Methods

Components of a mass spectrometer
MS
© MLE

 

There are different technical options for each component, but not all combinations are possible.

Which combinations make sense depends on the type of sample and the problem.
(This list is not exhaustive, but it is based on which methods are currently used in this department - there are more methods than can be shown here!)

  • Sample Inlet

    Ms Inlet En
    © MLE
    .

    Direct Inlet

    Direct Inlet
    © MLE

    Direct inlet, solid probe inlet: A small amount (0.01 to 0.1) μg of the specimen is placed in a tiny aluminium crucible on the top of a push rod. In most cases it is applied as a diluted solution. Some microlitres of this solution is filled in the crucible and the solvent is evaporated. Then the rod is pushed through a vacuum lock into the analyzer. The temperature of the crucible is raised to evaporate the compound (range 30° to 400°C). So different volatile compounds can be separated.

    Ionisation: EI or CI

    .

    Gas Chromatography

    Gc
    © MLE

    Gas chromatography: The compounds of the sample are separated by gas chromatography. The separation column ends direclty in the ion source. Suitable for all mixtures which are stable due to GC-conditions.

    Ionisation: EI oder CI

    .

    Loop Inlet

    Loop Inlet
    © MLE

    Loop inlet: 1..20µl of the dissolved sample is injected into a sample loop. Then the sample is transported with a solvent flow (appr. 50µl/min) to an ESI mass spectrometer. There is no separation effect.

    Ionisation: ESI, APCI

    .

    Syringe Inlet

    Syringe Inlet
    © MLE

    Syringe inlet: 10..100µl of the dissolved sample loaded into a syringe. A syringe pump transports the sample with a constant volume flow into the ion source. There is no separation effect.

    Ionisation: ESI, APCI

    .

    (HP) Liquid Chromatography

    Hplc
    © MLE

    Liquid chromatography, HPLC: The compounds of the sample are separated by liquid chromatography and run through a UV-detector then they are analysed in an ESI mass spectrometer. Very suitable for the analysis of polar and medium polar compounds.

    Ionisation: ESI, APCI

    .

    Nanospray Inlet

    Nanospray
    © MLE

    Nanospray: 10µl of the dissolved sample is injected into a capillary. The solution is charged up to 1KV with an inserted steel wire. Because of the strong electrical field at the tip of the capillary, the solution is sprayed. There is no separation effect.

    Ionisation: ESI

    .

    MALDI Sample Plate

    Maldi
    © MLE

    matrix preparation: The sample is mixed (1:50.. 1:10000) with a matrix (e.g. 2,5 dihydroxybenzoic acid) and is co-cristallized on the sample carrier, which is transferred into high vacuum. Laserpulses are used for the ionisation.

    Ionisation: MALDI, LDI (without matrix)

    .

    Thin Layer Chromatography, TLC-MS

    Tlc-extractor
    © MLE

    Thin Layer Chromatography, TLC-MS: The sample is separated on a thin layer plate. After localizing the spots of the substances they are eluted by an extractor. The eluate can directly be transferred to a mass spectrometer.

    Ionisation: ESI or APCI

    Information about this method: DGMS-HL.pdf (german language)

  • Ion Source

    Ms Ionsource En
    © MLE
    .

    Ionsource EI

    Ionsource EI
    © MLE

    Electron Ionization (EI): In vacuum molecules are ionized by the impact of accelerated (70eV) electrons. Mostly radical cations are formed. 6-11eV of the transferred energy are needed for ionisation, but also 2-10eV of excess energy is passed. Therefore a more or less strong fragmentation occures. The fragmentation pattern is very characteristic for an organic compound, therefore data base searches are well established.
    All molecules (if aporized without decomposition) can be ionized by this method. The method is "non-specific“.

    .

