© AG Grashoff

Optimized microscopy method enables single molecule detection under native conditions

WWU researchers optimize super-resolution microscopy application for single molecule detection / Study published as cover story in ChemBioChem
The development of super-resolution microscopy, which was awarded the Nobel Prize in 2014, allows the analysis of cell biological processes with a precision of a few nanometers, making it even possible to differentiate between individual molecules within cells. One limitation of virtually all single-molecule resolved super-resolution approaches, however, is that the target molecules have to be genetically modified to allow precise measurements. Researchers at the WWU Münster have now optimized a protein labeling process so that native, unmodified proteins can be visualized and quantified with molecular resolution in their natural environment.

Background and method
High-resolution microscopy is typically based upon a procedure, in which a transient interaction between a fluorescent probe and the target molecule produces an isolated blinking signal that can be used to calculate its precise localization. For this purpose, however, the molecule of interest is usually genetically modified. For example, DNA-PAINT is based on the fact that a DNA binding site is attached to the target protein, to which a complementary fluorescent DNA strand can bind for detection. Other high-resolution microscopy methods use modifications by fluorescent proteins. Since such genetic modifications are undesirable in many applications and sometimes not even possible, new methods for the detection of unmodified, endogenous proteins are needed.
Lisa Fischer, PhD student in Prof. Carsten Grashoff's group, has therefore developed a procedure called Direct Peptide-PAINT, with which a central cell adhesion protein, Talin, can be labeled by a fluorescent interaction peptide. The first application did not only reveal the molecular distribution of this molecule in differentiating stem cells, it also allowed the first visualization of individual Talin proteins in tissue sections. The new method should therefore allow the investigation of adhesion processes under pathophysiological relevant conditions. The researchers expect that the new technique will be useful to obtain important, molecular insights into disorders that are based on dysfunctional cell adhesion.

Funding
The work was funded by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) and the Human Frontier Science Program.

Original publication
Lisa S. Fischer, Thomas Schlichthaerle, Anna Chrostek-Grashoff, and Carsten Grashoff. Peptide-PAINT Enables Investigation of Endogenous Talin with Molecular Scale Resolution in Cells and Tissues. DOI: 10.1002/cbic.202100301

The image shows localization clouds of individual adhesion proteins in cells. Many proteins remained undetectable when using conventional analytical methods. By using the new analytical method actual molecular parameters can be determined. Scale bar: 100 nm.
© Lisa Fischer und Carsten Grashoff

New microscopy analysis allows discovery of central adhesion complex

WWU researchers develop a new method for quantitative single-molecule colocalization analysis /Study published in Nature Communications
Cells of organisms are organized in subcellular compartments that consist of many individual molecules. How these single proteins are organized on the molecular level remains unclear, because suitable analytical methods are still missing. Researchers at the University of Münster together with colleagues from the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry (Munich) have established a new technique that enables quantifying molecular densities and nanoscale organizations of individual proteins inside cells. The first application of this approach reveals a complex of three adhesion proteins that appears to be crucial for the ability of cells to adhere to the surrounding tissue. The research results have just been published in the journal Nature Communications. more

© AG Grashoff

New mechanism of force transduction in muscle cells discovered

WWU researchers reveal mechanobiological function of muscle-specific adhesion protein / Study published in Nature Communications
The ability of cells to sense and respond to their mechanical environment is critical for many cellular processes but the molecular mechanisms underlying cellular mechanosensitivity are still unclear. Researchers at the University of Münster have now discovered how the muscle-specific adhesion molecule metavinculin modulates mechanical force transduction on the molecular level. The research results have just been published in the journal Nature Communications.

Background and methodology
The interaction of cells with their environment is mediated by specialized adhesion structures, which transduce mechanical forces inwards and out of cells. As cellular adhesions consist of hundreds of different proteins, it is still unclear how the mechanical information is transmitted on the molecular level. To study these processes in more detail, the Grashoff laboratory at the WWU Münster develops biosensors that allow the detection of piconewton-scale forces propagated across individual molecules in cells. In their most recent study, the authors applied their microscopy-based technique to the adhesion protein metavinculin, which is expressed in muscle cells and associated with cardiomyopathy, a heart muscle disease.
By analyzing a range of genetically modified cells, the authors demonstrate that the presence of metavinculin changes how mechanical forces are transduced in cell adhesion complexes. “Our data indicate that metavinculin could function as a molecular dampener, helping to resist high peak forces observed in muscle tissues“, explains Prof. Dr. Carsten Grashoff, principal investigator of the study. “This is a very interesting example of how the presence of a single protein can change the way mechanical information is processed in cells.”
Surprisingly, the authors did not observe any indications of cardiomyopathy in mice lacking metavinculin. This suggests that the pathophysiological role of metavinculin is more complex than previously assumed.more

Funding
The research work was funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG).

