. With their work on the Research Fab Battery Cells, MEET scientists and the invovlved partner are creating the conditions for battery cells "made in Germany" to be produced in large series.

© ARTVISU Artur Krause

Battery cells "Made in Germany”

Until now, it has been complex, cost-intensive and risky for companies to develop their own battery cells and produce them in large series. The Research Fab Battery Cells will overcome these challenges in the future. With its application-oriented research and technology transfer to large-scale production, the Research Fab Battery Cells builds the urgently needed bridge between research and series production. Read more

© WWU / MEET / J.Kraft

MEET knowledge for the Research Fab

MEET scientists around Prof. Dr. Martin Winter are working together with other leading experts in German battery and production technology from industry and research in the Research Fab Battery Cells in order to bundle specialist knowledge. The MEET team's main areas of expertise in battery cell research production are materials science, battery cell technology and production, production technology and systems, and the value-added cycle of batteries. Read more

Forschungsfertigung Batteriezelle

Erneuerbare Energien und Elektromobilität sollen in Deutschland deutlich ausgebaut werden; diese und weitere neue Technologien erfordern immer leistungsfähigere, sicherere und nachhaltigere Energiespeicher. Die dafür benötigten kommerziellen Batteriezellen sollen künftig aus Deutschland stammen. Mit ihrer Anwendungsforschung und dem Technologietransfer in die Großserienproduktion schlägt die Forschungsfertigung Batteriezelle - ein neuer Institutsteil des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Produktionstechnologie IPT am Standort Münster - die dringend benötigte Brücke zwischen Forschung und Serienproduktion. Gefördert wird das deutschlandweit einzigartige Projekt vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF). An der entstehenden Forschungsfertigung Batteriezelle ist das MEET Batterieforschungszentrum der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster gemeinsam mit dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Produktionstechnologie IPT, weiteren Instituten der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie der RWTH Aachen beteiligt. Mit ihrer Arbeit an der Forschungsfertigung Batteriezelle schaffen die MEET Wissenschaftler*innen gemeinsam mit den beteiligten Partnern die Voraussetzungen für in Großserie gefertigte Batteriezellen „Made in Germany“.

© ARTVISU Artur Krause

Batteriezellen „Made in Germany“

Bislang ist es für Unternehmen komplex, kostenintensiv und risikoreich, eigene Batteriezellen zu entwickeln und in Großserie herzustellen. Genau diese Herausforderungen wird die Forschungsfertigung Batteriezelle zukünftig auflösen. Denn sie stellt das Wissen und die Infrastruktur zur Verfügung, mit der kleine und mittlere Unternehmen, aber auch Großunternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen, die seriennahe Produktion neuer Batterien erproben und optimieren können. Mehr lesen

© WWU / MEET / J.Kraft

MEET Wissen für die Forschungsfertigung

Das MEET Wissenschaftsteam arbeitet in der Forschungsfertigung Batteriezelle gemeinsam mit weiteren führenden Expert*innen der deutschen Batterie- und Produktionstechnik aus Industrie und Forschung zusammen, um Fachwissen für den Standort Deutschland zu bündeln. Kompetenzschwerpunkte des MEET Teams liegen in Materialwissenschaft, Batteriezelltechnologie und -produktion, Produktionstechnik und -systematik wie auch dem Wertschöpfungskreislauf von Batterien. Mehr lesen