    Ion Source ESI

    Ion Source ESI
    © MLE

    Electrosprayionisation, ESI or ES: The sample is dissolved and the solution must show some electrical conductivity. Preferred solvents are water, methanol, acetonitrile if necessary mixed with nonpolar solvents (CHCl3, CH2Cl2…). In the solution charged particles are formed. Positive ions by the addition of cations (H+, Na+, NH4+…). Negative Ions by deprotonation or by addition of anions (Cl-, HCOO-, Acetat..). The forming of ions can be aided by adding salts or changing the pH-level. The so formed ions in the solution are separated from the solvent by spraying in an electrical field under athmospheric pressure. Then the ions are transported to the mass analyser.

    Positive Ions Negative Ions
    [M + H]+ [M - H]-
    [M + NH4]+ [M + Cl]-
    [M + Na]+ [M + HCOO]-
    [M + K]+


    Depending on the chemistry of the sample, also multiple charged particles and agglomerations of molecules are formed.
     

    .

    Ionsource MALDI

    Ionsource MALDI
    © MLE

    Laserionisation, see also matrix preparation (-> Matrix Assisted Laser Desorption/Ionization): With a very short laser pulse the sample is vaporized within the high vacuum. Thereby positive and negative ions are formed. Mostly a nitrogen laser with a wavelength of 337nm and a pulse duration of 3ns is used. Normally the irradiation intensity is in the range of 0.5 to 5 MW/cm2.

    Positive Ions Negative Ions
    [M + H]+ [M - H]-
    [M + NH4]+ [M + Cl]-
    [M + Na]+ [M + HCOO]-
    [M + K]+

    In contrast to ESI preferred single charged ions occur with MALDI. This ionisation method is commonly combined with a time of flight mass analyser.


  • Mass Analyzer

    Ms Analyzer En
    © MLE
    .

    Time of flight Analyzer

    Tof
    © MLE

    Time of flight analyzer TOF: This type of analyser is often used with ion sources where the ions are produced in short pulses. After accelerated in a short electric field (10-20kV) the ions pass a long field-free region. The flight time is correlated with m/z. To increase mass resolution the acceleration is accomplished into steps (DE –delayed extraction). To correct for image errors and to elongate the flight time the ion path can be folded by a reflector.

    .

    Orthogonal TOF

    Oatof
    © MLE

    Orthogonal Time of flight analyzer, oTOF: If there is a continuous ion production the initial ion movement must be decoupled from the ToF measurement. This is done by orthogonal extraction of the ions to the flight tube. With this principle very high resolutions can be achieved.

    .

    Quadrupole Analyzer

    Quadrupole
    © MLE

    Linear quadrupol mass analyzer: In this analyser slowly moving ions are forced to oscillation by an alternating electrical field between four parallel poles. By changing the parameters all ions (rf-only mode) or only ions of a small mass range pass the poles. The resolution of such a mass filter is limited to 1/4 Da peak width.

    This type of analysers can be connected in series. MS-MS experiments are possible by a chamber filled with gas (if required) between two analysers (Triple Quad MS).

    .

    Linear Ion Trap

    Linear It
    © MLE

    Linear ion trap: Ions are trapped in a quadrupole structure by an alternating electrical field and electrical potentials at the ends. By scanning the quadrupole voltage ions leave the trap sorted by their m/z values and are detected by the detectors outside.
    Such an ion trap is capable of multi-level MS-MS experiments. With the ion trap of the department (LTQ Orbitrap XL) ions can be detected by the (destructive) detectors or can be passed on to an orbitrap for a more precise mass analysis.

    .

    Orbitrap Analyzer

    Orbitrap Anal
    © MLE

    Orbitrap: this very new analyser principle has a high resolution (100.000) and mass accuracy (below 0.002 u). In the LTQ Orbitrap XL a linear ion trap is connected to an Orbitrap analyzer.
    In this analyser a ring of ions is oscillating along a central electrode in direct axis. The frequency of the oscillation is used for the mass analysis.

  • Detector

    Ms Detector En
    © MLE
    .