Original publication
Verena Kanoldt, Carleen Kluger, Christiane Barz, Anna-Lena Schweizer, Deepak Ramanujam, Lukas Windgasse, Stefan Engelhardt, Anna Chrostek-Grashoff, and Carsten Grashoff. Metavinculin modulates force transduction in cell adhesion sites. Nature Communications. DOI : 10.1038/s41467-020-20125-z.

© Springer Verlag

Myosins: A Superfamily of Molecular Motors

A comprehensive account was published of the current understanding of myosins, actin-based molecular motors, that contains a chapter on the current knowledge of class IX myosins that was contributed by the Bähler group. Class IX myosins demonstrate not only unique motor properties, but simultaneously serve as negative regulators of an important signaling pathway that controls various cellular processes such as e.g. cell morphology and cell migration.

© S. Lemke et al.

How do muscle and tendon connections last a lifetime?

Cell biologists show in fruit flies how a protein controls mechanical stress on muscle-tendon attachments.
Muscles are connected to tendons to power animal movements such as running, swimming or flying. Forces are produced by myofibrils, contractile chains of actin and myosin, which are pulling on muscle-tendon connections called attachments. During animal development, these muscle-tendon attachments must be established such that they resist high mechanical forces for the entire life of the animal. How the individual protein molecules that build the attachments ‘feel’ the mechanical forces inside an intact muscle can now be measured with modern cell and developmental biology techniques. An interdisciplinary team lead by Frank Schnorrer and Carsten Grashoff at the Developmental Biology Institute of CNRS & Aix Marseille University, the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry in Munich and the Institute for Molecular Cell Biology at University of Münster has now been able to quantify the mechanical forces transmitted by a key attachment protein called Talin during the development of muscle attachments. Sandra Lemke, a PhD student in the Schnorrer group, used the flight muscles of the fruit fly Drosophila for these molecular force measurements and found that a surprisingly small proportion of Talin molecules experiences detectable forces at developing muscle-tendon attachments. She found that muscles deal with the increasing tissue forces by recruiting an high number of Talin molecules to attachments. This way, many Talin molecules can dynamically share the high peak forces produced during muscle contractions, for example while flying. This mechanical adaptation concept ensures that muscle-tendon connections can last for life. These new results have just been published in PLoS Biology. more

Herzlich willkommen am Institut für Integrative Zellbiologie und Physiologie

 

Hier entsteht die Homepage des neu gegründeten Instituts für Integrative Zellbiologie und Physiologie (IIZP), das aus dem Zusammenschluss des Instituts für Molekulare Zellbiologie (IMZ) und dem Institut für Zoophysiologie (IZP) hervorgegangen ist.

Dieses neue Institut entstand aus der Erkenntnis, dass physiologische und zellbiologische Prozesse eng miteinander verknüpft sind und nicht unabhängig voneinander verstanden werden können. Das IIZP hat die Mission, die komplexen Strukturen und physiologischen Prozesse in tierischen Zellen und Organismen auf unterschiedlichen Zeit- und Größenskalen zu untersuchen. Unser Ziel ist es, durch diesen Ansatz die molekularen, zellulären und biophysikalischen Prinzipien entwicklungsbiologisch, physiologisch und pathologisch relevanter Prozesse aufzuklären.

Die Forschungsarbeiten am IIZP integrieren Experimente an einzelnen Molekülen, isolierten Zellen, Geweben und lebenden Organismen. Dabei werden unterschiedliche Modellsysteme genutzt, die von Zellkulturen, Amöben, Krebstieren, Fadenwürmern und Fruchtfliegen bis hin zum Mausmodell reichen. Für unseren integrativen Forschungsansatz kombinieren wir biochemische und genetische Verfahren mit hoch-auflösenden, quantitativen Mikroskopie-Methoden.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf den Seiten unserer Forschungsgruppen.


 

Aktuelles

Dezember 2021
© Di Meo and Püschel

Neuer Signalweg zur Regulierung axonaler Mitochondrien entdeckt

Mehr zur Arbeit finden Sie hier.

Forschungsförderung
Die Arbeit wurde durch die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) unterstützt.

Originalpublikation
Di Meo, D., Ravindran, P., Sadhanasatish, T., Dhumale, P., Püschel, A.W. (2021). The balance of mitochondrial fission and fusion in cortical axons depends on the kinases SadA and SadB. Cell Rep.  37, 110141. doi: 10.1016/j.celrep.2021.110141.

