Offers for female university students

© MExLab

Travel allowance

You can never start soon enough! Even if you are not yet a member of a working group, you can still attend conferences and workshops.

Every year, for example, the German Conference of Women in Physics takes place and the Working Group on Equal Opportunities (AKC) of the German Physical Society (DPG) offers annual workshops on soft skills, career profiles for women in physics or time management. You can apply for a travel allowance for these or other events. In the newsletter you will be informed you about conferences and events.

© MExLab

Collaboration as a student assistant

The Department of Physics is one of the most active in terms of promoting young talent, especially among schoolgirls. Projects such as GirlsGo4Green or Nano4YourLife have enabled us to actively involve female university students, for example as student assistants. Are you interested and would like to earn money while you pursue your education? Then get in touch with us!

Financial support for female doctoral students in the Department of Physics

The Department of Physics has set up a support program for female doctoral students with the aim of individually promoting the further career of female physicists during their doctorate. The program supports special events that go beyond typical conferences and make female physicists visible, usually with active participation. These include international conferences and symposia, summer schools or special continuing education and conference formats.
Typical participation in conferences of the German Physical Society or classic national conferences is not funded. Here, the working group leadership is expected to support doctoral researchers regardless of gender. Participation in conferences for female physicists and further training courses explicitly for female physicists are also not funded, as long as these can be funded from the central gender equality program.

Funding is provided in the form of lump sums depending on the conference venues:

  • Research stays (European 1,200 €, non-European 1,500 €)
  • Active participation in summer schools, preferably of an interdisciplinary nature, to acquire complementary subject knowledge (600 € nationally, 800 € internationally, 1,000 € overseas)
  • International conferences or special events for career advancement (200 € national, 400 € international, 600 € overseas)

For all events, an active contribution, e.g. in the form of a poster or a lecture, is generally expected. In addition, the benefit must go beyond a purely professional one.
Getting funding twice in one year is not possible; other funding opportunities should be exhausted. A supportive statement from the supervisor with a commitment that the funds exceeding the lump sum will be provided must be enclosed.


Application deadlines are at the end of each quarter.

The application should be made in a form-based way via email (denz@uni-muenster.de or melanie.becher@wwu.de) to the Equal Opportunities Officer of the Physics Department:

Prof. Dr. Cornelia Denz,
Institute for Applied Physics,
Corrensstr. 2/4
48149 Münster

The form for applying for funding can be downloaded  here.

The information on the funding programme is provided  here as a pdf.

Angebote für Studentinnen

Reisekostenzuschuss

Tagungsbesuch
© MExLab

Mann kann nie früh genug anfangen! Auch wenn ihr als Studentin noch keiner Arbeitsgruppe angehört, könnt ihr bereits Tagungen und Workshops besuchen.

Jedes Jahr findet z.B. die Physikerinnentagung statt und der Arbeitskreis Chancengleichheit (AKC) der DPG bietet jährlich Workshops zu Softskills, Berufsbildern für Frauen in der Physik oder Zeitmanagement an. Zu diesen oder auch weiteren Veranstaltungen könnt ihr einen Reiskostenzuschuss beantragen. Im Newsletter informieren wir euch über Tagungen und Veranstaltungen.

Mitarbeit als Studentische Hilfskraft

Studentische Hilfskraefte
© MExLab

 

Der Fachbereich Physik ist einer der aktivsten in Bezug auf die Nachwuchsarbeit gerade bei den Schülerinnen. Projekte wie GirlsGo4Green oder Nano4YourLife ermöglichten es uns, Studentinnen aktiv zum Beispiel als Studentische Hilfskraft zu beteiligen. Du bist interessiert und möchtest nebenbei noch Geld verdienen? Dann melde dich bei uns!

Finanzielle Förderung für Doktorandinnen des Fachbereichs Physik

Der Fachbereich Physik hat ein Förderprogramm für Doktorandinnen aufgelegt, das zum Ziel hat, die weitere Karriere von Physikerinnen während der Promotion individuell zu fördern. Fördergegenstand sind über typische Tagungen hinausgehende, besondere Veranstaltungen, durch die die Physikerinnen mit in der Regel aktiver Teilnahme sichtbar werden. Dazu gehören internationale Tagungen und Fachtagungen, Sommerschulen oder besondere Weiterbildungs- und Tagungsformate.
Typische Beteiligungen an Tagungen der DPG oder klassischen nationalen Tagungen werden nicht gefördert. Hier wird erwartet, dass die Arbeitsgruppenleitung Promovierende unabhängig vom Geschlecht fördert. Nicht gefördert werden auch Teilnahmen an Physikerinnentagung und Weiterbildungen explizit für Physikerinnen, solange diese aus dem zentralen Gleichstellungsprogramm gefördert werden können.

Die Förderung erfolgt in Form von Pauschalen abhängig von den Tagungsorten:

  • Forschungsaufenthalte (europäisch 1.200 €, außereuropäisch 1.500 €)
  • Aktive Beteiligung an Sommerschulen mit vorzugsweise interdisziplinärem Charakter zum Erlernen komplementären fachlichen Wissens (600 € national, 800 € international, 1.000 € Übersee)
  • Internationale Tagungen oder besondere Veranstaltungen zur Förderung der Karriere (200 € national, 400 € international, 600 € Übersee)

Bei allen Veranstaltungen wird in der Regel ein aktiver Beitrag, z.B., in Form eines Posters oder eines Vortrags, erwartet. Zudem muss der Nutzen über einen reinen fachlichen hinausgehen.
Eine Doppelförderung ist nicht möglich, andere Fördermöglichkeiten sollen ausgeschöpft werden. Eine unterstützende Stellungnahme des Betreuers / der Betreuerin mit einer Zusage, dass die über die Pauschalen hinausgehenden Mittel bereitgestellt werden, ist beizufügen.


Bewerbungstermine sind jeweils zum Ende des Quartals.
In 2019 sind die Termine daher der 31.03., der 30.06., der 30.09. sowie der 31.12..

Die Beantragung erfolgt formularbasiert via email (denz@uni-muenster.de oder melanie.kind@wwu.de) an die Gleichstellungsbeauftragte des FB Physik:

Prof. Dr. Cornelia Denz,
Institut für Angewandte Physik,
Corrensstr. 2/4
48149 Münster

Das Formular zur Beantragung der Förderung kann hier heruntergeladen werden.

Die Informationen zum Förderprogramm werden hier als pdf zur Verfügung gestellt.