    Electron Multiplier

    Sev
    © MLE

    Electron multiplier: A conversion dynode is hit by ions and their impulse excites electrons. These electrons are pulled by a positive ca. 100V higher charged electrode where they release more electrons. This process repeats as a cascade between increasing charged electrodes. Finally a highly amplified signal is available. There are many derivatives of this device, some discrete, some working with semi conductive surfaces, but all use the same principle.

    .

    Fourier transform MS

    Orbitrap Det
    © MLE

    Fourier transform MS: This ion detection is used with the Orbitrap (or in Ion Cyclotron Resonance MS). The signal is a mixture of frequencies which represent the m/z values of the ions. By a fourier transformation the single fractions of the frequenzies are determined. Because frequencies can be measured very accurately, this system provides accurate m/z values with a extraordinary resolution. This method of ion detection is non-destructive!

  • Evaluation Software

    Ms Data En
    © MLE
    .

    Software for Data Processing

    Auswertung-pc
    © MLE

    Device control / data acquisition: there is a particular software for each mass spectrometer.

    Compass (Bruker Daltonics): for AutoFlex Speed (MALDI TOF): This software package contains FlexControl (mass spectrometer control) and FlexAnalysis (data processing). FlexImaging is a separate tool for processing and evaluation of MALDI-Imaging experiments.

    Compass (Bruker Daltonics): for MicroTof: This software package contains Hystar (HPLC-control), MicroTof-Control (mass spectrometer control) and DataAnalysis (data processing).

    MassLynx (Waters, ehem. Micromass): Acquisition and processing for Quattro LCZ, Quattro Micro GC.

    Xcalibur (Thermo Fisher Scientific): Acquisition and processing for TSQ und LTQ Orbitrap XL.

    Chemstation (Agilent): Agilent 6110. This program is only used for device control and data acquisition. The data evaluation is done with the DataAnalysis software from Bruker Daltonics.

    .

    Data Formats

    Data Formats
    © MLE

    Data format: The data formats are proprietary. There are some export functions in the software but often some information is lost (e.g. measurement parameters). Exporting the data to an ASCII-file produces gigantic large datasets even for the devices with high accuracy.
    For using the spectra and chromatograms in publications it is best to display them with the original software and then export them as graphic. The co-workers of the mass spectrometry department can inform you about the possibilities.

     

    .

    Databases

    Databases
    © MLE

    Especially for EI mass spectra there are large collections of spectra (databases) by different vendors like NIST, Wiley or (AIST) SDBS. Often those databases are integrated into the instrument software so that it is easily possible to search with a measured mass spectrum in the database in order to identify unkowns. SDBS is a japanese database, which is freely accessible via the internet. Also for MS/MS spectra from ESI or MALDI measurements there are increasing collections of spectra available, though a database search is less easy because of the lower reproducibility of MS/MS spectra from different instrument types.

  • Vacuum System

    Ms Vacuum En
    © MLE

    For each mass spectrometer a good vacuum is needed at least after the ion source, so that mass analyzer and detector may work and for the ions to reach the detector without collisions with remaining gas molecules. Therefore sophisticated pumping systems are required to reach a final vacuum of down to 10-11 mbar depending on the analyzer system. This cannot be achieved by a single stage pumping system, therefore often a combination of prevacuum pump (often a rotary pump) and a fine vacuum pump (turbomolecular or diffusion pump) is used.

    .

    Backing Pump

    Rotary
    © MLE

    A rotary vane pump is a positive-displacement pump that consists of vanes mounted to a rotor that rotates eccentrically inside of a cavity. In some cases these vanes can have variable length and/or be tensioned to maintain contact with the walls as the pump rotates. Often rotary pumps for mass spectrometry are two stage pumps, consisting of two sequential rotary vane pump stages in order to achieve a final vacuum of about 10-4 mbar.

    .

