ENGAGE – Participation for a Sustainable Common Good

© Pixabay
Research question

A central goal of social and political action is to promote and to protect the common good. At the same time, aspects and principles of sustainable development (in ecological, social and economic terms) are critical elements of the common good and unverlying conditions in the process of defining the common good. Such a 'sustainable common good' can be significantly supported by different forms of civic involvement and participation. Many newer forms of civic involvement and participation, however, are accused of only representing certain groups of citizens. In result, these forms of civic involvement and participation are said to promote only certain personal interests instead of the common good, which would lead to even more entrenched social inequalities.

This is why the inter- and transdisciplinary joint project "ENGAGE – Participation for a Sustainable Common Good" researches the conditions under which civic involvement and participation actually does contribute to the promotion and proteciton of a 'sustainable common good'. The project started on 1 November 2019 and is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) over a three-year period (November 2019-October 2022) within its "Participation and Public Welfare" programme.

Research methods
© ENGAGE

Under the direction of Prof. Doris Fuchs (ZIN, University of Münster), Dr. Florian Kern (Institute for Ecological Economy Research) and Dr. Corinna Fischer (Oeko-Institute), the joint project investigates various forms of civic involvement and participation at the national and the local level as well as within associations and self-organized initiatives.

We are planning to first analyse general trends in civic involvement and participation based on quantitative data before we will be conducting five case studies based on qualitative data. These case studies will examine the conditions needed in processes of civic involvement and participatoin to promote a sustainable common good. In the course of this, a special focus will be set on process design, strategies to reach out to and to involve citizens, and frameworks of the observed forms of civic involvement and participation.

Case Studies

In its case study, the Centre for Interdisciplinary Sustainability Research will focus on informal, dialogue-oriented participation of citizens at the municipal level to evaluate the relating challenges of effectively addressing increasingly differentiated milieus, the conditions of success of civic participation, and effects of social inequalities. Part of this case study is a practical experiment, involving the organisation of a real participation format in cooperation with a German municipality.

The Institute for Ecological Economy Research is conducting two case studies. The first one deals with the participation of civil society in and through associations, with focus on a comparative study of classically organised actors (such as labour unions, or welfare organisations) and newer associations that deal with environmental, nature and climate policy. The second case study deals with the participation of civil society in decentralised, self-organised formats with a focus on critical-creative milieus, e.g. in open labs, repair initiatives or urban gardening projects.

Two more case studies are conducted by Oeko-Institute. One is on national partisicpation processes, analysing participation initiated by the Federal Government, such as citizens’ dialogues on quality of life, on the National Resource Efficiency Programme or the European Union. Another case study deals with civil society participation in traditional and precarious milieus, such as in allotment garden owners’ associations, countrywomen associations, community shops, or initiatives for self-help and neighbourhood support.

© ENGAGE
Forschungsproblem

Ein zentrales Ziel gesellschaftlichen sowie politischen Handelns ist die Förderung bzw. der Schutz des Gemeinwohls. Wichtiger Gemeinwohlgehalt und Rahmenbedingung für die Bestimmung anderer Gemeinwohlgehalte sind Aspekte und Prinzipien einer (in ökologischer, sozialer und ökonomischer Hinsicht) nachaltigen Entwicklung. Bürger*innenschaftliches Engagement kann wesentlich zur Förderung bzw. zum Schutz eines so verstandenen nachhaltigen Gemeinwohls beitragen. Vielen neuen Formen von Engagement und Beteiligung wird allerdings vorgeworfen, dass je nur ein bestimmter Teil der Bürger*innen vertreten ist, sodass anstelle des Gemeinwohls vielmehr (eigene) partikulare Interessen gefördert werden. Soziale Ungleichheiten würden sich so weiter festigen.

Unter welchen Bedingungen Bürger*innenbeteiligung tatsächlich zu „nachhaltigem Gemeinwohl“ beitragen kann, erforscht das inter- und transdisziplinäre Verbundprojekt „ENGAGE – Engagement für nachhaltiges Gemeinwohl“, das am 01.11.2019 gestartet ist und über eine Laufzeit von 3 Jahren (November 2019-Oktober 2022) im Rahmen der Richtlinie "Teilhabe und Gemeinwohl" durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) gefördert wird.

Forschungsaufbau
© ENGAGE

Unter der Leitung von Prof'in Doris Fuchs (ZIN, WWU Münster), Dr. Florian Kern (Institut für ökologische Wirtschaftsforschung) und Dr'in Corinna Fischer (Öko-Institut e.V.) untersucht das Verbundprojekt verschiedene Formen bürger*innschaftlichen Engagements und politischer Beteiligung auf nationaler und kommunaler Ebene sowie im Rahmen von Verbänden und selbstorganisierten Initiativen.

Dazu werden zunächst mithilfe der Erfassung quantitativer Daten allgemeine Trends im bürger*innenschaftlichen Engagement und der politischen Beteiligung untersucht. In insgesamt fünf Fallstudien werden anschließend die Bedingungen der in den jeweiligen Fällen vorliegenden Formen bürger*innenschaftlichen Engagements und politischer Beteiligung zur Förderung nachhaltigen Gemeinwohls untersucht. Im Fokus steht dabei etwa der Einfluss von Prozessgestaltung, Inklusionsstrategien und Rahmenbedingungen der jeweiligen Form bürger*innenschaftlichen Engagements.

Fallstudien

Das ZIN (WWU) konzentriert sich in seiner Fallstudie auf die informelle dialogorientierte Beteiligung von Bürger*innen auf kommunaler Ebene und widmet sich unter anderem Herausforderungen der zielgruppengerechten Ansprache zunehmend ausdifferenzierter Milieus, Erfolgsbedingungen lokaler Bürger*innenbeteiligung und Auswirkungen sozialer Ungleichheit auf Beteiligung. Teil dieser Fallstudie ist ein Realexperiment in Form der Organisation eines eigenen Partizipationsformates in Kooperation mit einer Kommune in Deutschland.

Das Institut für ökologische Wirtschaftsforschung führt zwei weitere Fallstudien durch. Zum einen geht es um Beteiligung der Zivilgesellschaft in und durch Verbände. Der Fokus liegt auf einer vergleichenden Untersuchung klassisch verbandlich organisierter Akteure wie Gewerkschaften, Sozial- und Wohlfahrtsverbände und jüngerer Verbände aus Umweltschutz, Naturschutz und Klimapolitik. Zum anderen beschäftigt sich das IÖW-Projektteam mit der Beteiligung der Zivilgesellschaft in dezentralen, selbstorganisierten Formaten mit Fokus auf kritisch-kreative Milieus, etwa offene Werkstätten, Reparaturinitiativen oder Urban-Gardening-Projekten.

Das Öko-Institut führt ebenfalls zwei Fallstudien durch. Eine Fallstudie zu nationalen Beteiligungsverfahren untersucht von der Bundesregierung initiierte Prozesse wie beispielsweise die Bürgerdialoge zu Lebensqualität, zum Deutschen Ressourceneffizienzprogramm oder zur Europäischen Union. Eine Fallstudie zum zivilgesellschaftlichen Engagement in traditionellen und prekären Milieus untersucht Engagementformen wie Kleingarteninitiativen, Landfrauenvereine, Dorfläden oder Initiativen zur Selbst- und Nachbarschaftshilfe.