About the project

BIOCIVIS − Participation to ensure the benefits of sustainability and social participation in the bioeconomy

Biotechnological processes such as the production of chemicals, wastewater treatment or the production of biogas are important parts of a bio-based economy already today. By reducing CO2 emissions and using biomass instead of fossil resources, these technologies have the potential to contribute to improving the sustainability of many other processes. However, biotechnological processes are often are often viewed critically in public perception.  With regard to certain processes, this attitude is primarily based on the use of genetic engineering. While science and industry often attribute this critical attitude to a lack of scientific knowledge on the part of citizens, its causes are actually more diverse, and include among others low trust in certain actors. At the same time, the participation of citizens in pioneering decisions (e.g. the energy revolution) is currently considered desirable. Thus, a careful design of participation processes focussing on technically and economically complex topics is needed. They ought to bring citizens and other social actors, politicians, and companies into an equal dialogue in which different forms of knowledge and values are legitimate and through which the development of viable results can succeed.

Against this background, the inter- and transdisciplinary research project BIOCIVIS (“Partizipation zur Sicherung des Nachhaltigkeitsnutzens und der gesellschaftlichen Teilhabe (in) der Bioökonomie”) raises the question: Through which participatory processes can the benefits of bio-economic technologies be socially secured and democratic participation be strengthened at the same time? In order to answer this question, participatory formats for securing the sustainability benefit and social participation in microbial biotechnology processes will be developed and tested in course of the project and of inter- and transdisciplinary cooperation. To this end, a close cooperation between political scientists and biologists of the University of Muenster as well as the integration of microbial biotechnology companies, civil society actors and citizens in multi-stage participation processes is being pursued.

BIOCIVIS is led by Prof. Doris Fuchs (Institute for Political Science, University of Muenster) in collaboration with Prof. Bodo Philipp (Institute for Molecular Microbiology and Biotechnology, University of Muenster) as members of the Center for Interdisciplinary Sustainability Research (ZIN). The project is funded the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF, funding number 031B0780) during its three-year term (November 2019 until October 2022) as part of the concept "Bioökonomie als gesellschaftlicher Wandel".

Über das Projekt

BIOCIVIS − Partizipation zur Sicherung des Nachhaltigkeitsnutzens und der gesellschaftlichen Teilhabe (in) der Bioökonomie

Biotechnologische Prozesse wie die Reinigung von Abwasser, die Produktion von Biogas und die Erzeugung bio-basierter Chemikalien sind heute bereits wichtiger Bestandteil einer bioökonomischen Wirtschaftsweise. Im Sinne einer Reduzierung des CO2-Ausstoßes und der Nutzung von Biomasse anstelle fossiler Rohstoffe haben derartige Prozesse das Potential zur Verbesserung der Nachhaltigkeit vieler weiterer Verfahren beizutragen. Die Anwendung von Biotechnologie wird in der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung jedoch oft kritisch gesehen. Diese Haltung beruht im Falle einiger Verfahren insbesondere auf dem erforderlichen Einsatz von Gentechnik. Während Wissenschaft und Unternehmen Kritik oft auf mangelndes Verständnis seitens der BürgerInnen zurückführen, sind ihre Ursachen tatsächlich vielfältiger und umfassen unter anderem auch mangelndes Vertrauen in die handelnden Akteure. Gleichzeitig gilt aktuell die Beteiligung von BürgerInnen an wegweisenden Entscheidungen (beispielsweise der Energiewende) als erwünscht. Hier zeigt sich: Beteiligungsprozesse müssen gerade im Kontext technisch und wirtschaftlich komplexer Themen sorgfältig gestaltet werden. Sie sollten BürgerInnen und andere gesellschaftliche Stakeholder, Politik und Unternehmen als gleichberechtigte Akteure in einen Dialog bringen, in dem unterschiedliche Wissensformen und Werte legitim sind und so die Entwicklung tragfähiger Ergebnisse gelingen kann.

Vor diesem Hintergrund fragt das Projekt „BIOCIVIS – Partizipation zur Sicherung des Nachhaltigkeitsnutzens und der gesellschaftlichen Teilhabe (in) der Bioökonomie“: Mittels welcher partizipativer Verfahren kann der Nutzen bioökonomischer Technologien gesellschaftlich gesichert und gleichzeitig eine Stärkung demokratischer Teilhabe realisiert werden? Um diese Frage zu beantworten werden im Verlauf des Projektes im Rahmen inter- und transdisziplinärer Zusammenarbeit partizipative Formate zur Sicherung des Nachhaltigkeitsnutzens und der gesellschaftlichen Teilhabe von/an Verfahren der Mikrobiellen Biotechnologie entwickelt und überprüft. Dazu werden eine enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen PolitikwissenschaftlerInnen und BiologInnen der WWU Münster sowie die Integration von Unternehmen der Mikrobiellen Biotechnologie, von zivilgesellschaftlichen Akteuren sowie BürgerInnen in mehrstufigen Beteiligungsverfahren verfolgt.

Das Forschungsprojekt BIOCIVIS (Förderkennzeichen 031B0780) startete am 01.11.2019 unter der Leitung von Prof’in Doris Fuchs (Institut für Politikwissenschaft, WWU Münster) und Prof. Bodo Philipp (Institut für Molekulare Mikrobiologie und Biotechnologie, WWU Münster) als Mitglieder des Zentrums für Interdisziplinäre Nachhaltigkeitsforschung (ZIN). Es wird während der dreijährigen Projektlaufzeit (November 2019 – Oktober 2022) im Rahmen des Konzepts „Bioökonomie als gesellschaftlicher Wandel“ durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung gefördert.