    Turbomolecular Pump

    Turbo En
    © MLE

    The turbomolecular pump works like a turbine of an airoplane with fast rotating blades. When hitting those blades gas molecules are transported in axial direction towards a prevacuum pump. For an efficient pumping the pump consists of a large number of blades rotating up to 90.000 rpm.
    Turbomolekularpumpen benötigen einen Vorvakuumdruck von ca. 0.1 mbar; sie erreichen Enddrücke bis ca. 10−10 mbar.

    .

    Oil Diffusion Pump

    Diffpump En
    © MLE

    The pump consists of a cylindrical body. The bottom contains a heater, which heats up the diffusion pump oil. The heated oil is sprayed into the pump body by a nozzle system. It condenses on the cooled walls of the body. Gas molecules, are captured by the oil when reaching the steam and are transported down to the higher pressure area. There is the exit to the prevacuum pump. By heating up the oil again, captured molecules are released and removed by the prevacuum pump. Diffusion pumps need a prevacuum of at approx. 0.1 mbar; they may reach a fine vacuum of 10−9 mbar depending on the vapor pressure of the pump oil.

Methoden

Komponenten eines Massenspektrometers
MS
© MLE

Für alle Komponenten gibt es verschiedene technische Möglichkeiten. Es sind jedoch nicht alle Kombinationen möglich.

Welche Kombination am sinnvollsten ist, richtet sich nach der Probe und der Fragestellung.
(Diese Aufstellung erhebt keinen Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit sondern orientiert sich daran, welche Methoden in dieser Abteilung aktuell eingesetzt werden - es gibt mehr als hier gezeigt werden kann!)

  • Probeneinlass

    Ms Inlet De
    © MLE
    .

    Schubstangen-Einlass

    Schubstange
    © MLE

    Tiegel- oder Direkteinlass: Die Probe wird in einen sehr keinen Aluminiumtiegel gegeben und mit einer Schubstange in das Hochvakuum des Massenspektrometers eingeschleust. Dort kann sie bei bis zu 400°C verdampft werden.
    Bei diesem Vorgang kann man unterschiedlich flüchtige Komponenten voneinander trennen.

    Ionisierung: EI oder CI

    .

    Gaschromatographie

    Gc
    © MLE

    Gaschromatograph: Die Probe wird in einem Gaschromatographen in ihre Komponenten getrennt. Die Trennsäule endet direkt in der Ionenquelle. Geeignet für alle Gemische, die GC-gängig sind.

    Ionisierung: EI oder CI

    .

    Schleifeneinlass

    Schleifeneinlass
    © MLE

    Schleifeneinlass: 1..20µl der gelösten Probe wird in eine Probenschleife gegeben, dann wird mit einem Flüssigkeitsstrom (ca. 50µl/min) die Probe zum ESI-Massenspektrometer gefördert. Es erfolgt keine Trennung.

    Ionisierung: ESI, APCI

    .

    Spritzeneinlass

    Spritzeneinlass
    © MLE

    Spritzeneinlass: 10..100µl der gelösten Probe wird auf eine Spritze aufgezogen. Über eine Spritzenpumpe wird ein konstanter Volumenstrom in die Ionenquelle gepumpt und dort versprüht. Es erfolgt keine Trennung.

    Ionisierung: ESI, APCI

    .

    Flüssigchromatographie (z.B. HPLC)

    Hplc
    © MLE

    Flüssigchromatograph, HPLC: Die Probe wird durch die Chromatographie getrennt und nach dem Durchlauf durch  einen UV-Detektor zum Massenspektrometer geleitet. Sehr gut geeignet für die Untersuchung polarer und mittelpolarer Verbindungen.

    Ionisierung: ESI, APCI

    .

    Nanospray Einlass

    Nanospray
    © MLE

    Nanosprayeinlass: 10µl der gelösten Probe wird in eine Glaskapillare gegeben. Die Lösung wird mit einem eingeführten Draht auf ca. 1kV aufgeladen. Unter dem Einfluss des starken elektrischen Feldes an der Kapillarspitze versprüht die Lösung. Es erfolgt keine Trennung.

