Events During the Exhibition

List of events taking place during the exhibition from 15-29 May 2022

All events take place in the exhibition space at the Orangery of the Botanical Garden.

The exhibition is open daily from 10am-7pm. On event days (17., 19., 24.05.) the exhibition closes at 4pm due to reconstruction.

Admission to all events, guided tours and the exhibition is free of charge.

The exhibit will also be on display at the University of Arizona in the fall of 2022.

When? What?
May 15th, 6pm Opening of the exhibition
May 17th, 6pm Lecture with Christoph Dittert (author of Perry Rhodan)
May 18th, 4pm

What can plants really do?

Special guided tour in cooperation with Dr. Dennise Bauer (Custodian of the Botanical Garden): The Custodian of the Botanical Garden, Dr. Dennise Bauer, and the head of the Eden Project, Katharina Scheerer, lead a tour through the Botanical Garden and compare what botany and literature know about plants.

Click here to sign up

May 19th,  6pm

Lecture by Dr. Solvejg Nitzke (TU Dresden): „Dark Green Monsters. Thought Experiments in Botany“

Abstract: Science Fiction is not only a literary/fictional genre, but a mode of thinking through seemingly impossible propositions. New results in botany, plant physiology and neurology as well as ecology pose several such propositions: plants move and communicate, they remember and plan ahead – that sounds monstrous not only to an SF-inclined mind. In fact, the consequences of these scientific insights are not limited to science. To the contrary, many of the vegetal capabilities seem to transgress customary modes of knowledge production. The abstract insight into the epistemic conditions of human-plant-relationships become concrete in SF-tales, where trees walk, weeds form planets and the difference between vegetal and animal worlds blurs… In my talk, I will introduce several „dark green monsters“ as models for post-human ecologies and SF as an epistemic mode neither limited to science nor fiction.

The lecture will be given in German.

May 20th, 5pm

Guided Tour with Katharina Scheerer

Click here to sign up

May 24th, 6pm WWU-Short Story Competition "Green Tales"
Award Ceremony and Reading of the winning stories
May 25th, 4pm

What can plants really do?

Special guided tour in cooperation with Dr. Dennise Bauer (Custodian of the Botanical Garden): The Custodian of the Botanical Garden, Dr. Dennise Bauer, and the head of the Eden Project, Katharina Scheerer, lead a tour through the Botanical Garden and compare what botany and literature know about plants.

Click here to sign up

May 29th, 2pm

Guided Tour with Katharina Scheerer

Click here to sign up

© WWU | Aline Klieber

Veranstaltungen zur Ausstellung

Hier finden Sie alle Termine rund um die Ausstellung vom 15.-29. Mai 2022

Alle Veranstaltungen finden in der Ausstellung in der Orangerie des Botanischen Gartens statt.

Die Ausstellung ist täglich von 10-19 Uhr geöffnet. An Veranstaltungstagen (17., 19., 24.05.) schließt die Ausstellung wegen Umbau bereits um 16 Uhr.

Der Eintritt zu Veranstaltungen, Führungen und zur Ausstellung ist frei.

Im Herbst 2022 wird die Ausstellung zudem an der University of Arizona zu sehen sein.

Wann?

Was?

15. Mai,
18 Uhr
Ausstellungseröffnung
17. Mai,
18 Uhr
Lesung mit Christoph Dittert (Autor, u.a. Perry Rhodan)
18. Mai, 16 Uhr

Was können Pflanzen wirklich?

Spezialführung in Kooperation mit Dr. Dennise Bauer (Kustos Botanischer Garten): Der Kustos des Botanischen Gartens, Dr. Dennise Bauer, und die Leiterin des Eden-Projektes, Katharina Scheerer, führen durch den Botanischen Garten und gleichen ab, was Botanik und Literatur von Pflanzen wissen.

Anmeldung per E-Mail hier

19. Mai,
18 Uhr

Vortrag von Dr. Solvejg Nitzke (TU Dresden): „Dark Green Monsters. Botanische Gedankenexperimente“

Abstract: Science Fiction ist nicht nur ein literarisches/fiktionales Genre, sondern ein Modus, der es erlaubt, scheinbar unmögliche Annahmen zu durchdenken. Die Ergebnisse der neuen Botanik, Pflanzenphysiologie und –neurologie und Ökologie sind reich an solchen Annahmen: Pflanzen sind mobil und kommunikativ, sie erinnern sich und planen voraus – das klingt nicht nur für SF-Ohren monströs. Tatsächlich überschreiten solche Resultate das, was in wissenschaftlicher Sprache überhaupt ausgedrückt werden kann und haben weit darüber hinausreichende Konsequenzen. Die abstrakten Erkundungen der epistemischen Bedingungen von Beziehungen zwischen Menschen und Pflanzen werden in Science Fiction konkretisiert. Hier können Bäume sprechen, Wildkräuter formen Planeten und der Unterschied zwischen Pflanze und Tier wird unscharf… In meinem Vortrag werde ich eine Reihe von „dark green monsters“ als Modelle post-humaner Ökologien vorstellen und erkunden, was SF als epistemischer Modus leisten kann, der weder auf „science“ noch auf „fiction“ begrenzt ist.

20. Mai, 17 Uhr

Führung mit Katharina Scheerer

Anmeldung per E-Mail hier

24. Mai,
18 Uhr
WWU-Kurzgeschichtenwettbewerb „Green Tales“
Preisverleihung und Autor:innenlesung
25. Mai, 16 Uhr

Was können Pflanzen wirklich?

Spezialführung in Kooperation mit Dr. Dennise Bauer (Kustos Botanischer Garten): Der Kustos des Botanischen Gartens, Dr. Dennise Bauer, und die Leiterin des Eden-Projektes, Katharina Scheerer, führen durch den Botanischen Garten und gleichen ab, was Botanik und Literatur von Pflanzen wissen.

Anmeldung per E-Mail hier

29. Mai, 14 Uhr

 Führung mit Katharina Scheerer

Anmeldung per E-Mail hier

© WWU | Aline Klieber