© Medienlabor IfS

Profile

The Institute of Sports Sciences (IfS) is part of Department 07 – Psychology and Sports Sciences at the Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster. Being comprised of seven areas of operation, about 60 employees and around 1600 students, the IfS is one of the largest sports science facilities in Germany. The main focus of the IfS lies on excelling in research resulting in acquisition of funds and PHDs, as well as formidable teaching in school related and non-school-related degree programs. To achieve these goals, there are many partnerships on the international and national level.
The scientific excellence is depicted in various research projects which have been funded by various institutions like the European Union (EU), the German Research Association (DFG), the Federal Ministry for Research and Education (BMBF), or the Federal Institute for Sports Sciences (BiSp). The Scientific Research Award of the German Olympic Sports Association (DOSB), the highest honor in German sports sciences, has been granted to three employees of the Institute of Sports Sciences in Münster.
Teaching also has a high priority at the IfS. Students can attend eight different school-related bachelors and masters (M.Ed.) programs as well as two courses of study in natural sciences, both held in the English language (B.Sc./M.Sc.). These courses all combine theoretical and practical aspects of sports. Additionally, many excursions are offered in various fields. The first ever ars legend-Faculty-Prize for Sports Sciences in 2017 was awarded to Münster.
The IfS also has a great interest in the social life, often showing the great relationship between faculty and students. One example for this is the very active student association which organizes events like the legendary “IfL-Party” and the eligibility test and other events of the IfL.

Executive Director of the Institute for Sports Sciences
Prof. Dr. Nils Neuber

Dean of Faculty 07 Psychology and Sports Sciences
Prof. Dr. Stephan Dutke

Vice-Dean of Faculty 07 Psychology and Sports Sciences
Prof. Dr. Henk Erik Meier

Dean of Studies
of Faculty 07 Psychology and Sports Sciences
Prof. Dr. Nils Neuber

Curator (Managing Director)
Dr. Michael Brach
Telefon: (0251) 83-32326
Fax: (0251) 83-32303
E-Mail: michael.brach@uni-muenster.de

Board of Directors
Prof. Dr. Nils Neuber
Prof. Dr. Henk Erik Meier
Prof. Dr. Bernd Strauß
Prof. Dr. Heiko Wagner
Prof. Dr. Michael Krüger
Prof. Dr. Karen Zentgraf
J.- Prof. Miriam Seyda
Dr. Barbara Halberschmidt
Ulrike Franken
Lasse Lindemann
Silke Nielsen

© Medienlabor IfS

Das Institut

Das Institut für Sportwissenschaft (IfS) gehört dem Fachbereich 07 – Psychologie und Sportwissenschaft der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster an. Mit sieben Arbeitsbereichen, rund 60 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern und rund 1600 Studierenden gehört das IfS zu den großen sportwissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen in Deutschland. Zentrale Zielsetzungen des IfS sind eine exzellente Forschung mit entsprechenden Drittmitteleinwerbungen und Promotionen sowie eine anspruchsvolle Lehre in schulischen und außerschulischen Studiengängen. Dazu arbeitet das IfS mit zahlreichen Partnern innerhalb und außerhalb der Universität, national und international zusammen.
Die wissenschaftliche Exzellenz zeigt sich in den zahlreichen Forschungsprojekten, die von externen Institutionen, wie der Europäischen Union (EU), der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), dem Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) oder dem Bundesinstitut für Sportwissenschaft (BISp), gefördert werden. Der Wissenschaftspreis des Deutschen Olympischen Sportbundes (DOSB) – die höchste Auszeichnung der deutschen Sportwissenschaft – wurde bereits dreimal an Mitarbeiter des Instituts für Sportwissenschaft verliehen.
Auch die Lehre genießte am IfS hohe Priorität. Studentinnen und Studenten können acht lehramtsbezogene Bachelor- und Masterstudiengänge (M.Ed.) sowie zwei naturwissenschaftliche Studiengänge in englischer Sprache (B.Sc./M.Sc.) belegen. Dabei sind theoretische Reflexionen eng mit sport- und berufspraktischen Studien verknüpft. Besonders attraktiv sind Exkursionen und Lehrprojekte, die in zahlreichen Feldern angeboten werden. Der ars legendi-Fakultätenpreis Sportwissenschaft, den Stifterverband und Fakultätentag für hervorragende Lehre 2017 erstmalig vergeben haben, ging nach Münster.
Am IfS kommt auch das gesellige Leben nicht zu kurz, das Ausdruck eines vertrauensvollen Umgangs von Studenten und Dozenten ist. Dieses Miteinander zeigt sich nicht zuletzt in der Arbeit einer engagierten Fachschaft, die viele Aktivitäten von der Eignungsprüfung bis zur legendären „IfL-Party“ prägt. Sie unterstützt auch das Frühlingsfest der Sportwissenschaft, in dessen Rahmen die Absolventinnen und Absolventen des IfS verabschiedet werden, sowie das Sommerfest nach dem legendären Fußballspiel Dozenten vs. Fachschaft.

Geschäftsführender Direktor des Instituts für Sportwissenschaft
Prof. Dr. Nils Neuber

Dekan des Fachbereichs 07 Psychologie und Sportwissenschaft
Prof. Dr. Stephan Dutke

Prodekan des Fachbereichs 07 Psychologie und Sportwissenschaft
Prof. Dr. Henk Erik Meier

Studiendekan des Fachbereichs 07 Psychologie und Sportwissenschaft

Prof. Dr. Nils Neuber

Kustode (Geschäftsführung)
Dr. Michael Brach
Telefon: (0251) 83-32326
Fax: (0251) 83-32303
E-Mail: michael.brach@uni-muenster.de

Institutsvorstand
Prof. Dr. Nils Neuber
Prof. Dr. Henk Erik Meier
Prof. Dr. Bernd Strauß
Prof. Dr. Heiko Wagner
Prof. Dr. Michael Krüger
Prof. Dr. Karen Zentgraf
J.- Prof. Miriam Seyda
Dr. Barbara Halberschmidt
Ulrike Franken
Lasse Lindemann
Silke Nielsen