Juli 2021
© AG Grashoff

Optimiertes Mikroskopie-Verfahren ermöglicht Einzelmolekül-Detektion unter nativen Bedingungen

WWU Forscher optimieren Hochauflösungsmikroskopie-Anwendung zur Einzelmolekül-Detektion / Studie als Coverstory in ChemBioChem publiziert
Die Entwicklung der Hochauflösungsmikroskopie, die 2014 mit dem Nobelpreis ausgezeichnet wurde, erlaubt die Analyse zellbiologischer Prozesse mit einer Präzision von wenigen Nanometern, was sogar die Unterscheidung einzelner Moleküle innerhalb von Zellen möglich macht. Eine Limitation dieser Methode ist jedoch, dass in aller Regel die Zielmoleküle genetisch modifiziert werden müssen, um eine möglichst präzise Messung zu erreichen. Forschern an der WWU Münster haben nun ein Proteinmarkierungs-Verfahren optimiert, so dass auch native, nicht-modifizierte Proteine in ihrer natürlichen Umgebung auf der Einzelmolekülebene sichtbar gemacht und quantifiziert werden können.

Hintergrund und Methode
Hochauflösungsmikroskopie wird in der Regel mit einem Verfahren ermöglicht, bei dem durch eine kurzzeitige Anbindung von fluoreszent-markierten Proben Signale an einzelnen Molekülen erzeugt werden, wodurch deren genaue Lokalisation innerhalb der Zelle berechnet werden kann. Hierzu wird jedoch in aller Regel das zu untersuchende Molekül genetisch modifiziert. DNA-PAINT beruht zum Beispiel darauf, dass eine DNA-Bindestelle an das Zielprotein angebracht wird, an die wiederum komplementäre, fluoreszierende DNA-Stränge zur Detektion binden können. Andere Hochauflösungsmikroskopie-Methoden beruhen auf der Modifikation durch fluoreszente Proteine, die nach Wunsch an- und ausgeschaltet werden. Da solche genetischen Modifikationen in vielen Anwendungen aber unerwünscht und mitunter auch gar nicht möglich sind, bedarf es neuer Methoden zur Detektion nicht modifizierter, endogener Proteine.
Lisa Fischer, Doktorandin in der Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Carsten Grashoff, entwickelte daher nun ein Verfahren, genannt Direct Peptide-PAINT, mit dem ein zentrales Zelladhäsionsprotein, Talin, mit einem fluoreszierenden Interaktions-Peptid markiert werden kann. Die erste Anwendung lieferte so nicht nur ersten Einblicke in die Verteilung dieses Moleküls in differenzierenden Stammzellen, es konnten auch erstmals einzelne Talin-Proteine in Gewebeschnitten sichtbar gemacht werden. Das neue Verfahren scheint daher geeignet, um die Untersuchung von Adhäsionsprozessen unter patho-physiologischen relevanten Bedingungen möglich zu machen. Die Forscher erwarten, dass dies wichtige, molekulare Einblicke in Krankheitsbilder erlaubt, denen eine dysfunktionale Zelladhäsion zu Grunde liegt.

Forschungsförderung
Die Arbeiten wurden durch die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) und dem Human Frontier Science Programm gefördert.

Originalpublikation
Lisa S. Fischer, Thomas Schlichthaerle, Anna Chrostek-Grashoff, and Carsten Grashoff. Peptide-PAINT Enables Investigation of Endogenous Talin with Molecular Scale Resolution in Cells and Tissues. DOI: 10.1002/cbic.202100301

Februar 2021
Das Bild zeigt Lokalisationssignale einzelner Adhäsionsproteine in Zellen. Bei bisherigen Verfahren blieb ein wesentlicher Anteil der Moleküle unerkannt. Durch das neue Verfahren können die tatsächlich zugrunde liegenden molekularen Parameter bestimmt werden. Maßstabsleiste: 100 nm.
© AG Grashoff

Zentraler Adhäsionskomplex durch neues Analyseverfahren nachgewiesen

Forscher der WWU entwickeln neues Verfahren zur Einzelmolekülanalyse / Studie in „Nature Communications“
Die Zellen von Organismen sind aus Untereinheiten aufgebaut, die sich aus einer Vielzahl einzelner Moleküle zusammensetzen. Wie sich diese unterschiedlichen Proteine auf molekularer Ebene anordnen, ist in vielen Fällen allerdings noch unverstanden, da es an geeigneten Analyseverfahren mangelt. Forscherinnen und Forscher an der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität (WWU) Münster haben nun in Zusammenarbeit mit Kollegen am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie, München, ein Verfahren entwickelt, mit dem sich die Anordnung und Dichte von einzelnen Proteinen in Zellen bestimmen lässt. Durch die Anwendung der neuen Analysemethode wies das Team einen Komplex aus drei sogenannten Adhäsionsproteinen nach, der für die Fähigkeit von Zellen, sich im Gewebe anheften zu können, eine zentrale Rolle zu spielen scheint. Die Studienergebnisse wurden jetzt in der Fachzeitschrift „Nature Communications“ veröffentlicht. mehr

Finanzierung

Die Arbeiten wurden durch die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) gefördert.

