Welcome to the homepage of the Institute for Interdisciplinary Cypriot Studies

Lectures summer term 2020


Due to the current development in connection with the coronavirus we would like to inform you that (unfortunately) all lectures at the Cyprus Institute planned for the summer term 2020 have to be cancelled.

Thank you for your understanding and stay healthy!

Mediterranean Sea surface
Mediterranean Sea surface
© gemeinfrei / public domain

Research network MS ISLA (Mediterranean Studies on Island Areas)


On 4 May 2020, the new research network MS ISLA (Mediterranean Studies on Island Areas) was presented at the University of Regensburg. The network is funded by the Center for International and Transnational Area Studies (CITAS) of the University of Regensburg /Germany over a period of three years. In an interdisciplinary research approach, topics such as insularity and identity, (historical) migration research or transmediterranity will be explored and discussed.
Our institute's research associate Dr. Thorsten Kruse is a member of the MS ISLA network and will actively participate in its research activities.
The Institute itself is involved in this network as a cooperation partner. Among other things, a network event in Cyprus is planned for the year 2022.
Further information on the network can be found on the corresponding CITAS websites:
German version
English version

Salamis of Cyprus
© Zypern-Institut

Official presentation of the Salamis book in Nicosia


Salamis of Cyprus – History and Archaeology from the Earliest Times to Late Antiquity

On the 14th of January 2020, the official presentation of the book "Salamis of Cyprus - History and Archaeology from the Earliest Times to Late Antiquity" took place at the premises of the Anastasios G. Leventis Foundation in Nicosia; the book contains the proceedings of a conference held in Nicosia in May 2015. During the well-attended event the volume was presented by Professor Roland Étienne and Professor Kostas Bourazelis. In addition to the three editors of the Salamis book (Sabine Rogge, Christina Ioannou and Theodoros Mavrojannis), numerous scholars, whose papers are included in that volume, participated in the festive ceremony. The famous Salamis excavator, Vassos Karageorghis (born 1929), was the guest of honour – to him the richly illustrated 778-page book (volume 13 of the Institute's publication series) is dedicated.

Waxmann publishing house
94,00 €, ISBN 978-3-8309-3479-0
E-Book: 84,99 €, ISBN 978-3-8309-8479-5


Further information (pdf)

Order information Waxmann publishing house (pdf)

© Thorsten Kruse

Completion of a new subproject


Within the framework of the research project "Religion and Politics - Dealing with Cemeteries, Places of Worship and Religious Memorials in Cyprus" at the Cyprus Institute, a further sub-project was completed on 30 June 2019.
The sub-project entitled "The religious heritage of Cyprus: a survey in the districts of Kyrenia and Larnaca", which was carried out by Dr. Thorsten Kruse, was made possible by a generous grant from the the Human Rights Fund of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. During the 10-month project, the current state of the religious heritage in two districts of the divided Mediterranean island was investigated and documented. In the Kyrenia district in the north of the island, the focus of the investigations was on the Christian heritage, which since the division of the island in 1974 can de facto only be used to a very limited extent or not at all. In the Larnaka District in the south of the island, the focus of research was on the Muslim heritage, which was generally used by Turkish Cypriots until 1974. Here, too, the division of the island meant that most of these sites are no longer in use in the district.
A first presentation of the results took place at the beginning of October 2019 at the Fulbright Center in Nicosia.

The complete documentation is available at the following website:
The religious heritage in the districts of Kyrenia and Larnaca

Willkommen auf der Homepage des Instituts für Interdisziplinäre Zypern-Studien

Vorträge im Sommersemster 2020


Aufgrund der aktuellen Situation und den damit einhergehenden Einschränkungen rund um das Thema Corona-Virus bzw. COVID-19 müssen leider alle für das Sommersemster 2020 geplanten Vorträge am Zypern-Institut entfallen. 

Vielen Dank für Ihr Verständnis und bleiben Sie gesund!

