On the Matter WWU: The Project

The University of Münster officially bears the name "Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität", or WWU for short. It is named after Wilhelm II, during whose reign the institution was elevated to the status of a full-fledged university again. However, the person and governmental actions of the last German emperor are controversial. That is why the University wants to engage the public in a discussion on the relationship to its namesake.

The names of streets, squares and monuments are always the subject of debate. University names have also been and still are up for debate. In the case of the WWU, however, it is not just a matter of honour; its name refers to an important period of its history. For this reason, the Senate and Rectorate of the University have decided to create a platform to encourage dialogue between experts, members of the University and the public about the various aspects under discussion.

The project uses various media for this purpose. This website will accompany the entire project, expanding over the next two years as new information about the project's development is provided. As soon as the coronavirus pandemic ebbs, public panel discussions will be the focus of the project. The site also features an integrated comment function so that all interested parties can contribute to the debate.

Zur Sache WWU: Das Projekt

Die Universität Münster trägt offiziell den Namen Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität, kurz WWU. Benannt ist sie nach Wilhelm II., in dessen Regierungszeit die Hochschule wieder zur Universität erhoben wurde. Person und Regierungshandeln des letzten deutschen Kaisers sind allerdings umstritten. Daher will die Universität ihre Beziehung zu ihrem Namensgeber zur Diskussion stellen.

Über Namen von Straßen und Plätzen und auch über Denkmäler wird immer wieder diskutiert. Auch Hochschulnamen standen und stehen zur Debatte. Im Fall der WWU geht es aber nicht nur um eine Frage der Ehre, sondern auch um eine wichtige Zeit ihrer Universitätsgeschichte. Daher haben Senat und Rektorat der Universität beschlossen, eine Plattform zu schaffen, um einen Austausch zwischen Expert:innen, Mitgliedern der Universität und der breiten Öffentlichkeit über die verschiedenen zur Diskussion stehenden Aspekte zu ermöglichen.

Dazu bedient sich das Projekt verschiedener Medien. Diese Internetseite begleitet das gesamte Projekt, wird also im Laufe der kommenden zwei Jahre wachsen und über die Entwicklung des Projekts informieren. Sobald es die Corona-Pandemie wieder zulässt, sollen öffentliche Podiumsdiskussionen im Zentrum des Projekts stehen. Die Seite bietet außerdem allen Interessierten die Möglichkeit, sich an den Diskussionen zu beteiligen.