Early-career researchers

In order to promote early-career researchers and to unite research and teaching, the Cluster of Excellence “Religion and Politics” runs a Graduate School with an interdisciplinary doctoral programme and special support for postdocs. This enables early-career researchers from the humanities and social sciences to participate independently in the interdisciplinary research of the Cluster of Excellence, and offers a focused and structured programme in which doctoral students and postdocs can write a thesis on an issue from the field of tension between religion and politics. Members of the Cluster of Excellence also feed their research into a wide range of interdisciplinary programmes of study.

The University of Münster has in recent years expanded its programmes of study in the subject areas of interdisciplinary research on religion, and will continue to do so in the future. A new interdisciplinary MA programme “Religion and Politics” is being planned, which will help prepare talented students for an academic career in the Cluster of Excellence or to train them for careers that are shaped by a growing cultural and religious diversity.

The Graduate School has since 2007 offered a focused and structured doctoral programme in which doctoral students from the humanities and social sciences can write a thesis on an issue from the field of tension between religion and politics. Doctoral students are supervised by a team of two professors and a doctoral mentor from the Cluster.

Since its foundation, the Cluster of Excellence has also made it its mission to offer postdoctoral researchers optimal working conditions for independent research and the opportunity to gain further academic qualifications. As independent project leaders in the research of the Cluster of Excellence “Religion and Politics”, postdocs have the same status as professors.

Nachwuchsfoerderung 2 1

Nachwuchsförderung

Zur Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses und der Einheit von Forschung und Lehre unterhält der Exzellenzcluster „Religion und Politik“ eine Graduiertenschule mit interdisziplinärem Promotionsprogramm sowie eine besondere Förderung von Postdocs. Dies ermöglicht Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftlern aus geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Fächern eine eigenständige Beteiligung an der interdisziplinären Forschung des Exzellenzclusters. Es fördert zudem eine konzentrierte und strukturierte Promotion beziehungsweise Habilitation über ein Thema aus dem Spannungsfeld von Religion und Politik. Die Mitglieder des Exzellenzclusters lassen außerdem ihre Forschungen über Religion und Politik in vielfältige interdisziplinäre Lehrangebote einfließen.

Die Universität Münster hat in den vergangenen Jahren ihr Lehrangebot in den Themenfeldern der interdisziplinären Religionsforschung erweitert und wird dies forcieren. In Planung ist ein neuer interdisziplinärer Master-Studiengang „Religion und Politik“, um begabte Studierende auf eine akademische Laufbahn im Exzellenzcluster vorzubereiten oder für Berufsfelder auszubilden, die von einer wachsenden kulturellen und religiösen Diversität geprägt sind.

Die Graduiertenschule fördert eine konzentrierte und strukturierte Promotion über ein Thema aus dem Spannungsfeld von Religion und Politik. Sie bietet Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Fächern seit 2007 ein interdisziplinäres Promotionsprogramm an. Die Betreuung der Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden übernimmt jeweils ein Team aus zwei Professorinnen oder Professoren sowie einer promovierten Mentorin oder einem promovierten Mentor des Forschungsverbundes.

Seit seiner Gründung macht es sich der Exzellenzcluster zudem zur Aufgabe, Postdoktorandinnen und Postdoktoranden optimale Arbeitsbedingungen für eigenverantwortliches Forschen und ihre akademische Weiterqualifizierung zu bieten. Die Postdocs haben als eigenständige Projektleiterinnen und Projektleiter in der Forschung des Exzellenzclusters „Religion und Politik“ denselben Status wie Professorinnen und Professoren.