Reliefkarte des Mittelmeers
Reliefkarte des Mittelmeers
© gemeinfrei / public domain

Forschungsnetzwerk MS ISLA (Mediterranean Studies on Island Areas)


Am 4. Mai 2020 wurde das neue Forschungsnetzwerk MS ISLA (Mediterranean Studies on Island Areas) an der Universität Regensburg vorgestellt. Das Netzwerk wird vom Center for International and Transnational Area Studies (CITAS) der Universität Regensburg über einen Zeitraum von drei Jahren finanziert. In einem interdisziplinären Forschungsansatz sollen unter anderem Themen wie Insularität und Identität, (historische) Migrationsforschung oder Transmediterranität erforscht und diskutiert werden.
Unser Institutsmitarbeiter Dr. Thorsten Kruse wird sich als Mitglied aktiv an den Forschungen des Netzwerks MS ISLA beteiligen.
Zudem wirkt das Zypern-Institut als Kooperationspartner an diesem Netzwerk mit. Für das Jahr 2022 ist u.a. eine Netzwerkveranstaltung auf Zypern geplant.
Weiter Informationen zum Netzwerk finden Sie auf den entsprechenden Internetseiten des CITAS:
Deutsch
Englisch

Salamis of Cyprus
© Zypern-Institut

Offizielle Präsentation des Salamis-Bandes in Nikosia


Salamis of Cyprus – History and Archaeology from the Earliest Times to Late Antiquity

Am 14. Januar 2020 fand in den Räumlichkeiten der Anastasios G. Leventis Foundation in Nikosia die offizielle Präsentation des Tagungsbandes „Salamis of Cyprus – History and Archaeology from the Earliest Times to Late Antiquity“ statt; die Tagung selbst hatte im Mai 2015 in Nikosia stattgefunden. Im Rahmen der gut besuchten Veranstaltung wurde der Band von den Professoren Roland Étienne und Kostas Bourazelis vorgestellt worden. Neben den drei Herausgebern des Salamis-Buches (Sabine Rogge, Christina Ioannou und Theodoros Mavrojannis) wohnten auch zahlreiche Wissenschaftler, deren Beiträge im Tagungsband enthalten sind, der feierlichen Zeremonie bei. Der berühmte Salamis-Ausgräber, Vassos Karageorghis (geb. 1929), war der Ehrengast der Veranstaltung – ihm ist das 778 Seiten starke und reich illustrierte Buch (Band 13 der Schriftenreihe des Zypern-Instituts) gewidmet.

Waxmann Verlag
94,00 €, ISBN 978-3-8309-3479-0
E-Book: 84,99 €, ISBN 978-3-8309-8479-5

Weitere Informationen (pdf)

Information zur Bestellung beim Waxmann Verlag (pdf)

© Thorsten Kruse

Abschluss eines neuen Teilprojekts


Im Rahmen des am Zypern-Institut angesiedelten Forschungsprojekts "Religion und Politik - der Umgang mit Friedhöfen, Gotteshäusern und religiösen Gedenkstätten in Zypern" wurde am 30. Juni 2019 ein weiteres Teilprojekt abgeschlossen.
Ermöglicht wurde das von Dr. Thorsten Kruse durchgeführte Teilprojekt mit dem Titel "The religious heritage of Cyprus: a survey in the districts of Kyrenia and Larnaca" durch eine großzügige Förderung des Außenministeriums der Niederlande. Im Rahmen des 10-monatigen Projektes wurde der aktuelle Zustand des religiösen Erbes in zwei Distrikten der geteilten Mittelmeerinsel untersucht und dokumentiert. Im Kyrenia-Distrikt im Norden der Insel, lag der Schwerpunkt der Untersuchungen auf dem christlichen Erbe, das seit der Teilung der Insel im Jahr 1974 de facto nur noch sehr eingeschränkt bzw. gar nicht mehr genutzt werden kann. Im Larnaka-Distrikt im Süden der Insel lag der Fokus der Forschungen auf dem muslimischen Erbe, das in aller Regel die türkischen Zyprioten bis 1974 nutzten. Auch hier sorgte die Teilung der Insel dafür, dass diese Stätten fast im gesamten Distrikt nicht mehr genutzt werden.

Die vollständige Dokumentation kann von dieser Seite heruntergeladen werden:
Das religiöse Erbe in den Distrikten von Kyrenia und Larnaca