© WWU IT

Organisation

In order to fulfil its various tasks, WWU IT has seven specialist departments in addition to the management. The task descriptions as well as responsible persons can be found below under the respective area.

  • Management

    The management represents WWU IT externally and is responsible for the strategic planning. It bears overall responsibility for personnel management and the budget.

  • Department 1: Management Services

    The Management Services department supports the management and the other departments in strategic issues. This includes, in particular, the topic of personnel, but also the preparation of funding applications, reporting to internal and external stakeholders and the preparation of contractual documents. Another focus of the department is the WWU IT's external image as well as the scientifically supported evaluation and optimisation of the WWU IT's services and internal processes. The department is also responsible for the topic of competence transfer, i.e. the WWU IT lectures and software courses.

  • Department 2: Methods & Coordination

    The Methods & Coordination department is responsible for requirement, process, project and multi-project management. A requirement is a customer need that requires a process change or a new development. A project is a type of requirement that is so complex that it requires its own organisational form and extensive human and financial resources. Beyond project management, the department is responsible for the budget control of all WWU IT projects.

  • Department 3: Service Competence Center

    The Service Competence Center supports the other IT departments in the introduction of new projects and is the point of contact for customers in the operation of the applications. Service processes are optimised, planned, controlled and monitored. Internal service level agreements are made with the other departments and compliance is ensured. Other key topics are the provision of the IT infrastructure for the administration and the provision of the SAP basis. The department also trains IT specialists in system integration and digitalisation management specialists.

  • Department 4: Specialist Applications

    The Specialist Applications department operates and expands (also as part of major projects) customised, university-wide applications and interfaces from all areas of the university and to external partners - in particular the campus management systems (HIS/SAP SLcM) as well as the SAP systems for finance, controlling, human resources, purchasing and interfaces, gateway and identity management. Building management, document management system, congress administration, payment module as well as customer-specific individual applications and in-house developments for self-services, information systems, outputs and workflows are also offered. Customer or user groups are students, departments/institutes, facilities, employees, applicants, authorities, cooperation partners and external companies.

  • Department 5: Application Integration

    The Application Integration department integrates complex software structures and platforms into the university context. For this purpose, university databases including ERP and IdM sources are connected via API interfaces or data streams are created, the front end is adapted to the WWU's corporate identity concept, multi-client capability is implemented and the necessary databases are set up and operated. For smaller projects, complete software is also developed. The department operates and further develops the WWU's IdM system, and supports activities in the area of data science. Another focus of the department is audiovisual media design. This includes, for example, advice on the design and creation of posters and 3D objects, advice and training in photography and image editing, and advice and training in film design and production.

  • Department 6: Systems

    The Systems department operates server and storage systems, including the server rooms, as the central infrastructure of the WWU's IT service providers.

  • Department 7: Communication Systems

    The Communication Systems department develops, plans and operates the WWU communication network and is the central contact for internal and external institutions in this regard. The main topics include Internet access, LAN, WLAN, cabling, VPN access, central network services, network security, VoIP telephony, ISDN telephony, unified collaboration services, mobile communications and audiovisual media technology. The development and planning of the overall system is carried out as a cross-sectional task across all departments. The department also trains IT system electronics technicians and IT specialists.

© WWU IT

Organisation

Die WWU IT verfügt zur Erfüllung ihrer unterschiedlichen Aufgaben neben der Leitung über sieben Fachabteilungen. Die Aufgabenbeschreibungen sowie verantwortliche Personen finden Sie unten unter dem jeweiligen Bereich.

  • Leitung

    Die Leitung vertritt die WWU IT nach außen und verantwortet die strategische Ausrichtung. Sie trägt die Gesamterantwortung für die Personalführung und das Budget.

  • Abteilung 1: Managementservices

    Die Abteilung Managementservices unterstützt die Leitung sowie die anderen Abteilungen bei strategischen Themen. Hierzu zählt insbesondere das Thema Personal, aber auch die Ausarbeitung von Förderanträgen, das Berichtswesen gegenüber internen und externen Stakeholdern sowie die Erstellung von Vertragsdokumenten. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt der Abteilung ist der Außenauftritt der WWU IT sowie die wissenschaftlich gestützte Evaluation und Optimierung der Dienste und internen Prozesse der WWU IT. In der Verantwortung der Abteilung liegt außerdem das Thema Kompetenzvermittlung, namentlich die Lehrveranstaltungen und Softwarekurse der WWU IT.

