© Center for Soft Nanoscience

The Center for Soft Nanoscience

A new home for biomimetic systems

Part of the University of Münster and located near the Max Planck Institute of Biomedicine and the Nano-Bio-Centre, the new ultra-modern facilities at the Center for Soft Nanoscience (SoN) opened in 2018.

At the SoN twelve teams conduct interdisciplinary research with state of the art nanoanaylitics processes. Together, chemists, bio-physicists and biochemists, physicians and physicists probe the workings of functional natural materials and the systemic, self-organized structures of synthetic materials with controllable functions.

SoN research and methods

People and organisation

At the SoN over 20 research groups and 6 junior research groups in physics, chemistry, biology and medicine at the University of Münster conduct research in soft nanoscience.

© WWU / Jonas Schütte

Main Contacts

Principal Investigators

Junior Researchers

Facilities and equipment

The SoN houses state-of-the-art chemistry, biology and physics labs, including a fully equipped clean room and advanced microscopy and nanoanalytical instruments.

© WWU / MNF / Wladislaw Hartmann

Scientists at the SoN use super-resolution optical microscopy, electron microscopy, and femtosecond lasers to examine nanoscale systems. Nanotools are fabricated with molecular inks and various nanostructuring processes.

Münster Nanofabrication Facility (MNF)

© Center for Soft Nanoscience

Das Center for Soft Nanoscience

Ein neues Zuhause für biomimetische Systeme

2018 eröffnete das der Universität Münster zughörige Center for Soft Nanoscience (SoN) mit seinen neuen und modernen Einrichtungen in direkter Nachbarschaft des Max-Planck-Instituts für molekulare Biomedizin und des Nano-Bioanalytik-Zentrums.

Im SoN arbeiten zwölf Teams fachübergreifend mit hochmodernen nanoanalytischen Verfahren. Chemiker, Bio-Physiker und Bio-Chemiker, Mediziner und Physiker erforschen zusammen die Abläufe in natürlichen und durch Selbstorganisation erzeugten künstlichen Materialien mit steuerbaren Eigenschaften.

SoN Forschung [en]

Personen und Organisation

Im SoN forschen mehr als 20 Forschergruppen (principal investigators und weitere Arbeitsgruppen) und sechs Nachwuchsgruppen aus den Bereichen Physik, Chemie, Biologie und Medizin der Universität Münster auf dem Gebiet der „weichen“ Nano-Wissenschaft.

© WWU / Jonas Schütte

zentrale Ansprechpartner

Principal Investigators

Nachwuchsforscher

Einrichtung und Großgeräte

Das SoN ist mit hochmodernen Chemie-, Biologie- und Physiklaboren, sowie einem voll ausgestatteten Reinraum und fortschrittlichen mikroskopischen und nanoanalytischen Messgeräten ausgestattet.

© WWU / MNF / Wladislaw Hartmann

Die Wissenschaftler im SoN nutzen optische Rasternahfeldmikroskopie, Elektronenmikroskopie und Femtosekundenlaser, um Nanosysteme zu untersuchen. Nanotools werden mit molekularen Tinten und anderen nanostrukturierenden Prozessen hergestellt.

Münster Nanofabrication Facility (MNF) [en]