Carsten Gliese: Model Fliednerstrasse, 2021 (digital print on non-woven paper, 4 panels, total: 2440 x 295 cm)
© Carsten Gliese

Carsten Gliese
Model Fliednerstrasse

Fliednerstrasse 21, Foyer

In his large-format wall installation, photographer Carsten Gliese uses motifs from the architecture of the building at Fliednerstrasse 21, a grid construction from the late 1960s. He developed his four-part work in a multi-stage design process, which he mounted on walls that were not yet present in the original building. A short text by Carsten Gliese about his work can be found here [de], a publication is in preparation.

The realisation of the work was supported by the Universitätsgesellschaft Münster e.V. and by the Institute of Psychology.

Cordula Hesselbarth: Auf | lösung, 2021 (multi media wall installation, detail)
© WWU | Eckhard Kluth

Cordula Hesselbarth
Auf | lösung, 2021

Multiscale Imaging Centre der WWU, Foyer

Cordula Hesselbarth developed a 12-metre-high wall installation for the foyer of the MIC, in which she combines her own artistic questions with the research interests of the researchers networked in the Cells in Motion Interfaculty Centre. You can find out more about the work here [de].

Ernst Helmstädter: Dual Object, 1977
© WWU | Eckhard Kluth

Donation Ernst and Irmgard Helmstädter

In 1969, Ernst Helmstädter came to the WWU as a professor of economics. Parallel to his academic career, which took him as far as the "Council of the Five Economic Wise Men," Helmstädter also persistently pursued artistic issues. He became emeritus professor in 1989, but remained closely connected to the university:
As chairman of the Senate Committee for Art and Culture, he gave important impulses to cultural life on campus. In 1999, he was named an honorary senator of the university for this commitment.

Inspired by Paul A. Samuelson, Nobel Prize winner in economics, with whom he came into contact during his time at Harvard University, and by the artists Josef Albers and Mauritz C. Escher, Helmstädter explored the phenomenon of ambivalence in both his research and his art: Just as the interpretation of statistical data is dependent on underlying values and norms, so too is the perception of images shaped by conscious or unconscious pre-decisions. As a theorist also interested in fundamentals in art, Helmstädter demonstrated this by means of the representation of three-dimensional objects on flat paper. From the cube as a basic form, he developed complex geometric structures that defy a clear perspective reading: Dual Objects.

Helmstädter deliberately opted for techniques such as collage or silk-screen printing in the production of his works. There is no trace of the production process, no brushstroke disturbs the dialogue between form and viewer. This dialogue is taken to the extreme in the prints on mirror foil: when looking at the picture, one looks back at oneself.

In 2021, the University of Münster received a large number of Helmstädter's prints and collages from the estate of Ernst and Irmgard Helmstädter. Other important works complement this collection as permanent loans. In addition, drawings - not actually intended for the public by the artist - provide information about how Helmstädter developed his pictorial inventions.

© Jörg Madlener

Carsten Gliese: Modell Fliednerstrasse, 2021 (Digitaldruck auf Vliespapier, 4-teilig, gesamt: 2440 x 295 cm)
© Carsten Gliese

Carsten Gliese
Modell Fliednerstrasse 21

Fliednerstrasse 21, Foyer

Der Fotograf Carsten Gliese verarbeitet in seiner großformatigen Wandinstallation Motive der Architektur des Gebäudes Fliednerstrasse 21, ein Rasterbau der späten 1960er Jahre. In einem mehrstufigen Entwurfsprozess entwickelte er seine vierteilige Arbeit, die Wänden montierte, die im Ursprungsbau noch nicht vorhanden waren. Einen kurzen Text von Carsten Gliese über seine Arbeit finden Sie hier, eine Publikation ist in Vorbereitung.

Die Realisierung der Arbeit wurde gefördert durch die Universitätsgesellschaft Münster e.V. und durch das Institut für Psychologie.

Cordula Hesselbarth: Auf | lösung, 2021 (mulitmediale Wandinstallation, Detail)
© WWU | Eckhard Kluth

Cordula Hesselbarth
Auf | lösung, 2021

Multiscale Imaging Centre der WWU, Foyer

Für das Foyer des MIC entwickelte Cordula Hesselbarth eine gut 12 Meter hohe Wandinstallation, in der sie eigene künstlerische Fragestellungen mt den Forschungsinteressen der im Cells in Motion Interfaculty Centre vernetzten Forscher*innen verbindet. Mehr über die Arbeit erfahren Sie hier.

 

 

Ernst Helmstädter: Duales Objekt, 1977
© WWU | Eckhard Kluth

Schenkung Ernst und Irmgard Helmstädter

1969 kam Ernst Helmstädter als Professor für Volkswirtschaftslehre an die WWU. Parallel zu seiner wissenschaftlichen Karriere, die ihn bis in den „Rat der fünf Wirtschaftsweisen“ führte, verfolgte Helmstädter beharrlich auch künstlerische Fragen. 1989 wurde er emeritiert, blieb aber der Universität eng verbunden:
Als Vorsitzender des Senatsausschusses für Kunst und Kultur gab er dem Kulturleben auf dem Campus wichtige Impulse. 1999 wurde er für dieses Engagement zum Ehrensenator der Universität ernannt.

Angeregt durch Paul A. Samuelson, Nobelpreisträger für Ökonomie, mit dem er während seiner Zeit an der Harvard University in Kontakt kam, und durch die Künstler Josef Albers und Mauritz C. Escher beschäftigte sich Helmstädter sowohl in seiner Forschung als auch in seiner Kunst mit dem Phänomen der Ambivalenz: So wie die Interpretation von statistischen Daten abhängig ist von den zugrundegelegten Werten und Normen, ist auch die Wahrnehmung von Bildern von bewußten oder unbewußten Vorentscheidungen geprägt. Als Theoretiker auch in der Kunst an Grundlagen interessiert, demonstrierte Helmstädter dies anhand der Darstellung dreidimensionaler Objekte auf flachem Papier. Aus dem Würfel als Grundform entwickelte er komplexe geometrische Gebilde, die sich einer eindeutigen perspektivischen Lesart entziehen: Duale Objekte.

Bewußt entschied sich Helmstädter bei der Herstellung sein er Arbeiten für Techniken wie Collage oder Siebdruck. Vom Herstellungsprozess ist keine Spur zu sehen, kein Pinselstrich stört den Dialog zwischen Form und Betrachter*in. Auf die Spitze getrieben wird dieser Dialog bei den Drucken auf Spiegelfolie: Man schaut beim Betrachten des Bildes auf sich selbst zurück.

Aus dem Nachlass von Ernst und Irmgard Helmstädter erhielt die Universität Münster 2021 eine Vielzahl von Drucken und Collagen Helmstädters geschenkt. Weitere wichtige Werke ergänzen als Dauerleihgaben diesen Bestand. Darüber hinaus geben Zeichnungen – vom Künstler eigentlich nicht für die Öffentlichkeit bestimmt – Auskunft darüber, wie Helmstädter seine Bildfindungen entwickelte.