  • Abteilung 2: Methoden & Koordination

    Die Abteilung Methoden & Koordination ist für das Anforderungs-, Prozess-, Projekt- und Multiprojektmanagement zuständig. Eine Anforderung ist ein Kundenbedarf, der eine Prozessänderung oder eine Neuentwicklung benötigt. Ein Projekt ist eine Art Anforderung, welche so komplex ist, dass es eine eigene Organisationsform und weitgehende personelle und finanzielle Ressourcen benötigt. Über das Projektmanagement hinaus ist die Abteilung für die Budgetkontrolle aller WWU IT-Projekte zuständig.

  • Abteilung 3: Servicekompetenzcenter

    Das Servicekompetenzcenter unterstützt die anderen IT-Abteilungen bei der Einführung von neuen Projekten und ist im Betrieb der Anwendungen die Schnittstelle zu den Kund*innen. Serviceprozesse werden optimiert, geplant, gesteuert und kontrolliert. Interne Service Level Agreements werden mit den anderen Abteilungen getroffen und es wird für deren Einhaltung gesorgt. Weitere Themenschwerpunkte sind die Bereitstellung der IT-Infrastruktur für die Verwaltung sowie die Bereitstellung der SAP-Basis. In der Abteilung erfolgt zudem die Ausbildung von Fachinformatikern Systemintegration und Kaufleuten für Digitalisierungsmanagement.

  • Abteilung 4: Fachanwendungen

    Die Abteilung Fachanwendungen betreibt und erweitert (u.a. im Rahmen von Großprojekten) kundenspezifische, universitätsweite Anwendungen und Schnittstellen aus allen Bereichen der Universität und zu externen Partnern - insbesondere die Campusmanagement-Systeme (HIS/SAP SLcM) sowie die SAP-Systeme für Finanzen, Controlling, Personal, Einkauf und Schnittstellen, Gateway- und Identitätsmanagement. Gebäudemanagement, Dokumentenmanagementsystem, Kongressverwaltung, Bezahlmodul sowie kundenspezifische Einzelanwendungen und Eigenentwicklungen zu Self-Services, Auskunftssysteme, Outputs und Workflows werden ebenfalls angeboten. Kunden- bzw. Nutzergruppen sind Studierende, Fachbereiche/Institute, Einrichtungen, Beschäftigte, Bewerber*innen, Behörden, Kooperationspartner und externe Firmen.

  • Abteilung 5: Applikationsintegration

    Die Abteilung Applikationsintegration integriert komplexe Softwarestrukturen und -plattformen in den Universitätskontext. Hierzu werden z. B. Universitäts-Datenbestände inkl. ERP- und IdM-Quellen über API-Schnittstellen angebunden bzw. Datenströme angelegt, das Frontend an das Corporate-Identity-Konzept der WWU angepasst, Mandantenfähigkeit umgesetzt und dafür notwendige Datenbanken eingerichtet und betrieben. Bei kleineren Projekten wird auch Komplettsoftware entwickelt. Das IdM-System der WWU wird von der Abteilung betrieben und weiterentwickelt, Aktivitäten im Bereich Data Science werden unterstützt. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt der Abteilung ist die audiovisuelle Mediengestaltung. Hier gibt es z. B. die Beratung bei der Gestaltung und Erstellung von Postern und 3D-Objekten, die Beratung und Ausbildung im Bereich Fotografie und Bildbearbeitung sowie die Beratung und Ausbildung im Bereich Filmgestaltung und -umsetzung.

  • Abteilung 6: Systeme

    Die Abteilung Systeme betreibt Server- und Speicher-Systeme einschließlich der Serverräume als zentrale Infrastruktur der IT-Dienstleister der WWU.

  • Abteilung 7: Kommunikationssysteme

    Die Abteilung Kommunikationssysteme entwickelt, plant und betreibt des Kommunikationsnetzes der WWU und ist diesbezüglich der zentraler Ansprechpartner für interne und externe Einrichtungen. Zu den Themenschwerpunkten zählen Internetzugang, LAN, WLAN, Verkabelung, VPN-Zugang, zentrale Netzdienste, Netzsicherheit, VoIP-Telefonie, ISDN-Telefonie, Unified Collaboration-Dienste, Mobilfunk und audiovisuelle Medientechnik. Die Entwicklung und Planung des Gesamtsystems erfolgt dabei als Querschnittsaufgabe geschäftsbereichsübergreifend. In der Abteilung erfolgt zudem die Ausbildung von IT Systemelektroniker*innen und Fachinformatiker*innen.