Cooperation

Network Rectangle Panel
© gettyimages/JLGutierrez

The University of Münster is particularly proud of its extensive and diverse network in Brazil. There are currently 14 university agreements and two partnership agreements with funding agencies, the national agency CAPES and the state level agency FAPESP, which is by far the largest regional agency in the country. The longest lasting partnerships are those with the UFRJ and the UFSC - both are still very active and are continuously maintained. Unlike many German and European universities, WWU Münster not only cooperates with universities from the Southeast and South of Brazil. Although theare the most populated, richest and at the same time the strongest in scientific production in Brazil, there are stil great universities with great potential for cooperation with WWU.

New CAPES logo
© w

CAPES

The main goal of the national funding agency CAPES is to promote and consolidate post-graduate education (Master and Doctorate) in all Brazilian states. CAPES is attached to the Ministry of Education. The Brazil Chair (Cátedra Brasil), established at WWU in 2010 and funded by CAPES, has been considered a flagship of cooperation between WWU and Brazil.

 

Fapesp logo
© w

Fapesp

The São Paulo Research Foundation FAPESP is the financially strongest regional funding agency in Brazil, with which the University of Münster holds a cooperation agreement since 2014. FAPESP works science-led, awards fellowships and finances research projects in all fields of knowledge.
 

Brazil map with cooperation partners
© brazil centre

Universities

Brazilian universities closely linked to the WWU through a cooperation agreement.

Kooperationen

Auf ihr weitreichendes und vielfältiges Netzwerk in Brasilien ist die WWU Münster besonders stolz. Insgesamt zählt die WWU derzeit 14 Universitätsabkommen und zwei Partnerschaftsverträge mit Förderagenturen, einer nationalen (CAPES) und einer regionalen (FAPESP), letztere ist mit Abstand die größte regionale Agentur im Land. Die ältesten Partnerschaften bestehen mit der UFRJ und der UFSC – beide sind weiterhin sehr aktiv und werden kontinuierlich gepflegt. Anders als die meisten deutschen und europäischen Universitäten arbeitet die WWU nicht nur mit Universitäten aus dem Südosten und Süden Brasiliens zusammen, sondern pflegt auch enge Partnerschaften im Nordosten des Landes. Der Südosten und der Süden sind die bevölkerungsreichsten, wohlhabendsten und zugleich wissenschaftsstärksten Regionen Brasiliens, doch auch im Nordosten gibt es sehr gute Hochschulen mit hohem Kooperationspotential für die WWU.

CAPES

Ziel der nationalen Förderagentur CAPES ist der Ausbau und die Konsolidierung der Postgraduierten-Ausbildung in allen brasilianischen Bundesländern. Die Stiftung ist dem Bildungsministerium angegliedert. Der von CAPES finanzierte Brazil Chair (Cátedra Brasil) wurde 2010 an der WWU etabliert und gilt seitdem als Leuchturm der Zusammenarbeit zwischen der WWU und Brasilien.

FAPESP

FAPESP ist die Stiftung zur Forschungsförderung im Bundesstaat São Paulo und zugleich finanzstärkste regionale Förderagentur in Brasilien, mit der die WWU seit 2014 einen Kooperationsvertrag unterhält. FAPESP arbeitet wissenschaftsgeleitet, vergibt Stipendien und finanziert Forschungsprojekte in allen Wissensgebieten.

Universitäten

Brasilianische Universitäten, die durch ein Kooperartionsabkommen eng mit der WWU verbunden sind.