First Steps

Welcome to the WWU network. Please read this information, we will try to answer the most important questions for new arriving people.

  • Who do I generally address on IT issues? In most cases, ask the  ivv5hotline@wwu.de. This hotline also provides the inquiries for the ZIV (ziv@wwu.de) or the Service.stabsstelle.it@uni-muenster.de, which is responsible  for some questions in the management area (eg SAP, HIS / LSF, POS). And you may help yourself by reading  the IVV5-Wiki .
  • I would like to buy / install / connect hardware. The IVV5 advises, and also buys for you. Ask the IVV5-hotline ivv5hotline@wwu.de.
  • I would like to log in to my office pc / apply for an account. Actually, you should have received a "Nutzerkennug" (aka acccount) with your contract / registration. If that does not work, contact the ivv5hotline.
  • I would like to use / buy / install software. A lot of software is already available, some free of charge (e.g TeX), some using campus licenses (e.g MS Office). Lots of software can easily be installed by yourself. See the ZIV web pages for existing software or the hints regarding MS Imagine Premium (DreamSpark).  For individual advice, please contact the IVV5-hotline ivv5hotline@wwu.de.
  • Where can I store my data, how to access it? On the workstations, classic network storage is automatically integrated, access from other devices to the file service of the IVV5 and the ZIV is also possible. You also have access to a modern cloud file service from some NRW universities called sciebo.
  • Communication: How do I get mail, organize calendar entreis, use groupware? With your account you have automatically received an email account (account@wwu.de or account@uni-muenster.de) at the WWU. You should usually manage your mails using the Exchange Groupware server of the WWU. The IVV5 Wiki offers a help overview.
  • Where and how do I print / scan? Inside the buildings of the WWU you'll find several multifunctional devices where you can print out (possibly using a billing card) and scan documents. You can install these and other printers on your devices using a  self-service. Possibly, it also helps to look at the points for printing in the wiki. To send the scans via email, you should adjust the "Scan-> Delivery" entry in Selfservice-Page MeinZIV.
  • What supports me with teaching / research? There are many online services that support research and teaching. The eLearning platform of the WWU is Learnweb, the lecture and examination administration supports  LSF/POS, and the research database CRIS helps with the maintenance of the publications, prices, .... Websites for workgroups or for individuals you may get, too - take a look into the IVV5-Wiki.

Erste Schritte

Willkommen im Netzwerk der WWU. Bitte lesen Sie diese Information durch, wir versuchen, die wichtigsten Fragen für Neuankömmlinge damit schon zu beantworten.

  • Wen spreche ich generell bei IT-Fragen an? Meist ist das die IVV5 (ivv5hotline@wwu.de), wenn nötig gibt diese Hotline die Anfragen auch an das ZIV (ziv@wwu.de) oder an die für einige Fragen im engeren Verwaltungsbereich (z.B. SAP, HIS/LSF, POS) zuständige Stabstelle IT (service.stabsstelle.it@uni-muenster.de) weiter. Hinweise zur Selbsthilfe versucht das IVV5-Wiki zu geben.
  • Ich möchte Rechner kaufen / aufstellen / anschliessen? Die IVV5 berät hier und kauft auch für Sie ein. Fragen Sie die Hotline der IVV5 (ivv5hotline@wwu.de).
  • Ich möchte mich auf dem Rechner in meinem Büro anmelden / einen account beantragen? Eigentlich sollten Sie mit Ihrem Vertrag / Einschreibung eine Nutzerkennung ("account") bekommen haben. Wenn der nicht funktioniert, wenden Sie sich an die Hotline der IVV5 (ivv5hotline@wwu.de).
  • Ich möchte Software benutzen / kaufen / installieren (lassen) Vieles gibt es schon, manches umsonst (z.B. TeX), manches über einen Campus-Vetrag (z.B. MS-Office). Vieles kann auch einfach selbst installiert werden. S.a. Webseiten des ZIV zu vorhandener Software und der IVV5 zu MS Imagine Premium (Dreamspark). Für individuelle Beratung wenden Sie sich an die Hotline der IVV5 (ivv5hotline@wwu.de).
  • Wo kann ich meine Daten lagern, wie darauf zugreifen? Auf den Arbeitsplätzen wird i.d.R. klassischer Netzwerkspeicher automatisch eingebunden. Zugriff von anderen Geräten auf den Dateiservice der IVV5 und den des ZIV ist aber auch möglich. Sie haben auch Zugriff auf einen modernen Cloud-Dateiservice einiger NRW-Universitäten namens sciebo.
  • Kommunikation: Wie komme ich an Mail, Kalender, Groupware? Mit Ihrem Account haben sie automatisch auch eine Emailadresse (account@wwu.de bzw. account@uni-muenster.de) an der WWU bekommen. Idealerweise verwalten Sie Ihre Mails und Termine mit dem Exchange-Groupware-Server der WWU. Eine Hilfeübersicht dazu bietet das IVV5-Wiki.
  • Wo und wie drucke / scanne ich? In den Gebäuden der WWU stehen an vielen Stellen Multifunktionsgeräte, auf denen Sie (eventuell nur mit einer Abrechnungskarte) ausdrucken und Vorlagen einscannen können.  Diese und weitere Drucker können Sie über einen IVV5-Selfservice auf Ihren Geräten installieren. Ggf. hilft auch ein Blick auf die Punkte zum Drucken im Wiki weiter. Für das Zustellen der Scans per Email empfiehlt sich, den Eintrag "Scannen->Zustellen" im Selfservice MeinZIV anzupassen.
  • Was unterstützt mich bei Lehre/Forschung? Es gibt viele online-Services, die Forschung und Lehre unterstützen. Die eLearning-Platform der WWU ist das Learnweb, Vorlesungs- und Prüfungsverwaltung unterstützt LSF/POS und die Forschungsdatenbank CRIS hilft bei der Datenhaltung der Publikationen, Preise, ... . Webseiten für Arbeitsgruppen oder für Individuen kann man auch bekommen, dazu informiert wieder ein Blick ins IVV5-Wiki.