    Ionisierung: ESI

    .

    MALDI Probenträger

    Maldi
    © MLE

    Matrixpräparation: Die Probe wird im Verhältnis 1:50.. 1:10000 mit einer Matrix (z.B. 2,5 Dihydroxybenzoesäure) auf dem Probenträger kokristallisiert. Dieser wird ins Hochvakuum eingeschleust. Die Ionisierung erfolgt durch  Laserpulse.

    Ionisierung: MALDI, LDI (wenn man ohne Matrix arbeitet)

    .

    Dünnschichtchromatographie, TLC-MS

    Tlc-extractor
    © MLE

    Dünnschichtchromatographie, TLC-MS: Die Probe wird auf einer Dünnschichtplatte in ihre Komponenten getrennt. Nach der Lokalisierung der Substanzflecken werden diese mit einem Extraktor eluiert. Das Eluat kann direkt zum MS geleitet werden.

    Ionisierung: ESI oder APCI

    Informationen zum Verfahren als Poster: DGMS-HL.pdf

  • Ionenquelle

    Ms Ionsource De
    © MLE
    .

    Ionenquelle EI

    Ionenquelle EI
    © MLE

    Elekronenionisation (veraltet: Elektronenstoßionisation) EI: Die Moleküle werden im Hochvakuum durch Beschuss mit Elektronen (70 eV) ionisiert. Es entstehen überwiegend Radikalkationen. Zusätzlich zu den für die Ionisation notwendigen 6-11eV werden 2-10eV Überschussenergie übertragen. Das führt zu einer mehr oder weniger starken Fragmentierung, die sehr spezifisch für die entsprechende Verbindung ist. Datenbanksuchen sind daher gut möglich.
    Alle Moleküle (soweit unzersetzt verdampfbar) können so ionisiert werden, die Methode ist „unspezifisch“.

    .

    Ionenquelle ESI

    Ionenquelle Esi
    © MLE

    Elektrosprayionisation, ESI oder ES: Die Probe wird gelöst. Die Lösung muss eine gewisse elektrische Leitfähigkeit besitzen. Bevorzugt sind Wasser, Methanol, Acetonitril  ggfs. unter Zusatz von apolaren Lösungsmitteln (CHCl3, CH2Cl2…). In der Lösung bilden sich geladene Teilchen. Positive Ionen durch Anlagerung von Kationen (H+, Na+, NH4+…). Negative Ionen durch Abspaltung von Protonen oder Anlagerung von Anionen (Cl-, HCOO-, Acetat..). Die Ionenbildung kann man durch Zugabe von Salzen oder durch pH-Wertänderung unterstützen. Die so in Lösung gebildeten Ionen werden bei Atmosphärendruck durch Versprühen in einem elektrischen Feld vom Lösungsmittel abgetrennt. Anschließend erfolgt der Transport dieser Ionen in den Massenanalysator.

    Positive Ionen Negative Ionen
    [M + H]+ [M - H]-
    [M + NH4]+ [M + Cl]-
    [M + Na]+ [M + HCOO]-
    [M + K]+


    Es bilden sich, abhängig von der Chemie der Probe, auch mehrfach geladene Teilchen oder Zusammenlagerungen von Molekülen.

    .

    Ionenquelle MALDI

    Ionenquelle Maldi
    © MLE

    Laserionisation, s. auch Matrixpräparation (-> Matrix Assisted Laser Desorption/Ionization): Die Probe wird mit einem sehr kurzen Laserpuls ins Hochvakuum verdampft. Dabei entstehen positive und negative Ionen. Es wird meist ein Stickstofflaser mit 337nm Wellenlänge und 3ns Pulslänge verwendet. Die Bestrahlungsstärke liegt zwischen 0.5 bis 5 MW/cm2.