Originalpublikation

L.S. Fischer, C. Klingner, T. Schlichthaerle, M.T. Strauss, R. Böttcher, R. Fässler, R. Jungmann, C. Grashoff. Quantitative single-protein imaging reveals molecular complex formation of integrin, talin, and kindlin during cell adhesion. Nature Communications 12, 919 (2021). DOI: 10.1038/s41467-021-21142-2

Dezember 2021
© AG Grashoff

Neuer Mechanismus der molekularen Kraftübertragung in Muskelzellen entdeckt

Forscher der WWU weisen mechano-biologische Funktion eines Muskel-spezifischen Proteins nach / Studie in Nature Communications publiziert
Die Fähigkeit von Zellen, mechanische Reize erkennen und beantworten zu können, ist für eine Vielzahl zellulärer Prozesse wichtig. Die Mechanismen, welche diesen Prozessen zu Grunde liegen, sind jedoch auf molekularer Ebene noch weitgehend unverstanden. Wissenschaftler der Universität Münster haben nun herausgefunden, wie das muskelspezifische Adhäsionsprotein Metavinkulin die Übertragung mechanischer Kräfte in Zellen moduliert. Ihre Arbeit wurde vor kurzem in Nature Communications veröffentlicht.

Hintergrund und Methode
Die Interaktion von Zellen mit dem umgebenden Gewebe werden von spezialisierten Adhäsionsstrukturen vermittelt, die mechanischer Informationen in und aus der Zelle weiterleiten. Da diese Strukturen aus einer Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Proteine bestehen, ist es aber unklar, wie mechanische Signale auf molekularer Ebene übertragen werden. Um derartige Prozesse genauer verstehen zu können, entwickelt das Grashoff Labor an der WWU Münster Biosensoren, mit denen durch mikroskopische Verfahren mechanische Kräfte von nur wenigen Pikonewton bestimmt werden können. In der neuesten Studie wurde diese Technik auf Metavinkulin angewandt, ein Adhäsionsprotein das in Muskelzellen vorkommt und mit einer Herzerkrankung, genannt Kardiomyopathie, in Verbindung gebracht wird.
Indem eine Reihe genetisch veränderter Zellen mikroskopisch vermessen wurden, konnten die Autoren nun nachweisen, dass die Gegenwart von Metavinkulin die Art der molekularen Kraftübertragung moduliert. “Unsere Daten zeigen, dass Metavinkulin eine Funktion als mechanisches Dämpfer-Protein haben könnte, damit Muskelgewebe hohen mechanischen Belastungen besser standhalten“, erklärt der Studienleiter Prof. Dr. Carsten Grashoff. “Dies ist ein recht interessantes Beispiel dafür, wie einzelne Proteine die Kraftübertragung in Zellen verändern können.”
Überraschenderweise fanden die Autoren im Mausmodell keinen Hinweis darauf, dass die Abwesenheit von Metavinkulin zu Kardiomyopathie führt. Dies weist darauf hin, dass die Funktion von Metavinkulin deutlich komplexer ist als bisher gedacht. mehr

Forschungsförderung
Die Arbeiten wurden durch die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) gefördert.

Originalpublikation
Verena Kanoldt, Carleen Kluger, Christiane Barz, Anna-Lena Schweizer, Deepak Ramanujam, Lukas Windgasse, Stefan Engelhardt, Anna Chrostek-Grashoff, and Carsten Grashoff. Metavinculin modulates force transduction in cell adhesion sites. DOI: 10.1038/s41467-020-20125-z.

Juni 2020
© Springer Nature

Myosine: Eine Superfamilie von Molekularmotoren

Ein neues Buch ist erschienen, das umfassend die Myosinproteine, aktinabhängige Motormoleküle, beschreibt. Darin enthalten ist ein Artikel der AG Bähler der das aktuelle Wissen zu den Klasse IX Myosinen zusammenfasst. Klasse IX Myosine besitzen nicht nur einzigartige Motoreigenschaften, sondern sind gleichzeitig negative Regulatoren eines wichtigen Signalweges, der verschiedene zelluläre Prozesse, wie beispielsweise Zellmorphologie und Zellwanderung, steuert.