Alternative Energy Materials

This area of competence at MEET Battery Research Center focuses on investigating alternative storage concepts relating to lithium-ion technology. Our team of researchers concentrate not only on potential future storage systems, but also on new types of material classes. One major area of research is that of dual-ion batteries and calcium-ion batteries, as well as new types of material classes such as metal-organic frameworks and highly conductive MXenes.

A world-leader in research on dual-ion batteries

© 2017 The Royal Society of Chemistry

The MEET team currently has more than 30 publications and two patents on dual-ion batteries to its name, making it one of the world’s leading groups working in this field. The essential difference between dual-ion and lithium-ion batteries is in the charging and discharging mechanism of the technology. Instead of just one sort of ion – lithium-ions –there are also electrolyte anions in the dual-ion battery. This means that in the dual-ion cell the electrolyte functions as active material.

One of the advantages of dual-ion technology is that environmentally harmful, expensive metals such as nickel or cobalt are not needed. The energy density is currently the obstacle to any commercial breakthrough. It cannot compete with that of lithium-ion batteries. So, the aim that researchers have is to identify, develop and characterize new sustainable materials with a better energy performance for dual-ion technology.

New types of material classes for battery innovations

Scanning electron microscopy image of the metal organic framework „Zr-MOF-525-Cu“
© WWU/MEET

The metal-organic frameworks which the researchers at MEET are working on have extremely large surfaces on what are often very small volumes – which can be an advantage for the conductivity. This material class, relatively new in battery research, is being investigated for example as electrode material in batteries.

The new type of material class of MXenes comprises highly conductive materials with a hydrophilic surface. They store their energy in the form of chemical bonds on their surfaces, which indicate that they should be able to produce a high energy density with fast charging speeds. Ideas such as these are being investigated and advanced at MEET Battery Research Center.

Alternative Energiematerialien

Der Forschung an alternativen Speicherkonzepten zur Lithium-Ionen-Technologie widmet sich dieser Kompetenzbereich des MEET Batterieforschungszentrums. Unsere Wissenschaftler*innen legen ihren Fokus neben möglichen zukünftigen Speichersystemen auch auf neuartige Materialklassen. Einen Schwerpunkt bildet die Forschung an Dual-Ionen-Batterien und Kalium-Ionen-Batterien sowie an neuartigen Materialklassen wie metallorganischen Gerüstverbindungen und hochleitfähigen MXenen.

Weltweit führend in Forschung zu Dual-Ionen-Batterien

© 2017 The Royal Society of Chemistry

Mit aktuell mehr als 30 Publikationen und zwei Patenten zur Dual-Ionen-Batterien ist das MEET Team eine der weltweit führenden Gruppen in diesem Themenbereich. Der wesentliche Unterschied zur Lithium-Ionen-Batterie besteht im Lade- und Entlademechanismus der Technologie: Anstelle nur einer Sorte von Ionen – der Lithium-Ionen – sind bei der Dual-Ionen-Batterie auch die Elektrolyt-Anionen an der Energiespeicherung beteiligt. Der Elektrolyt fungiert bei der Dual-Ionen-Zelle somit als Aktivmaterial.

Zu den Vorteilen der Dual-Ionen-Technologie zählt, dass auf den Einsatz umweltschädlicher und teurer Metalle wie Nickel oder Kobalt verzichtet werden kann. Den kommerziellen Durchbruch verhindert derzeit noch die Energiedichte, die nicht mit der der Lithium-Ionen-Batterien mithalten kann. Ziel der Forschung ist es deshalb, neue nachhaltige Materialien mit verbesserter Energieperformanz für die Dual-Ionen-Technologie zu identifizieren, zu entwickeln und zu charakterisieren.

Neuartige Materialklassen für Batterieinnovationen

Rasterelektronenmikroskopie-Aufnahme einer metallorganischen Gerüstverbindung „Zr-MOF-525-Cu“
© WWU/MEET

Metallorganische Gerüstverbindungen, an denen die MEET Wissenschaftler*innen forschen, besitzen extrem große Oberflächen auf oftmals sehr kleinen Volumina, was für die Leitfähigkeit vorteilhaft sein kann. Diese – in der Batterieforschung – relativ junge Materialklasse wird beispielsweise als Elektrodenmaterial in Batterien untersucht.

Die neuartige Materialklasse der MXene umfasst hochleitfähige Materialien mit hydrophiler Oberfläche. Sie speichern ihre Energie in Form von chemischen Bindungen an ihren Oberflächen, was dazu führen soll, dass sie eine hohe Energiedichte bei hoher Schnelladefähigkeit ermöglichen. Ansätze wie diese untersucht das Team am MEET Batterieforschungszentrum und treibt sie voran.