Muenster university's cerTificate authority (WWUCA)

WWW and e-mail software that is up to date offer you the possibility to encode and to electronically sign your conversation, thereby protecting it from being read along, changed or faked.For encoding and controling the signature, the software needs your counterpart's so called public key, which is provided with a certificate; this is an electronic authentication which states that the public key actually belongs to your counterpart.

Muenster university's certificate authority generates this kind of certificates:

  • All tap-proof WWW and other servers at the university and many at the university hospital (UKM) identify themselves with such certificates as soon as you contact those servers. Your WWW respectively e-mail program automatically checks the certificate's authenticity.
  • Many staff members and also students of the university and the UKM are already using such certificates to sign their e-mails electronically so your e-mail program can automatically check the authenticity of the e-mail. As soon as a receiver has their own certificate (by the WWUCA or another certificate authority) you can even encode your e-mails to them.

The WWUCA offers all members of WWU and UKM their services. Further information and directions can be found on the WWUCA website [de] (only available in German).

Die Zertifizierungsstelle der WWU (WWUCA)

Aktuelle WWW- und E-Mail-Software bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit, Ihre Unterhaltung zu verschlüsseln und zu signieren (elektronisch zu unterschreiben) und so Ihre Unterhaltung vor Mitlesen, Verändern und Fälschen zu schützen.Zum Verschlüsseln und zur Unterschriftskontrolle benötigt die Software den sog. öffentlichen Schlüssel Ihres Gegenübers. Dieser ist mit einem Zertifikat versehen; das ist eine elektronische Beglaubigung, dass der öffentliche Schlüssel tatsächlich Ihrem Gegenüber gehört.

Die Zertifizierungsstelle der Universität Münster (WWUCA) erstellt genau solche Zertifikate:

  • Alle abhörsicheren WWW- und sonstigen Server der Universität und viele des Universitätsklinikums (UKM) weisen sich mit solchen Zertifikaten aus, sobald Sie mit diesen Servern Kontakt aufnehmen. Ihr WWW- bzw. E-Mail-Programm überprüft automatisch die Echtheit des Zertifikats.
  • Viele Mitarbeiter und auch Studierende der Universität und des UKM nutzen ebenfalls bereits solche Zertifikate, um ihre E-Mails elektronisch zu unterschreiben, so dass Ihr E-Mail-Programm automatisch die Echtheit der E-Mail überprüfen kann. Sobald ein Empfänger selbst ein Zertifikat (von der WWUCA oder einer anderen Zertifizierungsstelle) hat, können Sie Ihre E-Mails an ihn sogar verschlüsseln.

Die WWUCA bietet allen Angehörigen von WWU und UKM ihre Dienste an. Ausführliche Informationen und Anleitungen finden Sie auf den WWW-Seiten der WWUCA.