    Positive Ionen Negative Ionen
    [M + H]+ [M - H]-
    [M + NH4]+ [M + Cl]-
    [M + Na]+ [M + HCOO]-
    [M + K]+

    Im Gegensatz zur ESI bilden sich bei MALDI bevorzugt einfach geladene Teilchen. Diese Ionisationsmethode wird meist in Kombination mit einem Flugzeitanalysator eingesetzt.

  • Massenanalysator

    Ms Analyzer De
    © MLE
    .

    Flugzeit-Analysator

    Tof
    © MLE

    Flugzeitmassenspektrometer TOF: Dieser Analysator wird gerne für Ionenquellen eingesetzt, bei denen die Ionenproduktion pulsartig erfolgt. Die Ionen werden auf einer kurzen Strecke durch ein elektrisches Feld beschleunigt (10-20kV) und durchfliegen dann eine feldfreie Strecke. Die Flugzeit ist mit m/z korreliert. Zur Verbesserung der Massenauflösung kann man die Beschleunigungsspannung verzögert einschalten (DE –delayed extraction). Zur Verlängerung der Flugbahn und zur Korrektur von Bildfehlern kann auch ein Reflektor eingesetzt werden.

    .

    Orthogonaler Flugzeitanalysator

    Oatof
    © MLE

    Orthogonaler Flugzeitanalysator, oTOF: Wenn man ein Flugzeitmassenspektrometer einsetzen will, die Ionen aber kontinuierlich erzeugt werden, setzt man diese Anordnung ein. Die Extraktion der Ionenpakete erfolgt senkrecht zur ursprünglichen Ionenbahn. Damit wird die Massenbestimmung unabhängig von der ursprünglichen Ionenbewegung. Man erreicht mit diesen Geräten eine hohe Massengenauigkeit.

    .

    Quadrupol Analysator

    Quadrupol
    © MLE

    Linearer Quadrupol Analysator: In diesem Analysator werden die Ionen, die sich langsam vorwärts bewegen, durch ein elektrisches Wechselfeld zwischen vier parallelen Stäben zu Pendelbewegungen gezwungen. Je nach Wahl der Parameter passieren alle Ionen (rf-only Mode) oder nur Ionen eines schmalen Massenbereichs die Stäbe. Das Auflösungsvermögen eines solchen „Massenfilters“ ist auf ca. 1/4 Da Peakbreite begrenzt.

    Solche Analysatoren können hintereinander geschaltet werden. Eine (bei Bedarf) gasgefüllte Kammer zwischen ihnen ermöglicht MS-MS Experimente (Triple Quad MS).

    .

    Lineare Ionenfalle

    Linear It
    © MLE

    Lineare Ionenfalle: In diesem Analysator werden die Ionen in einer Quadrupolstruktur durch ein elektrisches Wechselfeld und durch Sperrpotentiale an den Enden festgehalten. Die Ionen können durch einen Scan der Quadrupolspannungen nach m/z geordnet auf seitlich außerhalb angebrachte Detektoren gelenkt werden (Instabilitätsscan).
    Innerhalb einer solchen Falle sind (zeitlich hintereinander) mehrstufige MS-MS Experimente möglich.
    Bei dem vorliegenden Ionanfallengerät (LTQ Orbitrap XL) die Ionen entweder zu den (destruktiven) Detektoren oder zu einer akkurateren Massenanalyse in die Orbitrap weiterleiten.

    .

    Orbitrap Analysator

    Orbitrap Analysator
    © MLE

    Orbitrap: Dieses sehr neue Analysatorprinzip bietet eine sehr hohe Massenauflösung (100.000) und Massengenauigkeit (besser als 0.002 u). Im vorhandenen Gerät ist die Orbitrap hinter ein Massenspektrometer mit linearer Ionenfalle geschaltet.
    Bei diesem Analysator pendelt ein Ring von Ionen in der Längsachse über einer Zentralelektrode. Die Frequenz dieser Pendelbewegung wird zur Massenbestimmung verwendet.

