© Arne Feldmann

Research at the Centre for Theological Gender Studies

The Centre for Theological Gender Studies initiates, supports and connects the research with a focus on gender undertaken by its members. This way, the research focuses and projects at the centre are as diverse and multidisciplinary as its members.

On these websites you can find…

… insights into current research projects at the Centre for Theological Gender Studies,

… publications with a focus on gender that were written or edited by members of the Centre for Theological Gender Studies.

© kfd Bundesverband

Spiritual Direction/Accompaniment in the German Catholic Women’s Association (kfd)

(Prof. Dr. Judith Könemann & Prof. Dr. Reinhard Feiter)


Currently, the promotion of women in ecclesiastical leadership is a highly relevant topic. Within the German Catholic Women’s Association (kfd), one of the German Women’s Associations with the highest number of members, a very important ministry has long been established: The ministry of a female spiritual director/accompanist.
Almost thirty years after women have taken over this ministry, which was initially only conducted by priests, the past development, the project reflects on reception and structure of this new form of organization. For this purpose, the project conducts a survey that includes a country-wide census as well as interviews.
Here, you can find further information: Projects

Theological and Ethical Gender Studies

(Prof. Dr. Marianne Heimbach-Steins, Dr. Maren Behrensen)


The worldwide struggle for recognition and implementation of human rights for women and girls is a challenge for Christian Social Ethics to develop a concept of gender equality. Such a concept needs to prove itself regarding gender relations in society as well as within the ecclesiastical context. In the past years, the ICS has compiled critical analyses in this field of research including topics like:

  • Gender Anthropology and Ethics
  • Gender Theories in the Context of Catholic Tradition
  • Gender Theories in Current Debates within the Church

Here, you can find further information: Projects

Forschung
© Arne Feldmann

Forschung an der Arbeitsstelle für Theologische Genderforschung

Die Arbeitsstelle für Theologische Genderforschung initiiert, fördert und vernetzt die genderbezogene Forschung ihrer Mitglieder. Damit sind die Forschungsschwerpunkte und -projekte der Arbeitsstelle so vielfältig und multidisziplinär wie ihre Mitglieder.

Auf diesen Seiten finden sich...

... Einblicke in aktuelle Forschungsprojekte, die an der Arbeitsstelle für Theologische Genderforschung angesiedelt sind,

... Publikationen mit Genderbezug, die von den Mitgliedern der Arbeitsstelle für Theologische Genderforschung verfasst oder herausgegeben wurden.

KFD-Projekt
© kfd Bundesverband

Geistliche Leitung/Begleitung in der Katholischen Frauengemeinschaft Deutschlands (kfd)

(Prof. Dr. Judith Könemann & Prof. Dr. Reinhard Feiter)

Aktuell ist das Thema der Förderung von Frauen in kirchlichen Leitungsaufgaben hochaktuell. In einem der mitgliederstärksten Frauenverbände Deutschlands, der Katholischen Frauengemeinschaft Deutschlands (kfd) hat sich schon seit längerer Zeit ein bedeutendes von Frauen ausgeübtes Amt etabliert, das Amt der geistlichen Leiterin/Begleiterin.
Knapp dreißig Jahre nach der Übernahme der ursprünglich von Priestern ausgeführten Tätigkeit durch Frauen wird die bisherige Entwicklung, Rezeption und Ausgestaltung dieser neuen Organisationsform reflektiert. Dazu wird eine Studie durchgeführt, die eine flächendeckende Erhebung sowie Interviews umfasst.

Nähere Informationen zum Projekt finden Sie hier: Projekte

Theologisch-Ethische Genderforschung

(Prof. Dr. Marianne Heimbach-Steins, Dr. Maren Behrensen)

Das weltweite Ringen um Anerkennung und Durchsetzung der Menschenrechte von Frauen und Mädchen fordert eine christliche Sozialethik heraus, ein Konzept der Geschlechtergerechtigkeit zu entwickeln. Dieses ist sowohl im Hinblick auf gesellschaftliche Geschlechterverhältnisse als auch im Kontext der Kirche kritisch geltend zu machen. In diesem Forschungsschwerpunkt wurden in den letzten Jahren kritische Analysen zu verschiedenen Themenbereichen erarbeitet, u.a.:

  • zur Geschlechteranthropologie und -ethik
  • zur Auseinandersetzung um Gendertheorien im Kontext katholischer Tradition
  • zu Gendertheorien in der aktuellen innerkirchlichen Debatte

Nähere Informationen zum Projekt finden Sie hier: Projekte