International Conference – Gender (Studies) in Theology – Why and What For?

Münster, 28th – 29th of November 2019
© V.Suchhart-Kroll

The Centre for Theological Gender Studies at the Faculty for Catholic Theology at the Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster continues its work with new faces, a new name and a transformed concept. As a start to this new phase, we invite experts and young scholars in the context of theological gender studies as well as theologians with a both critical and constructive perspective to reflect upon potentials and desiderata of theological gender studies as well as new research questions.

We pose the question: Why and for what purpose should gender-sensitive perspectives and approaches of gender studies be considered in theology? Our question is based on the theory that gender studies transform theology. We would like to elaborate together how gender already transforms theology and where we can still find potential to develop.

Which contribution do the findings of theological and general gender studies make to the different theological disciplines, our specific theological work, scientific discussions, marginalized subjects, methodological questions etc.? Which sections require gender-sensitive research the most? And where is it necessary to take a critical look at marginalized perspectives, approaches and methods?


Flyer available for download [de]

promoted by
© DFG

Internationale Fachtagung - Gender (Studies) in der Theologie - Warum und wozu?

vom 28.-29. November 2019 in Münster
© V.Suchhart-Kroll

Die Arbeitsstelle für Theologische Genderforschung an der Katholisch-Theologischen Fakultät der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster setzt ihre Arbeit unter neuer Leitung, mit neuem Namen und einem veränderten Konzept fort. Als Auftakt laden wir Expert*innen und junge Wissenschaftler*innen im Bereich der theologischen Genderforschung sowie Theolog*innen mit einer kritisch-konstruktiven Außenperspektive ein, mit uns Potentiale und Desiderate theologischer Genderforschung auszuloten und sich auf neue Forschungsfragen auszurichten.

Wir stellen uns die Frage: Warum und zu welchem Zweck sollten gendersensible Perspektiven und Ansätze expliziter Genderforschung in der Theologie berücksichtigt werden? Dabei gehen wir von der These aus, dass Genderforschung die Theologie verändert. Wie genau sie dies schon tut, wo aber noch ungenutzte Potentiale bestehen, möchten wir mit Ihnen erarbeiten:

Welchen Beitrag leisten die Erkenntnisse theologischer und allgemeiner Genderforschung für die verschiedenen theologischen Disziplinen, unser konkretes theologisches Arbeiten, fachliche Diskussionen, marginalisierte Themen, Methodenfragen u.v.m.? In welchen Bereichen liegen die größten Bedarfe nach gendersensibler Forschung und wo ist ein wissenschaftskritischer Blick auf marginalisierte Perspektiven, Ansätze und Methoden nötig?

Flyer zum Download

Abschlussbericht - Tagung Gender Studies In der Theologie

© DFG