  • Detektor

    Ms Detector De
    © MLE
    .

    Sekundärelektronenvervielfacher

    Sev
    © MLE

    Sekundärelektronenvervielfacher, SEV, SEM: Die Ionen treffen auf eine Konversionsdynode, dort werden durch den Impuls Elektronen gelockert, die von einer um ca. 100V positiveren Elektrode angezogen werden. Dort setzen sie weitere Elektronen frei. Dieser Vorgang wiederholt sich kaskadenartig zwischen zunehmend positiveren Elektroden. Am Ende steht ein hoch verstärktes Signal zur Verfügung. Es gibt etliche Abkömmlinge dieser Detektoren, die jedoch alle nach dem geichen Grundprinzip arbeiten, entweder mit diskreten Stufen oder an Halbleiteroberflächen.

    .

    Fourier transform MS

    Orbitrap Det
    © MLE

    Fourier transform MS: Dieser Ionennachweis wird bei der Orbitrap (und Ionencyclotron Resonanz MS) verwendet. Das Messsignal ist eine Mischung von unterschiedlichen Frequenzen, die den m/z Werten der Ionen entsprechen. Durch eine Fouriertransformation werden die Anteile der einzelnen Frequenzen ermittelt. Weil man Frequenzen sehr genau messen kann, liefert dieses System akkurate Massen bei herausragender Auflösung. Diese Art der Detektion ist für die Ionen "zerstörungsfrei"!

  • Auswertesoftware

    Ms Data De
    © MLE
    .

    Auswertesoftware

    Auswertung-pc
    © MLE

    Gerätesteuerung/Datenerfassungssoftware: zu den einzelnen Massenspektrometern gibt es spezifische Softwarepakete.

    Compass (Bruker Daltonik GmbH): zu AutoFlex Speed (MALDI TOF): Dieses Programmpaket enthält FlexControl (MS-Geräte-Steuerung) und FlexAnalysis (Datenauswertung). FlexImaging ist ein separates Tool zur Auswertung und Visualisierung von MALDI-Imaging Experimenten.

    Compass (Bruker Daltonik GmbH): zu MicroTof. Dieses Programmpaket enthält die Teile Hystar (HPLC-Steuerung), MicroTof-Control (MS-Geräte-Steuerung) und DataAnalysis (Datenauswertung).

    MassLynx (Waters, ehem. Micromass): Zur Steuerung und Auswertung für Quattro LCZ, Quattro Micro GC.

    Xcalibur (Thermo Fisher Scientific): Zur Steuerung und Auswertung für TSQ und LTQ Orbitrap XL.

    Chemstation (Agilent): Zur Steuerung und Auswertung für Agilent 6110. Dieses Programm wird nur zur Steuerung und Datenerfassung genutzt, die Abarbeitung erfolgt mit DataAnalysis.

    .

    Datenformate

    Datenformat
    © MLE

    Datenformate: die Datenformate sind proprietär. Es gibt zwar die eine oder andere Exportfunktion, allerdings geht meist durch die Datenumwandlung Information verloren (z.B. die Messbedingungen). Ein Export als ASCII-Textfile führt bei den Geräten mit hoher Massengenauigkeit zu gigantisch großen Datensätzen.
    Für die Verwendung in Publikationen ist es in der Regel am Besten, die Spektren und Chromatogramme mit der Originalsoftware darzustellen und dann als Grafik zu übertragen. Die Mitarbeiter der MS-Abteilung geben gerne über die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten Auskunft.

     

    .

    Datenbanken

    Datenbanken
    © MLE

    Vor allem für EI Massenspektren existieren große Sammlungen an Spektren (Datenbanken) von verschiedenen Anbietern, wie NIST, Wiley oder (AIST) SDBS. Meist sind diese Datenbanken in die Auswertesoftware des MS-Datensystems integriert, was eine einfache Suche gemessener Spektren in diesen Datenbanken erlaubt und so eine Identifizierung von Unbekannten ermöglicht. SDBS ist eine japanische Internetdatenbank und frei zugänglich. Auch für MS/MS-Spektren aus ESI- oder MALDI-Messungen sind zunehmend Datenbestände verfügbar, jedoch ist hier die Suche aufgrund weniger guter Reproduzierbarkeit der MS/MS Spektren auf verschiedenen Gerätetypen weniger einfach.

