(B2-4) "The Ukrainian Bastion" – the Bulwark of Europe and antemurale christianitatis. The Nationalisation of a Myth.

A. Bazylevych. Illustration for Ivan Kotliarevs´kyjs poem "Eneida“ (1967).

The study investigates the origin, development and the modern instrumentalisation, in regard to both religion and politics, of the myth of antemurale christianitatis in Ukrainian history and its present state. The underlying proposition is that today, “Christian bastion” describes a political myth which evolved from Ukraine’s complex marginality and which, as an explanatory and legitimation strategy, has considerably contributed to the formation of the Ukrainian national self-conception. The project traces how the late medieval notion of an antemurale christianitatis changed to a political myth in the Ukrainian region in the course of its historical development; a myth which, in the middle of the 19th century, started to turn into a central component of nation building.

Compared to Croatia, Hungary or Poland – themselves historical supporters of a “stronghold” ideology – two specifically Ukrainian topoi can be identified in the antemurale myth:

  1. With regard to the religious factor, the Ukrainian situation is considerably more complex than in other countries. The churches of the Byzantian rites dominate in the history of Ukraine, not those of the Latin rites. The role of the Orthodox and the Greek Catholic Churches in the formation of marginality myths is inevitably more complex than in Catholic countries. The central question here is whether Orthodox regions with their anti-Ottoman “protective barrier function” are regarded as being on a par with Catholic countries.
  2. Another characteristic of the Ukrainian version of the “pre-mural myth” lies in the historical conjunction with the Cossack myth. This is a central element of the specific reformulation of the antemurale myth and forms an ever recurring core component of the current historical narrative of the Ukraine.
Beauplan. Guillaume Le Vasseur sieur de. Description d'Ukranie, qui sont plusieurs provinces du Royaume de Pologne (1660). Fragment.

Against this backdrop, one of the main objectives of this research project is the investigation of the relationships between the described mythological elements including their symbolic and visual representations (in monuments, fictional texts, celebrations etc.) and the formation of a Ukrainian national ideology.

Chronologically, the project covers the period from the end of the 16th century up to the present. It is divided into three parts.

  1. The first part deals with the appearance of the most important forms of expression for the Cossack “bastion” myth from the end of the 16th to the early 18th century. Research on this part has already been completed for the most part; some results have already been published.
  2. The second key period covers the so-called “long 19th century” from the first literary texts on the topic of Ukrainian nationality at the end of the 18th century to World War I. During this time, the antemurale myth constituted an important element in the national ideology. Evidently, different groups of Ukrainian intellectuals and church dignitaries suggested new priorities in the interpretation of the “Ukrainian Bastion” – both in the Russian Empire and in Austria-Hungary during the period of the “national resurrection” from the mid-19th to the early 20th century. To hold together parts of the Ukraine which were drifting apart in their ideological perspectives, the significance of the anti-Turkish component was downgraded, for instance. Instead, priority was given to the idea of the “Cossack” Ukrainian people which had to accomplish the special mission of defending the religious values of eastern Christianity and the European civilization as a whole.
  3. The analysis of the third period – from the middle of the 20th century to the present – evaluates current Ukrainian debates in political, intellectual cultural and church circles on questions of historical myths, the affiliation with Europe and religious and national identities.

The Project is part of interconnecting platform H Cultural Ambiguity and coordinated project group Secularisation and sacralisation of media.

(B2-4) „Die ukrainische Bastion“ – Vormauer Europas und antemurale christianitatis. Nationalisierung eines Mythos

Anatolyj Bazylevych. Illustration zum Ivan Kotliarevs´kyjs Poem „Eneida“ (1967).

Die Studie untersucht Ursprung, Entwicklung und die moderne, sowohl religiöse als auch politische Instrumentalisierung des antemurale christianitatis-Mythos in der ukrainischen Geschichte und Gegenwart. Grundlegende Prämisse ist, dass „christliche Bastion“ heute einen politischen Mythos bezeichnet, der aus der komplexen Grenzlage der Ukraine heraus entstanden ist und als Erklärungs- und Legitimationsstrategie in erheblichem Maße zur Bildung des ukrainischen nationalen Selbstverständnisses beigetragen hat. Das Projekt soll nachzeichnen, wie sich im Verlauf historischer Entwicklung die spätmittelalterliche Idee eines antemurale christianitatis im Gebiet der Ukraine in einen politischen Mythos verwandelte, der seit der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts zu einer zentralen Komponente des nation building wurde.

