© Robert Kneschke-Fotolia.com

Funding Possibilities

Open Access Publication Fund of the University of Münster

© WWU

Since 2011, there has been a publication fund for the University of Münster. Scientists at the University can apply for support from this fund for open access publications.
Information of the Publication Fund

DFG and Open Access

© DFG

The Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) promotes Open Access and has also enshrined this in its guidelines for use, which are part of every DFG-funded project approval. These state:

  • The DFG expects that the research results financed with its funds are published and, if possible, also published digitally and made available for free access on the Internet (open access). For this purpose, the corresponding contributions should either be placed in discipline-specific or institutional electronic archives (repositories) in addition to the publisher's publication, or published directly in peer-reviewed or renowned open access journals.
  • Scientists involved in DFG-funded projects should, as far as possible, firmly and permanently reserve a non-exclusive exploitation right in publishing agreements for the electronic publication of their research results for the purpose of royalty-free use.
  • Publications must include a reference to DFG funding.

BMBF and Open Access

© BMBF

The Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF, Federal Ministry of Education and Research) has included Open Access as a standard in its project funding and communicated this in its Open Access strategy . It states:

  • The clause requires scientists to publish research results from projects funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research – if they have decided to publish the results – either directly through open access (golden way) or to post them in a suitable repository after an embargo period has expired (green way).
  • The decision of the scientists on the "whether" of the publication remains unaffected by the clause.
  • Open Access is particularly welcomed in the publication of monographs produced in BMBF-funded projects.

In addition, the BMBF supports publication fees for publications from completed projects funded by the BMBF with the newly created Post-Grant Fund.
Information on the Post-Grant-Fund

European Union and Open Access

© -

The European Union is a pioneer in the field of Open Access and has stipulated in its funding program guidelines that (Open Science Policy):

  • 7. EU Research Framework Program (2007–2013) (FP7)
    The European Commission (EC) and the European Research Council (ERC) commit FP7 researchers to open access in all projects whose grant agreement includes special clause 39.
    From 2015–2018, the "FP7 Post-Grant Open Access Pilot" was launched as part of the EU project OpenAIRE2020 to enable already completed FP7 projects to be reimbursed for the costs of open access publications after the end of the project period. For this purpose, the EU provided funding in the amount of four million euros.
  • Horizon 2020 - European Framework Program for Research and Innovation
    Open Access publication is mandatory for all scientific publications funded under Horizon 2020 (Guidelines on Open Access to Scientific Publications and Research Data).
    The European Commission also calls for all data (called primary data) underlying scientific publications to be made publicly available in addition.
    When submitting your application, please already take into account possible costs for publications in open access publications.

The University of Münster supports the publication of your publications via the green or the golden way with various offers such as the document server miami or the e-journals platform. The document server miami fulfills the OpenAIRE compliance requirement.

Fördermöglichkeiten

DFG
© DFG

DFG und Open Access

Die Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) fördert Open Access und hat dies auch in ihren Verwendungsrichtlinien verankert, die Bestandteil jeder Bewilligung von DFG-geförderten Projekten sind. Darin heisst es:

  • Die DFG erwartet, dass die mit ihren Mitteln finanzierten Forschungsergebnisse publiziert und dabei möglichst auch digital veröffentlicht und für den entgeltfreien Zugriff im Internet (Open Access) verfügbar gemacht werden. Die entsprechenden Beiträge sollten dazu entweder zusätzlich zur Verlagspublikation in disziplinspezifische oder institutionelle elektronische Archive (Repositorien) eingestellt oder direkt in referierten bzw. renommierten Open-Access-Zeitschriften publiziert werden.
  • An DFG-geförderten Projekten beteiligte Wissenschaftler/-innen sollten sich in Verlagsverträgen möglichst ein nicht ausschließliches Verwertungsrecht zur elektronischen Publikation ihrer Forschungsergebnisse zwecks entgeltfreier Nutzung fest und dauerhaft vorbehalten.
  • Die Veröffentlichungen müssen einen Hinweis auf die DFG-Förderung enthalten.
© BMBF

BMBF und Open Access

Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) hat Open Access als Standard in seine Projektförderung aufgenommen und dies in seiner Open-Access-Strategie kommuniziert. Darin heisst es:

  • Die Klausel fordert die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler dazu auf, Forschungsergebnisse aus vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung geförderten Projekten – sofern sie sich für eine Veröffentlichung der Ergebnisse entschieden haben – entweder direkt durch Open Access zu publizieren (Goldener Weg) oder nach Ablauf einer Embargofrist in ein geeignetes Repositorium einzustellen (Grüner Weg).
  • Die Entscheidung der Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler über das „Ob“ der Publikation bleibt durch die Klausel unberührt.
  • Bei der Veröffentlichung von Monografien, die in vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung geförderten Projekten entstehen, wird Open Access besonders begrüßt.

Zusätzlich fördert das BMBF mit dem neu geschaffenen Post-Grant-Fund Publikationsgebühren für Veröffentlichungen aus abgeschlossenen und durch das BMBF geförderten Projekten. Informationen zum Post-Grant-Fund

eu-flagge
© -

Europäische Union und Open Access

Die Europäische Union ist Vorreiter bei dem Thema Open Access und hat in ihren Förderprogrammen-Richtlinien dazu festgeschrieben (Open Science Policy):

  • 7. EU-Forschungsrahmenprogramm (2007-2013) (FP7)
    Die Europäische Kommission (EC) und der Europäische Forschungsrat (ERC) verpflichten die WissenschaftlerInnen des FP7 zu Open Access in allen Projekten, deren Fördervertrag die Sonderklausel 39 enthält.
    Von 2015-2018 wurde im Rahmen des EU-Projekts OpenAIRE2020 der "FP7 Post-Grant Open Access Pilot" gestartet, um es bereits abgeschlossenen FP7-Projekten zu ermöglichen, die Kosten für Open-Access-Publikationen nach Ablauf der Projektlaufzeit erstattet zu bekommen. Hierfür stellte  die EU Fördergelder in Höhe von vier Millionen Euro zur Verfügung (weitere Informationen).
  • Horizon 2020 – Europäisches Rahmenprogramm für Forschung und Innovation
    Für alle wissenschaftlichen Publikationen, die im Rahmen von Horizon 2020 gefördert werden, ist eine Open-Access- Veröffentlichung verpflichtend (Guidelines on Open Access to Scientific Publications and Research Data).
    Die Europäische Kommission fordert auch dazu auf, zusätzlich alle Daten (Primärdaten genannt), die den wissenschaftlichen Publikationen zugrunde liegen, öffentlich zugänglich zu machen.
    Berücksichtigen Sie bitte schon bei der Antragsstellung mögliche Kosten für Publikationen in Open-Access-Veröffentlichungen.

Die Universität Münster unterstützt mit verschiedenen Angeboten wie z.B. dem Dokumentenserver miami oder der E-Journals-Plattform die Veröffentlichung Ihrer Publikationen über den grünen oder den goldenen Weg. Der Dokumentenserver miami erfüllt die Forderung der OpenAIRE Compliance.