  • Vakuum System

    Ms Vacuum De
    © MLE

    Für jedes Massenspektrometer wird spätestens nach der Ionenquelle ein gutes Vakuum benötigt, damit Massenanalysator und Detektor arbeiten können und damit die Ionen die teilweise langen Flugstrecken ohne Ablenkung zurücklegen können. Dazu sind ausgefeilte Pumpsysteme notwendig, die je nach Analysator-System ein Vakuum von bis zu 10-11 mbar erreichen müssen. Dies ist nicht mit einem einstufigen Pumpsystem zu erreichen, so dass oft eine Kombination von Vorvakuum-Pumpe (meist Drehschieberpumpe) und Feinvakuum-Pumpe (Turbomolekular- oder Öldiffusions-Pumpe) eingesetzt wird.

    .

    Vorvakuumpumpe

    Rotary
    © MLE

    Eine Drehschieberpumpe ist eine Verdrängerpumpe, in unserem Fall für Gase. Sie besteht aus einem Hohlzylinder (Stator), in dem ein weiterer Zylinder (Rotor) exzentrisch rotiert. Der Rotor berührt die Innenwand des Stators zwischen Einlass- und Auslassöffnung. Diese Stelle ist die Trennstelle zwischen Saug- und Druckraum. Vakuumpumpen nach diesem Prinzip werden in auch Ölpumpen genannt, weil sie zum Betrieb größere Mengen Schmieröl benötigen. In der Massenspektrometrie eingesetzte Drehschieberpumpen besitzen meist zwei hintereinander geschaltete Pumpstufen, um ein besseres Endvakuum von ca. 10-4 mbar zu erreichen.

    .

    Turbomolekularpumpe

    Turbo De
    © MLE

    Die Turbomolekularpumpe arbeitet wie eine Flugzeugturbine mit schnell rotierenden Schaufelblättern. Gasteilchen erhalten beim Auftreffen auf die schräg gestellten Blätter einen Impuls in Richtung Vorvakuumpumpe und können so aus dem Rezipienten entfernt werden. Um diesen Vorgang effizient zu gestalten, besteht die Pumpe aus einem Satz von mehreren Schaufelblättern, die mit einer Geschwindigkeit von bis zu 90.000 U/min rotieren.
    Turbomolekularpumpen benötigen einen Vorvakuumdruck von ca. 0.1 mbar; sie erreichen Enddrücke bis ca. 10−10 mbar.

    .

    Öldiffusionspumpe

    Diffpump De
    © MLE

    Die Pumpe besteht aus einem zylindrischen Pumpenkörper. Der Boden des Pumpenkörpers enthält eine Heizplatte, die das darüber liegende Diffusionspumpenöl aufheizt. Im Siederaum steht ein Düsensystem, durch welches das erhitzte Öl mit hohem Druck versprüht wird. An den gekühlten Wänden kondensiert das Öl und wird zurückgeführt. Gasmoleküle, die in den Dampfstrahl gelangen, werden mitgerissen und nach unten in einen Bereich höheren Druckes gefördert. Dort befindet sich als Ausgang aus der Diffusionspumpe der Vorvakuumstutzen. Durch das Heizen des Treibmittels treten die gefangenen Moleküle wieder aus und werden von der Vorvakuumpumpe abgepumpt. Öldiffusionspumpen benötigen einen Vorvakuumdruck von ca. 0.1 mbar; sie erreichen Enddrücke bis ca. 10−9 mbar, je nach Dampfdruck des Diffusionspumpenöls.