Im Vergleich zu Kroatien, Ungarn oder Polen, ihrerseits historische Träger einer „Festungs“-Ideologie, kann man zwei spezifisch ukrainischer Topoi im antemurale-Mythos identifizieren:

  1. Die ukrainische Situation ist im Hinblick auf den religiösen Faktor erheblich komplexer als in anderen Ländern. In der ukrainischen Geschichte dominieren die Kirchen des byzantinischen, nicht des lateinischen Ritus. Die Rolle der Orthodoxen und der Griechisch-Katholischen Kirchen bei der Bildung von Grenzland-Mythen ist zwangsläufig vielschichtiger als in katholischen Ländern. Die zentrale Frage hier lautet, ob orthodoxe Regionen in ihrer antiosmanischen “Schutzmauer- Funktion“ als gleichwertig mit katholischen Ländern betrachtet werden.
  2. Eine andere Besonderheit in der ukrainischen Version des „Vormauer-Mythos“ liegt in der historischen Verbindung mit dem Kosakenmythos. Dies ist ein zentrales Element der spezifischen Neuformulierung des antemurale-Mythos und bildet eine immer wiederkehrenden Kernkomponente gegenwärtiger historischer Narrative der Ukraine.
Beauplan. Guillaume Le Vasseur sieur de. Description d'Ukranie, qui sont plusieurs provinces du Royaume de Pologne (1660). Fragment.

Vor diesem Hintergrund bildet die Untersuchung der Beziehungen zwischen den beschriebenen mythologischen Elementen einschließlich ihrer symbolischen und visuellen Repräsentation (in Denkmälern, fiktionalen Texten, Feiern etc.) und der Bildung einer ukrainischen nationalen Ideologie ein Hauptziel dieses Forschungsprojektes.

Chronologisch umfasst das Projekt den Zeitraum vom Ende des 16. Jahrhunderts bis in die Gegenwart. Es gliedert sich in drei Teile.

  1. Der erste Teil gilt dem Entstehen der wichtigsten Ausdrucksformen für den kosakischen „Bastions“-Mythos vom Ende des 16. bis ins frühe 18. Jahrhundert. Zu diesem Teil ist die Forschung bereits im Wesentlichen abgeschlossen, einige Ergebnisse sind bereits publiziert.
  2. Die zweite Schlüsselperiode umfasst das so genannte „lange 19. Jahrhundert“ von den ersten literarischen Texten zum Thema ukrainischer Nationalität am Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts bis zum Ersten Weltkrieg. In dieser Zeit bildete der antemurale-Mythos ein wichtiges Element der nationalen Ideologie. Offensichtlich präsentierten verschiedene Gruppen ukrainischer Intellektueller und kirchlicher Würdenträger sowohl im Russischen Reich als auch in Österreich Ungarn im Laufe der Periode der „nationalen Wiedergeburt“, also von der Mitte des 19. bis ins frühe 20. Jahrhundert, neue Prioritäten in der Interpretation der „ukrainischen Bastion“. Um die in ideologischer Perspektive auseinanderdriftenden Teile der Ukraine zusammenzuhalten, wurde etwa die anti-türkische Komponente bewusst in ihrer Bedeutung herabgestuft. Priorität kam stattdessen der Idee des „kosakischen“ ukrainischen Volkes zu, das eine besondere Mission zur Verteidigung religiöser Werte des östlichen Christentums und der europäischen Zivilisation als Ganzes zu erfüllen hat.
  3. Die Analyse der dritten Periode – von der Mitte des 20. Jahrhundert bis in die Gegenwart – wertet aktuelle ukrainische Debatten in politischen, intellektuell-kulturellen und kirchlichen Kreisen aus zu Fragen von historischen Mythen, der Zugehörigkeit zu Europa, religiösen und nationalen Identitäten.


Das Projekt ist Teil der Arbeitsplattform H Kulturelle Ambiguität und der Koordinierten Projektgruppe Säkularisierung und Sakralisierung der Medien.