EXC 2060 C3-24 - Transformations of the Burda: Political dimensions of a controversial literary-religious discourse (13th-15th century)

Link
Homepage
Period
-
Status
Ongoing
Funding Source
DFG - Cluster of Excellence
Project Number
EXC 2060/1
Type of Funding
Subproject in DFG-joint project hosted at WWU
  • Description

    In the 13th century, Arabic poems of praise to the Prophet Muhammad establish themselves in the Middle East as an extremely popular literary genre, some of which refer counterfactually to a particularly famous prophet's praise called Burda, which unfolded a tremendous power of effect that was also fought early on and remains a political issue to this day. The development of this literary genre takes place in the context of profound social transformations, which can be seen, for example, in a "bourgeoisification" of urban society and a "popularization" of Sufism, combined with changes in the veneration of the prophet, with tendencies toward more individualism as well as toward increased institutionalization, and not least in a shift in majority relations between Muslims and Christians.

    Selected adaptations of this famous poem will therefore be examined for their effectiveness and contentiousness, placed in their respective political and social contexts, and analyzed in terms of the religious ideas conveyed in them. The central question is about the image of the prophet: Is Muhammad described more as a ruler or an ascetic, as a fighter or an intercessor? Which inner-Islamic religious controversies are fought out, for example between more and less strongly Sufi or between Sunni and Shiite ideas?  And what role do other religions, especially Christianity, play in the depiction? The focus is on the literary text as a medium of communication that triggers different emotions and controversial reactions, the effects of which are to be examined more closely.

    The aim is to examine the selected transformations of the Burda with regard to their political-literary-religious negotiation strategies. In the interplay of the various dimensions of the religious, political, and linguistic, we will ask which claims to authority are negotiated in the individual transformations.

  • Persons

EXC 2060 C3-24 - Transformationen der Burda: Politische Dimensionen eines kontroversen literarisch-religiösen Diskurses (13.-15. Jahrhundert)

Link
Projekthomepage
Projektzeitraum
-
Projektstatus
Laufend
Mittelgeber
DFG - Exzellenzcluster
Förderkennzeichen
EXC 2060/1
Mittelart
Teilprojekt in DFG-Verbund koordiniert an WWU
  • Beschreibung

    Im 13. Jahrhundert etablieren sich im Nahen Osten arabische Lobgedichte auf den Propheten Muhammad als äußerst populäre literarische Gattung, die sich zum Teil kontrafaktisch auf ein besonders berühmt gewordenes Prophetenlob namens Burda beziehen, das eine ungeheure Wirkmacht entfaltete, die schon früh auch bekämpft wurde und bis heute ein Politikum darstellt. Die Entfaltung dieses literarischen Genres geschieht im Kontext tiefgreifender gesellschaftlicher Transformationen, die sich etwa in einer „Verbürgerlichung“ der städtischen Gesellschaft und einer „Popularisierung“ des Sufismus zeigen, verbunden mit Veränderungen in der Prophetenverehrung, mit Tendenzen zu mehr Individualismus wie auch zu verstärkten Institutionalisierungsprozessen und nicht zuletzt in einer Verschiebung der Mehrheitsverhältnisse zwischen Muslimen und Christen.

    Ausgewählte Bearbeitungen dieses berühmten Gedichtes sollen daher auf ihre Wirkmacht und Streitbarkeit untersucht, dabei in ihrem jeweiligen politisch-gesellschaftlichen Kontext eingeordnet und auf die darin vermittelten religiösen Vorstellungen hin analysiert werden. Im Zentrum steht die Frage nach dem Prophetenbild:  Wird Muhammad stärker als Herrscher oder Asket, als Kämpfer oder Fürbitter beschrieben? Welche innerislamischen religiösen Kontroversen werden ausgetragen, etwa zwischen stärker und weniger stark sufisch geprägten oder zwischen sunnitischen und schiitischen Vorstellungen?  Und welche Rolle spielen andere Religionen, insbesondere das Christentum in der Darstellung? Dabei steht der literarische Text als Medium der Kommunikation im Fokus, die unterschiedliche Emotionen und kontroverse Reaktionen auslöst, deren Wirkungsweisen genauer zu beleuchten sind.

    Ziel ist es, die ausgewählten Transformationen der Burda in Hinblick auf ihre politisch-literarisch-religiösen Verhandlungsstrategien zu untersuchen. Im Zusammenspiel der verschiedenen Dimensionen des religiösen, politischen sowie sprachlichen soll danach gefragt werden, welche Autoritätsansprüche in den einzelnen Transformationen verhandelt werden.

  • Personen