(A9) The Decalogue as a Religious, Ethical and Political Base Text

Lucas Cranach the Elder: The Ten Commandments
© wikipedia

The examination of early Jewish sources and the corresponding findings on the intertextual references to the Decalogue that have been worked out impressively refute the thesis which is common in research, i.e. that of the “Decalogue silence” in Second Temple literature. It clearly showed that the Decalogue was part of the Jews’ collective traditional good of the period in question.

Concentrating on the Decalogue, Philo sees in it the expression of the “natural law” and, thus, a norm with a universal claim which transcends everything that is political-institutional. Decalogue sentences appear as epitomes of a universally valid ethos, as with most of the other early Jewish authors, too.

An analysis of the early Jesus tradition shows references to the Decalogue without the Torah discourse of Jesus being restricted to the Ten Commandments, according to the sources. On the other hand, it cannot be found that the significance of the Decalogue was to be consciously minimised.

Paul’s Decalogue reception, due to the theological and ethical focus being shifted to messianology, is less distinctive than the Decalogue reception of Philos. In Paul, this focusing involves a certain depoliticisation.

In the Epistle of James, the prohibition of adultery and of murder (Jas 2:11) epitomise the negative theological and anthropological tenors. The epistler sees the positive theological and anthropological tenor in the love of God (Jas 1:12, 2:5) and of man (2:8).

Rembrandt: Moses Breaking the Tablets of the Law
© wikipedia

Generally, there is a tendency in the New Testament to regulate the moral conduct by means of a few basic principles: the double commandment of love and the so-called Golden Rule. 

A first analysis of the so-called New Testament apocrypha revealed in particular that the First Commandment is used to discuss fundamental theological and christological issues. Beyond that, the Decalogue appears as a fundamental moral code of early Christianity.

In early Christian writings of the second and third centuries, the Decalogue, particularly the second table, was used in the interaction with the Roman-Hellenistic culture of the Christians in order to show them that their ethics were venerable and older than the pagan ethics. In addition, it was presented as the epitome of natural justice.

We know from the Didache, the Epistle of Barnabas and the pagan Epistulae that the Decalogue, at least the second table, also played a major role in Christian gatherings.

We can see two types of Decalogue reception in early rabbinic literature. On the one hand, the Decalogue, as a part of the Jewish self-conception, is taken for granted and interpreted accordingly. On the other hand, there is the tendency to emphasise the importance of all 613 commandments and prohibitions including the Decalogue itself.

(A9) Der Dekalog als religiöser, ethischer und politischer Basis-Text

Lucas Cranach der Ältere: Die Zehn Gebote
© wikipedia

Die Sichtung der frühjüdischen Quellen und der hierzu erarbeitete Befund zu intertextuellen Bezügen auf den Dekalog widerlegt eindrucksvoll die in der Forschung geläufige These vom „Dekalogschweigen“ in der Literatur des Zweiten Tempels. In aller Deutlichkeit zeigt sich, dass der Dekalog zum kollektiven Traditionsgut der Juden in der betreffenden Zeit gehörte.

Für Philo, der sich intensiv mit dem Dekalog beschäftigt hat, ist der Dekalog Ausdruck des „natürlichen Gesetzes“ und damit eine Norm mit universalem Anspruch, die alles Politisch-Institutionelle übersteigt. Auch bei den meisten anderen frühjüdischen Autoren erscheinen Dekalogsätze als Inbegriff eines universal gültigen Ethos.

Eine Untersuchung der frühen Jesus-Überlieferung zeigt Bezugnahmen auf den Dekalog, ohne dass der Toradiskurs Jesu nach den Quellen auf die Zehn Gebote beschränkt wäre. Andererseits ist auch nicht feststellbar, dass die Bedeutung des Dekalogs bewusst minimiert werden soll.

Die Dekalogrezeption des Paulus ist durch die Verlagerung des theologischen und ethischen Schwerpunkts auf die Messianologie weniger profiliert als die Dekalogrezeption Philos. Bei Paulus geht diese Fokussierung mit einer gewissen Entpolitisierung einher.

Im Jakobusbrief bilden das Ehebruchs- und Tötungsverbot (Jak 2,11) den Inbegriff negativer theologischer und anthropologischer Grundhaltungen. Die positive theologische und anthropologische Grundhaltung sieht der Briefschreiber in der Liebe zu Gott (Jak 1,12; 2,5) und den Menschen (2,8).

Rembrandt: Moses mit den Gesetzestafeln
© wikipedia

Überhaupt zeigt sich im Neuen Testament eine Tendenz, das sittliche Handeln durch einige wenige Grundsätze zu regeln: das Doppelgebot der Liebe sowie die sogenannte Goldene Regel.

Eine erste Untersuchung der so genannten Neutestamentlichen Apokryphen erbrachte insbesondere, dass das erste Gebot zur Diskussion fundamentaler theologischer und christologischer Fragen herangezogen wird. Darüber hinaus erscheint der Dekalog als fundamentaler Moralkodex des frühen Christentums.

In frühchristlichen Schriften des zweiten und dritten Jahrhunderts wurde der Dekalog, vor allem die zweite Tafel, in der Interaktion mit der römisch-hellenistischen Kultur der Christen eingesetzt, um ihr zu zeigen, dass ihre Moral ehrwürdig und älter als die pagane ist. Zudem wurde er als Inbegriff des Naturrechts präsentiert.

Durch die Didache, den Barnabas- und den paganen Pliniusbrief wissen wir, dass der Dekalog, zumindest die zweite Tafel, auch in christlichen Zusammenkünften eine bedeutende Rolle spielte.

In der frühen rabbinischen Literatur sehen wir zweierlei Formen der Dekalogrezeption. Auf der einen Seite wird der Dekalog als Teil des jüdischen Selbstverständnis vorausgesetzt und so ausgelegt. Auf der anderen Seite gibt es die Tendenz, die Wichtigkeit aller 613 Ge- und Verbote der Tora zu betonen, einschließlich des Dekalogs.